7 Pages«<34567>
North is not up!
#81 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 2:59:15 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
mukiha wrote:
And to those whole consumed by the geopolitics of an upward north rather than the geometry, don't live with your eye permanently on the rear-view mirror; figure out instead how you can turn your / our circumstances around regardless of how the map is drawn.

How come South Africa, even though it is drawn at the bottom of Africa, turns out to be the most developed country on the continent?

you are missing the point!

And the point IS?

Ei bwana unauliza nini???......somebody must be responsible for our problems!!!

And that somebody is ourselves! Kikulacho kinguoni mwako.
#82 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 3:26:02 PM

mukiha wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
mukiha wrote:
And to those whole consumed by the geopolitics of an upward north rather than the geometry, don't live with your eye permanently on the rear-view mirror; figure out instead how you can turn your / our circumstances around regardless of how the map is drawn.

How come South Africa, even though it is drawn at the bottom of Africa, turns out to be the most developed country on the continent?

And the point IS?

Applause Applause Applause ....we can go around in circles,research, excuses and all the rest but it still comes back to us!!!!
#83 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 3:31:53 PM

mukiha wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
mukiha wrote:

And the point IS?

Applause Applause Applause ....we can go around in circles,research, excuses and all the rest but it still comes back to us!!!!

your responses to this thread render my point after all.
#84 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 3:35:47 PM

This one distorts the relative sizes but retains the shapes of continents and countries.

This one distorts the shapes of continents and countries but retains the relative sizes

Again; the projections have nothing to do with eurocentricity; just a geometrical problem of trying to represent a 3-D object on a 2-D surface...
#85 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 4:51:48 PM

mukiha wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
mukiha wrote:

And the point IS?

Lol, your point that wazungu wametukanganya?......the effort that you have put in this thread would help Africa better if you acted.
#86 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 7:43:55 PM

mukiha wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
mukiha wrote:

And the point IS?

Lol, your point that wazungu wametukanganya?......the effort that you have put in this thread would help Africa better if you acted.

Some weeks ago I joined some friends who were teaching their kids how to swim. One of the boys who is about 6 years old was terrified of water due to a bad experience he had when he was introduced to "swimming" by the folks. We tried to convince him to stand in the shallow end water but he clung on to us like a leech. He was terrified! If he could only stretch his legs he would have gotten to the bottom of the pool but in his mind it was too difficult to do it coz in his mind the pool was too deep and he feared that he would drown. At that juncture I had an epiphany! Are we like the boy? Fearing to venture into the unknown? Think of Vasco da gamma, think of Christopher Columbus, think of Henry the navigator - who told them to do the things they did? Why venture from their comfort zones? They didn't have to.

Acting without awakening is futile - we have been doing it for 50 years. Our dreams are very localized if we don’t awaken. We are as bright as others - we have all the features that everyone else has but what exactly is our problem? We have consumed so much negativity about ourselves that we have come to believe that we are faulty! When I was young I believed we could do anything and when what is now known as the Numerical Machining Complex Limited produced the Nyayo pioneer - I was not surprised. I wondered what the hullabaloo was about coz human beings had been building cars for about 100 years by then. Of course we all know how that went. As I was growing up, I started consuming negative info. I started second guessing myself in the presence of white folk. Until I got a job somewhere where I had to support the characters and at that juncture I realized - they are just like us. My every experience from that point was an awakening. I realized that living among them was very similar to my living here. Some people are better than you some are not as good. The only difference is that they have been doing it for longer than us and that they have the guts to do what seems obvious to them and ask for obscene amounts of money with a straight face without batting eye lids. That aspect of their culture plus a sense of “ours is best” has made the difference we are seeing. Has anyone ever used any South African software product? The theme of this whole thread is “OUR BEING NEGATIVE ABOUT OUR WORK IS BY ENVIRONMENTAL BY STUFF WE HAVE READ AND HOW WE HAVE BEEN POTRAYED”
#87 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 8:11:03 PM

lets face it most Africans have a negative image about Africa and African made stuff. We have bruised egos! can we really be proud of anything that does not grow here naturally?

