6 Pages123>»
Konza City. Whats the progress so far?
a4architect.com
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 12:40:10 PM

Any report on the Konza city progress?
Nothing much here on their website.
http://www.konzacity.co.ke/

http://www.konzacity.co.ke/project-updates/

I was at Konza area along Mombasa road 3 weeks ago and didn't see any activity.
Or is the proposed City off Mombasa road? Any ideas on the exact location of the proposed city as in how many km off Mombasa road etc?
Anyone who has been to the site and can post a google map for us to see here?
https://maps.google.com/...0.66124&t=h&z=11
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
kazee
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 1:18:30 PM

I am usually very positive on government projects since Kibaki's time but this one...eeerrm. I have my doubts of it taking off especially with ndemo out of the picture
a4architect.com
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 1:38:14 PM

@kazee..i analysed Konza as a white elephant in terms of real fesibility.

http://www.scribd.com/do...-2010-Summit-Strategies

Check page 27 of the document. None of the other ICT parks world wide are over 30km from CBD execpt Konza at 65km from CBD.
Cyberjaya in Malaysia at 50km is already technically non viable as we speak but luckily was financed using petro dollars.

The exit of Dr Ndemo to me shows that Government intel is quite smart in that it has protected more tax payer money from going down the drain in an unfeasible project.
Apart from Prof. Githu Muigai, very few people in Govt were seeing the economic dangers of Konza city project to Kenyan tax payers.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 1:46:27 PM

did it even feature in the budget estimates??
a4architect.com
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 1:51:25 PM

I have finally managed to locate Konza.

https://maps.google.com/...638672&t=h&z=14

In my opinion, the area will develop in the next 10 to 20 years.
In general, development happens along tarmac roads. If Konza was next to Mombasa road,or Namanga road, i could have given it 5 to 10 years. But being several km off will take it many more years.

Unless some magic that will defy any creation of a new city happens, this place will take a whole lot of time to develop. Its literally located in the middle of nowhere.
Gives me memories of cartoon network
popat
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 2:35:27 PM

I thought Konza was next to Mombasa road and extending all the way to Malili ama hii story ya middle of nowhere ni ya wapi.
a4architect.com
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 4:12:54 PM

@popat. Is it possible for you to give a Google map location of the exact epicentre of Konza if you know where its located?

Google maps shows here , which is in the middle of nowhere, as the Konza city location.

https://maps.google.com/...rovince,+Kenya&z=12

This is what Google search is returning for Konza city search

http://www.newstrackindi.../1221532-city-konza.htm

http://www.maplandia.com/kenya/eastern/konza/

This 3d fly through comes closest in showing the location. Seems some site will border Mombasa road which is a good thing.

http://www.konzacity.co.ke/about-2/cgi-fly-bys/

I was at the Mombasa road junction to Konza 3 weeks ago but didnt see any iota of activity. After inquiring, i have found out that Malili ranch is actually in the middle of nowhere.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 4:48:46 PM

The GoK should just do away with this Konza project and the kids tu-laptops thing. They just don't make sense to me.

If the GoK wants to do something on Computer literacy, let it build computer labs/classes in all schools.

#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 4:55:39 PM

The GoK should just do away with this Konza project and the kids tu-laptops thing. They just don't make sense to me.

If the GoK wants to do something on Computer literacy, let it build computer labs/classes in all schools.

Mboss Standard one pupils will get these laptops by force!!

http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/ji85gfz/-/index.html
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 5:04:05 PM

guru267 wrote:
[quote=dunkang]The GoK should just do away with this Konza project and the kids tu-laptops thing. They just don't make sense to me.

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/ji85gfz/-/index.html[/quote]

Let them bring the laptops. have they ever thought that it is the same discontented teachers who are suppose to use the laptops to disseminate knowledge to the pupils (these are not even pupils). Watashanga!

connected dealers will enjoy! I am preparing my tender documents.
jamplu
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 5:17:02 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@popat. Is it possible for you to give a Google map location of the exact epicentre of Konza if you know where its located?

Google maps shows here , which is in the middle of nowhere, as the Konza city location.

https://maps.google.com/...rovince,+Kenya&z=12

This is what Google search is returning for Konza city search

http://www.newstrackindi.../1221532-city-konza.htm

http://www.maplandia.com/kenya/eastern/konza/

This 3d fly through comes closest in showing the location. Seems some site will border Mombasa road which is a good thing.

http://www.konzacity.co.ke/about-2/cgi-fly-bys/

I was at the Mombasa road junction to Konza 3 weeks ago but didnt see any iota of activity. After inquiring, i have found out that Malili ranch is actually in the middle of nowhere.

@a4architect.com these are the coordinates -1.709086,37.188331

Below is the fenced area 5000acres. The epicenter is where the arrow is on the image that's where Kibaki did his launch. There was a meeting held there on 12th June Tetra Tech Inc was awarded the contract to guide first phase. I understand UK is to lay the foundation in December...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly wacha tuone.

#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 5:17:23 PM

guru267 wrote:
[quote=dunkang]The GoK should just do away with this Konza project and the kids tu-laptops thing. They just don't make sense to me.

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/ji85gfz/-/index.html[/quote]
Its OK if they have become rigid, but for sustainability and an impact in computer literacy, i, personally, would opt for computer labs/classes

a4architect.com
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 5:47:12 PM

@jamplu..thanks for letting us know the location. Such valuable info is not available on Konza city website.

