wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

Close shave from Kimaiyo's mboys!!!
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 6:36:00 PM

Happened to me too...two years ago...At China center Ngong road...Had just walked out of Coop Bank with not small money...Had decided to leave the car at Prestige plaza...As I was walking up making a call, a toyota car stopped halafu .nikasikia ..'Kuja hapa kijana" When I went near the car..."Ingia kijana an ulete kitamblisho"...Having gone through some security training, I sensed danger right away...Nilisonga mbali kidogo halafu nikawaambia kama wananitaka wakuje hapo Kobil petrol station we sort out there...The car zoomed off towards Kibera...I quickly called central police station...After a short while they connected me to Kilimani police station... One cop quickly told me, "Hio ni inside job connected to outsidejob" I was in communication with the cops until 3 pm when one of hem called me and and told me...tumemalisia hao!!!

Lesson...
1. Have police numbers with you...Not all police officers are bad.
2. Get the names of the cashiers who serve you...If you suspect them, the police can always check whom they communicated with around that time.
3. Use plastic money!!!
Ngong
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 6:36:56 PM

Help us brother,which bank is this,I also get scared while in this banking halls with G4S guards who seem to do more than provide security!
Like for Equity how come the G4S guards in the banking hall remain the same for along time to a point of doing some clerical chores?
Very dangerous,maybe those radios are from this security companies not police [maybe].
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 7:29:19 PM

Back to the topic
Towards the end of last year my pal(who was like 8 months pregnant), went to withdraw company Petty cash as was the norm,at a bank located at parkside towers,she went with the driver and a colleague(who was on training as she was to hand over to her when going for the maternity leave),their offices are like opposite the parkside towers, when they were coming back, just as they were parking the car, 2 men on a bodaboda came out of nowhere and told the passenger at the back (the colleague)to give them the cash they noticed she was not the one (maybe from the description they had been given) ,they went to pal's side (she was at the passenger seat),of course after been shown/pointed with a gun she gave out the money (1.4M) and before the could even raise an alarm the thugs zoomed with their "getaway" bodaboda,
The money was not insured so ikapotelea hivo
The boss decided not report to the police because the first suspect to be locked up would have been my pal and with pregnancy would have been hard on her,my pal has been with that company for over 5 yrs and she has withdrawn more than the 1.4 so there was no reason to suspect her
They have never known who gave the thugs the info to date ,maybe the someone from the bank
am not sure how the case ended though
Caramba
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 8:10:49 PM

Ngong wrote:
Help us brother,which bank is this,I also get scared while in this banking halls with G4S guards who seem to do more than provide security!
Like for Equity how come the G4S guards in the banking hall remain the same for along time to a point of doing some clerical chores?
Very dangerous,maybe those radios are from this security companies not police [maybe].

Caramba
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 8:16:30 PM

Ngong wrote:
Help us brother,which bank is this, .

Coop Bank, next to Nandos/Mobil, South C
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 8:19:58 PM

carygoh wrote:
Do you still go to buros

I sense an invite?d'oh! Those mbenches have flattened many a mbut and the alcohol had a way of passing on a meru accent.. sijui its that mathe?

You a member?

Kinda....naweza kunywa na deni.... i pitia there but not frequently...
Kuna venye despite that place having those tu benches one still enjoys the drink

Kweri kabisa.. Must be the 'open-air' atmosphere. I pity the neighbors tho'. Its family affair here, the dad must have been among the earliest patrons, so yours truly is asked family questions and I'm guessing my kids while in 'shags' will also make noise to the unfortunate folk. If you'll buy Keringet sparkled, we can discuss why God frowns upon 'strong drink'smile

Wazua, this maneno of plastic money.. If I can pay may bills, shop et al can't I transfer my money from one bank to another via the same card? (free-of-charge)

Prime
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 8:33:11 PM

Happened to me too...two years ago...At China center Ngong road...Had just walked out of Coop Bank with not small money...Had decided to leave the car at Prestige plaza...As I was walking up making a call, a toyota car stopped halafu .nikasikia ..'Kuja hapa kijana" When I went near the car..."Ingia kijana an ulete kitamblisho"...Having gone through some security training, I sensed danger right away...Nilisonga mbali kidogo halafu nikawaambia kama wananitaka wakuje hapo Kobil petrol station we sort out there...The car zoomed off towards Kibera...I quickly called central police station...After a short while they connected me to Kilimani police station... One cop quickly told me, "Hio ni inside job connected to outsidejob" I was in communication with the cops until 3 pm when one of hem called me and and told me...tumemalisia hao!!!