Let me elaborate. Think about our athletics culture - we are one of the leading nations in the middle and long distance races. Has anyone ever thought of “why”? Why Kenya not Uganda or our neighbors to the south Tanzania? Tanzania has a total of two silver medals in all Olympic Games. Why Kenya and not Tanzania? Why Ethiopia and Kenya? THE ANSWER IS THAT IT’S CULTURAL! Ever since the days of Napthali temu and Kipchoge Keino – athletics have been institutionalized. Young children have seen its benefits and a “can do” attitude has gripped us. We just need to train, condition ourselves and we shall be like the guys before us. When one person fails another takes their place. We no longer are shocked when a random guy from rift valley win gold medals in the Olympics – coz that is what we do! Check out the all-time Gold medal tally https://en.wikipedia.org...ympic_Games_medal_table we are ahead of Brazil! Culture and perception about one’s self is key!
#88 Posted : Friday, June 21, 2013 8:13:13 PM

Long response, will read kesho as I try to do what I can.
#89 Posted : Saturday, June 22, 2013 9:36:47 AM

Long response, will read kesho as I try to do what I can.

lol
richdad
#90 Posted : Saturday, June 22, 2013 10:58:10 PM

lets face it most Africans have a negative image about Africa and African made stuff. We have bruised egos! can we really be proud of anything that does not grow here naturally?

Let me elaborate. Think about our athletics culture - we are one of the leading nations in the middle and long distance races. Has anyone ever thought of “why”? Why Kenya not Uganda or our neighbors to the south Tanzania? Tanzania has a total of two silver medals in all Olympic Games. Why Kenya and not Tanzania? Why Ethiopia and Kenya? THE ANSWER IS THAT IT’S CULTURAL! Ever since the days of Napthali temu and Kipchoge Keino – athletics have been institutionalized. Young children have seen its benefits and a “can do” attitude has gripped us. We just need to train, condition ourselves and we shall be like the guys before us. When one person fails another takes their place. We no longer are shocked when a random guy from rift valley win gold medals in the Olympics – coz that is what we do! Check out the all-time Gold medal tally https://en.wikipedia.org...ympic_Games_medal_table we are ahead of Brazil! Culture and perception about one’s self is key!

Right on!!! And that's why the wazungu made sure we do not learn that the Egyptians who built the pyramids were blacks.

Learn your history, believe in your self be great.
Keep it simple
#91 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2013 12:05:59 AM

Yep. North isn't up, North is Kanyes daughter.
#92 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2013 8:31:59 PM

Mastermind wrote:

Poor gal, she's just become a navigational instrument, eti North West.
#93 Posted : Sunday, June 23, 2013 9:04:03 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Mastermind wrote:

Poor gal, she's just become a navigational instrument, eti North West.

on the contrary brilliant marketing move. you will never think of it as just a direction. it has more staying power than blue ivy
#94 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 1:08:12 PM

limanika wrote:
In the West, Africa is referred to or thought to be the World’s cesspool.
Much more seriously though, it is reported that more than half of the 10 most rapidly growing economies are in Africa. The engine of growth in these economies is export of raw materials to the East. This is fake growth and is not sustainable in the long run. Sample this:

.The East buys raw materials from Africa, builds finished goods and sell the same to Africa at much higher cost.
.The East gives cheap loan to Africa so it can develop infrastructure, but the contractors, consultants and key materials are sourced from the same East. Then Africa is left paying back the loan for generations
.The East borrows ideas from the West, develops new / cheaper technologies to make more competitive products compared to those in West. This way, the East has been able to compete with the West.
.50 years after independence, we do not have any local contractor with capacity to build Thika Superhighway
.100 years ago after the British built the lunatic express, and 200 years after America built it’s railways, we still have to borrow funds and import labour to upgrade / build our own railway
.Who has ever heard of an African contractor winning a contract in the West or in the East?
In other words, we point accusing fingers to our fore fathers of 100-500 years ago that they were outsmarted and exploited by both the West and the East, yet in our time and age, under our very own eyes, the West and the East are indeed exploiting us in the very same way if not worse. Why can’t Africa build it’s own smart technologies (like M-PESA), exploit solar energy, make and export cheap finished goods etc. and compete with both West and East?