Its in the middle of nowhere though but at least much better location than the Konza railway station very far of the tarmac.

Lets see how the companies that will migrate there will pan out economically. Based on history, i have never sen a city grow from no where without any salient attractive feature/economic activity. If this develops, it will be the 1st in the world.
wanyee
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 6:06:06 PM

Seems there is a lot of wishful thinking that Konza City will flop ...Poleni sana ..*Kibaki's voice...wewe ongea tu...kazi itafanyika pare pare na wewe ubaki hapo hapo
a4architect.com
#15 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 6:16:12 PM

@wanyee..its not wishfull thinking. Its all about fool proof feasibility that if whoever invests his money in Konza will get returns.
Maybe you can explain to us how
1.investors
2.kenyan tax payers and Govt
will gain from Konza.
From my point of view, due to the distance from Nairobi, cost of doing business will be high.
Due to input of tax payer money into the project, cost of land is high, pushing cost of productivity higher hence less fiscal production.

Explain why you think Konza city will improve economy.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 6:37:13 PM

[quote=a4architect.com]Any report on the Konza city progress?
Nothing much here on their website.
http://www.konzacity.co.ke/

http://www.konzacity.co.ke/project-updates/

I was at Konza area along Mombasa road 3 weeks ago and didn't see any activity.
Or is the proposed City off Mombasa road? Any ideas on the exact location of the proposed city as in how many km off Mombasa road etc?
Anyone who has been to the site and can post a google map for us to see here?
https://maps.google.com/....66124&t=h&z=11[/quote]
Hakuna kitu hapa....
a4architect.com
#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2013 9:00:15 PM

@wanyee. As long as Konza city continues to use tax payer money into the white elephant, i will always have a problem with it. They should find a way to tap into investors who support them and return tax payer money used in purchase of land and paying consultants back to treasury. This way, those of us who see it as an investment can sink in their money.

Konza is 60km from Nairobi. Kajiado, machakos and chumvi towns are also roughly more or less the same distances. these towns already have basic infrastructure hence lower cost of set up.
Why would someone want to go all the way to Koza to set up?
This here can provide reason why.

http://www.the-star.co.k...ama-quizzed-over-malili

Buying the land using tax payer money opend up channels for corruption.
Compare this to Machakos Governor Alfred Mutua giving even better land for free to investors.
Governor Mutua could have taken advantage of this and also created a chanel for looting but he did not.

http://diasporamessenger...-investor-alfred-mutua/

After the land transaction deal, more tax payer money is to be used to advertise and hype the project.
Once the value goes higher, there could be chances of under the table dealings as AG Githu Muigai brought out here, whereby Ndemo opted to resign rather than comply.

AG Githu insisted on competitive bidding of land allocation as opposed to negotiations.

http://allafrica.com/stories/201201091213.html

After this is through, World Bank will overburden tax payers with billions of loans on an unfeasible project, crippling the economy further with a kes 700 billion debt.

http://www.technologyafrica.co.ke/index2.html

On a smaller note, our tax payer money will go into paying American and British consultants millions of shillings for what any random Kenyan architect can offer for between 50 to 100k.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/10v57bd/-/index.html

These renderings here done by American architects can be done for as low as 50k by talented Kenyans.

For Konza city World-bank planners to even imagine that Konza will attract such highrise structures is an insult to the architecture and planning profession.
Such buildings will cost a minimum of kes 100 per sq foot to rent and a minimum of kes 14,000 per sq foot to buy. Any investor coughing up such an amount in an area where there are vast grasslands will be impossible to find. High rents and costs of offices go hand in hand with value addition e.g proximity to other offices eg upper hill. The further you move away from convenience, the lower the cost of land. With such low land costs, its unfeasible to construct vertically upwards since its just easier and cheaper to acquire more horizontal land and build ground floor only buildings.
a4architect.com
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 9:53:36 AM

The overburdening of tax payers with loans for the unfeasible project has started.

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/y371k2/-/index.html

“There is an already worked out plan to seek $600 million concessional loan from the BRIC to fund the onsite and offsite infrastructure projects,” Dr Ndemo said in an interview with the Business Daily.

The Sh1.3 billion allocated in the Budget will be used to construct a building that will host government offices and to pay consultants.

The development model puts third parties at the centre of its execution, with the government offering the land and backing legal and architectural plans.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/eq8a24z/-/index.html

In Summary

The real estate, telecoms and financial services sectors alone represent about 38.2 per cent of the 303 formal requests so far made to the Konza Technopolis Development Authority (KOTDA) for inclusion in the initial phase of the project.
Kenyan investors are poised to be the key drivers of the Konza project with 81 per cent of the enquiries so far registered with the authority.
Phase 1 of the Konza project covers a 400-acre portion of the 5,000 acres site off the Nairobi-Mombasa highway which has been earmarked for construction of residential houses and related amenities such as cultural centres, parks and a university complex.

The reason why 81% of the potential investors happen to be Kenyans could be due to the hype/innuendo .
wanyee
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 11:37:15 AM

Time will tell .....i hope to quote you..
a4architect.com
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 11:45:39 AM

@wanyee...true. Time will tell. Hopefully, we will be here in Wazua next 10 to 20 years. My timeline is next 10 to 20 years and by then, Konza will be an extension of Naiorbi development, same size as Kitengela, Athi river.