Close shave from Kimaiyo's mboys!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 10/27/2010 Posts: 266 Location: Nairobi
Today, at 1.30pm, I had a hair-raising encounter with Cops/thugs. I had just withdrawn USD 2300.00 from a bank on Msa Rd, opposite Capital Centre and was taking the cash to my cousin who stays in Plainsview Estate, South B, which is about 500 meters from the bank. As I passed the 2nd court, a beige Toyota Saloon car was approaching from the direction of Sanasana bar. It stopped a few meters away and the driver started shouting and pointing at me in typical cop manner.
Suddenly, the rear doors were flung open and two men in plain clothes and holding walkie-talkies, jumped out and ordered me to board the car. Instinctively, I ran towards the court (Githeri Close, I think) and forced my way into the gate. As they made to follow me, I removed my wallet and was about to hand it over to the court Askari. Seeing this, they appeared to have second thoughts and retreated to their car and drove off, stopping about 200 meters away.
All this time, I was observing them from inside the gate. After about 10 minutes, I requested the gate Askari to fetch me a cab from Sanasana bar. We drove out of the court from a second exit and made our way to town, thanking my lucky stars for this narrow shave.
In hindsight, I suspect that these characters were tipped off by one of the staff at the bank. At the time I was transacting, there were only about four customers in the banking hall and none of them appeared to show any interest in my business.
I can't be certain but I think that thugs would have been more daring and determined to get the cash from me. I strongly feel that these were Kimaiyo's "mboys" on the prowl.
Back in the day, I lost my first phone to the cops/thugs thereabouts; junction off mbsa road/sanasana/sore drive(githeri). I'd taken a 20k loan just when cellphones started coming into Kenya. I was ordered into a car with 4 cops/thugs. The car did a u-turn to mbsa road, up towards the airport. They asked for my ID which I gave. They cleaned my wallet, took my phone and let me go when I pleaded. They'd began discussing what to do with me.. I don't do bullets too well. They had guns, walkie talkies and all spoke same language(pokotish). Walking back to South B at midnight was no joke.  When I went to nurse my troubles at Kaburos(Used to imbibe back then. Kaburo was the local shop/bar), turns out the cops were well known!
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
The whole of that stretch from of Msa Rd from Nyayo to Embakassi Taj Mall has become risky for bank withdrawal business.This happens almost daily.If you had gotten into the car they would have dumped you in some open field near Imara Daima and ran into Mukuru. It is allegged the thugs(5 of them) live in South C and operate along that road.They car jack people in broad daylight by hitting your car kidogo so that you alight to check the damage.Once out they pounce on you while others runsack your vehicle for whatever they can get.They then go out for their mission in your car while holding you hostage in their car.This can happen 5 times in a day.Communication ya over -over ni ya kukuconfuse so you think they are cops hence minimal resistance. Never heard of one being jacked while carrying cheques or after a deposit transaction.Its always cash withdrawal. So I believe they are thugs working with rogue cops and rogue bank tellers..... Good thing is I have not heard of a death case...........but then again you never know, dead men tell no tales. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Mukiri wrote:Back in the day, I lost my first phone to the cops/thugs thereabouts; junction off mbsa road/sanasana/sore drive(githeri). I'd taken a 20k loan just when cellphones started coming into Kenya. I was ordered into a car with 4 cops/thugs. The car did a u-turn to mbsa road, up towards the airport. They asked for my ID which I gave. They cleaned my wallet, took my phone and let me go when I pleaded. They'd began discussing what to do with me.. I don't do bullets too well. They had guns, walkie talkies and all spoke same language(pokotish). Walking back to South B at midnight was no joke.  When I went to nurse my troubles at Kaburos(Used to imbibe back then. Kaburo was the local shop/bar), turns out the cops were well known! Do you still go to buros Think Positive Test Negative
I took a mat ride from South B back in 2010/1 and on our way to town, at Githeri close, a group of more than 5 very loud men popped out of nowhere and boarded the already full mat, they squeezed themselves to the last seat and shared out their loot(a whole bundle of cash) and then alighted at the shopping center...i dont know where they were from (I've always wondered) esp because after boarding the whole mat started stinking like shit...Now i think i might have an answer. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Caramba wrote:Today, at 1.30pm, I had a hair-raising encounter with Cops/thugs. I had just withdrawn USD 2300.00 from a bank on Msa Rd, opposite Capital Centre and was taking the cash to my cousin who stays in Plainsview Estate, South B, which is about 500 meters from the bank. As I passed the 2nd court, a beige Toyota Saloon car was approaching from the direction of Sanasana bar. It stopped a few meters away and the driver started shouting and pointing at me in typical cop manner.
Suddenly, the rear doors were flung open and two men in plain clothes and holding walkie-talkies, jumped out and ordered me to board the car. Instinctively, I ran towards the court (Githeri Close, I think) and forced my way into the gate. As they made to follow me, I removed my wallet and was about to hand it over to the court Askari. Seeing this, they appeared to have second thoughts and retreated to their car and drove off, stopping about 200 meters away.
All this time, I was observing them from inside the gate. After about 10 minutes, I requested the gate Askari to fetch me a cab from Sanasana bar. We drove out of the court from a second exit and made our way to town, thanking my lucky stars for this narrow shave.
In hindsight, I suspect that these characters were tipped off by one of the staff at the bank. At the time I was transacting, there were only about four customers in the banking hall and none of them appeared to show any interest in my business.
I can't be certain but I think that thugs would have been more daring and determined to get the cash from me. I strongly feel that these were Kimaiyo's "mboys" on the prowl. Am glad they didnt manage to steal from you. Kimaiyo's intray is overflowing. Infact I wonder how he will provide security yet the policemen are the thugs. Lord, thank you!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,334 Location: Masada
Pole. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
scary when you think of the coordination involved
carygoh wrote:Do you still go to buros I sense an invite?  Those mbenches have flattened many a mbut and the alcohol had a way of passing on a meru accent.. sijui its that mathe? You a member?
Mukiri wrote:carygoh wrote:Do you still go to buros I sense an invite?  Those mbenches have flattened many a mbut and the alcohol had a way of passing on a meru accent.. sijui its that mathe? You a member? Kinda....naweza kunywa na deni.... i pitia there but not frequently... Kuna venye despite that place having those tu benches one still enjoys the drink Think Positive Test Negative
Close shave from Kimaiyo's mboys!!!