How so relevant! Did I hear Churhcill enjoy UON?
It went like this: UON boast of the best Civil engineers in Sub-Saharan region, how come the doub-digit storey building is being done by Chinese Pray Laughing out loudly
mkeiyd
#95 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 1:38:53 PM

limanika wrote:
Much more seriously though, it is reported that more than half of the 10 most rapidly growing economies are in Africa. The engine of growth in these economies is export of raw materials to the East. This is fake growth and is not sustainable in the long run. Sample this:

.The East buys raw materials from Africa, builds finished goods and sell the same to Africa at much higher cost.
.The East gives cheap loan to Africa so it can develop infrastructure, but the contractors, consultants and key materials are sourced from the same East. Then Africa is left paying back the loan for generations
.The East borrows ideas from the West, develops new / cheaper technologies to make more competitive products compared to those in West. This way, the East has been able to compete with the West.
.50 years after independence, we do not have any local contractor with capacity to build Thika Superhighway
.100 years ago after the British built the lunatic express, and 200 years after America built it’s railways, we still have to borrow funds and import labour to upgrade / build our own railway
.Who has ever heard of an African contractor winning a contract in the West or in the East?
In other words, we point accusing fingers to our fore fathers of 100-500 years ago that they were outsmarted and exploited by both the West and the East, yet in our time and age, under our very own eyes, the West and the East are indeed exploiting us in the very same way if not worse. Why can’t Africa build it’s own smart technologies (like M-PESA), exploit solar energy, make and export cheap finished goods etc. and compete with both West and East?

It went like this: UON boast of the best Civil engineers in Sub-Saharan region, how come the doub-digit storey building is being done by Chinese Pray Laughing out loudly

I think it boils down to QUALITY FOR MONEY.

Those civil engineers from UON could do the same job but at what "cost"?
#96 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 1:48:04 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
limanika wrote:

wacha nikuibie siri on how to build your country! if you can source it internally get it! you spend that money within the country and it does more than just build a building. its effect is felt in the paying for schoolfees of someone, the development of a plot elsewhere, better security since someone got a job and did not need to wait for you on a street corner e.t.c. When you take money outside the country the only benefit you get is the finished product.
#97 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 2:39:07 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
limanika wrote:

wacha nikuibie siri on how to build your country! if you can source it internally get it! you spend that money within the country and it does more than just build a building. its effect is felt in the paying for schoolfees of someone, the development of a plot elsewhere, better security since someone got a job and did not need to wait for you on a street corner e.t.c. When you take money outside the country the only benefit you get is the finished product.

@masukuma that is true. Looking at money as th eonly parameter is lacking future thinking. It can only achieve immediate cost saving.
We can borrow from them builders of Thika road, they imported workers to ensure the whole money went back to them!
#98 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2013 2:48:28 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
limanika wrote:

@masukuma that is true. Looking at money as th eonly parameter is lacking future thinking. It can only achieve immediate cost saving.
We can borrow from them builders of Thika road, they imported workers to ensure the whole money went back to them!

on Thika road tuliwachiwa Barabara tu! imagine if a huge percentage of that 31 billion (from ADB not china) was left here? talk about stimulating the economy! BVR - 9 Billion! very sad state of affairs. I remember the French ambassador sometimes back signing a contract and she said... in order for kenya to get this money the only condition is that the work must be done by a french company!! <--- HATS OFF! that is how people take care of themselves.
#99 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 10:14:25 PM

It was mandated by the slave owner that only one breast could be used to feed the white child...if she switched up and let both black and white babies suckle from the same breast, she could be whipped because it was like them sharing the same water fountain. She wasn't a paid wet nurse who chose this profession, she was an enslaved woman who had to feed all of the white babies first and her child last. So if her milk went dry, the slave owner brought in another enslaved woman to feed his children; while the enslaved women's children went hungry. Enslaved ate leftovers or what they could grow in their little yards so sharing her milk with the slave owners' children meant her children got less or nothing at all.
#100 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 10:16:01 PM

as @simonkabz would say - matimoni