Lesson...
1. Have police numbers with you...Not all police officers are bad.
2. Get the names of the cashiers who serve you...If you suspect them, the police can always check whom they communicated with around that time.
3. Use plastic money!!!

My bro had the unfortunate event of losing 300k while from a barclays in town. They followed him till Langata and bundled him into their car immediately he alighted from a mat (which he had perceived to be safer). Funny thing is that The CCTV recordings for that day had been erased erroneously. Bullcr*p. How would one explain that. it would have been plain easy to see if a signal was given by the teller to anyone in the hall or a text or phonecall. I get shivers when in between a large withdrawal the teller leaves the counter with my ID or they are texting or talking on phone.
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 8:49:11 PM

Same thing happened to my pal around 2011. He'd just withdrawn some money from his SACCO (a loan actually). Somehow, he got a little suspicious and instead of taking the lift to downstairs, he first took one going up then after a short while took one going straight down (Afya SACCO, the green building at Hakati road/Tom Mboya street junction).

From here, he walked straight to Bell Bottom (co-op hse), deposited the bulk of the cash then used the rest to pay his son's college fees as well as do some shopping. Horror of horrors was to come on his way home though.

Firstly, on getting to the bus stop (one of the numerous upcountry ones along Accra road), he found what he'd later say was a rather unfamiliar vehicle. But being the last vehicle home and with other passengers boarding, he decided to board too, took the middle seat on the last row. He did however notice one off thing: all the passengers, except two, were male.

So anyway, the vehicle starts on it's journey along river road. Luckily, there was not much traffic that day as the immediate next day was a public holiday. As they were approaching Khoja roundabout (just near the Guardian buses offices), their driver seemed to inexplicably slow down yet the road ahead was clear. Just then, there was a loud bang coming from outside the vehicle, followed by brief silence, just long enough for my pal to realize he was now bleeding from his right temple. Only then did my pal realize that someone from outside the vehicle had actually shot at him, aimed at his head but the bullet missed and grazed him slightly hence the bleeding.

In the ensuing confusion, the driver abandoned the vehicle and fled. Some two cops who happened to be passing by on foot radioed for reinforcements (they were unarmed) who then came to the rescue, organized for an ambulance to take my pal to KNH while the matatu was towed to Central police station.

To this day, it hasn't been known what the motive was though someone might obviously have tipped off someone else about the huge wad of cash he had just received and they probably thought he still had all the cash on him. If this was indeed true, can you imagine how many people were in on it, right from the teller and perhaps all the way to the mat driver?
junior
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 9:25:21 PM

On monday 24th june, around 11am, my friend who operates a small hardware in Mlolongo went to Equity Bank and withdrew some tidy cash around Kabanas, to buy some wares at industrial area. From the bank, he walked to the kabanas flyover stage, waited for Mathree and boarded on. A few hundreds meters after GM, cops/thugs who had posed as passengers ordered mathree to stop, and with guns, alleged the guy has been robbing from Mpesa shops. The guy was bundled into the boot of a waiting saloon car which had been following closely. He was taken to Ngong forest.He was left at 4pm with minor injuries ( from guns butts) to to find his way back.

This is the second guy who i know to have been robbed in similar circumstance. The first one, withdrew some cash from Coop Bank, next to Kobil petrol station (next to Mobil at south C)to find the cops/thugs waiting for him at car park. Using his own car, he was forced to drive to Mukuru, where the cops/thugs disappeared with Cash.
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 9:49:48 PM

I was once trailed after withdrawing cash from Barclays westlands ATM.I walked to westlands stage. punde si funda a saloon car with 4 occupants stopped at the stage where I was standing .the occupants identified themselves with police badges and had handcuffs and a pistol. they told me that I was under arrest for being involved in crime.
fearing the pistol and the crowd at the stage which could easily believe them and give me a mob justice, I cooperated.
they sandwiched me at the backseat then drove off towards town.kuishi kwingi kuona mengi.
after robbing me everything except 250/- the dropped me at madaraka estate after driving through some desserted bushy areas in upperhill.horrible. i tell you.