13 Pages«<678910>»
ArtCaffe is damn expensive.T
#141 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:21:57 AM

They've apologized
#142 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:26:31 AM

Negative publicity yet the place is always full. poor Kenyans and trying hard to identify. nothing will change much.
holycow
#143 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:52:29 AM

#144 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:55:47 AM

But given how lousy their service is, why do Kenyans even bother going there?
#145 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:56:42 AM

holycow wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Talk of seeing an opportunity!
#146 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:19:57 AM

I try not to set foot in places like Art Caffe,..always find staff in foreign owned establishments a bit frosty, even if when it is not necessarily discrimination. The other reason is a faux pas sometime back when I strayed into an international hotel ...so much hair splitting ..in this case, the waiter would not clear the empty plate (I had cleaned every morsel off its surface),because you need to arrange the fork and knife touching the plate turned down or something like that. He let that awkward situation stew for a long while and I had to prompt the guy to take it away. I got a tutorial on how to arrange forks and knives in the most condescending sing-songy tone you can ever imagine.
As if that was not enough, as I am about to leave, egg on face, the person I was meeting hints I should stop being a culture-less village person and suggests it is fashionable to leave a tip in such places. I like fashion as much as the next person and being neither too mean nor too extravagant, I imagine 200 is plenty of tip ....alas the tip gets rejected sneeringly but in perfectly polite language. Apparently there is a rule written in an obscure scroll somewhere that says you have to tip 5% of your expenditure.
Fine, I admit I was ignorant, but humiliation traumatises me - I go to great lengths to avoid it. Some education I can do without, like obscure rules of dining.
#147 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:25:53 AM

But given how lousy their service is, why do Kenyans even bother going there?

Couldn't agree more!!! I almost gave up waiting for service....and that was before this attack on social media...It was the last time I went there...other coffee houses do better.
Mtu Biz
#148 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:29:01 AM

quicksand wrote:
I try not to set foot in places like Art Caffe,..always find staff in foreign owned establishments a bit frosty, even if when it is not necessarily discrimination. The other reason is a faux pas sometime back when I strayed into an international hotel ...so much hair splitting ..in this case, the waiter would not clear the empty plate (I had cleaned every morsel off its surface),because you need to arrange the fork and knife touching the plate turned down or something like that. He let that awkward situation stew for a long while and I had to prompt the guy to take it away. I got a tutorial on how to arrange forks and knives in the most condescending sing-songy tone you can ever imagine.
As if that was not enough, as I am about to leave, egg on face, the person I was meeting hints I should stop being a culture-less village person and suggests it is fashionable to leave a tip in such places. I like fashion as much as the next person and being neither too mean nor too extravagant, I imagine 200 is plenty of tip ....alas the tip gets rejected sneeringly but in perfectly polite language. Apparently there is a rule written in an obscure scroll somewhere that says you have to tip 5% of your expenditure.
Fine, I admit I was ignorant, but humiliation traumatises me - I go to great lengths to avoid it. Some education I can do without, like obscure rules of dining.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Pole lakini.
Sola Scriptura

#149 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:30:41 AM

I understand preparations are underway for occupyartcaffe
#150 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:42:56 AM

#151 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:47:16 AM

they apologise and distance themselves from their (offending) branch. looks like art cafe junction is throwing village market under the bus. who does pr for these guys? the 'wazuan watchman'?
#152 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:49:24 AM

Can you imagine a restaurant in a top mall in a city in Europe, and run by black Kenyans, refusing to serve middle class Europeans because they asked for 8 croissants and also because they are WHITE?? It would be closed that same hour and the owner deported. Why are Kenyans allowing themselves mistreated in their own country? You are mistreated abroad and even at home?
#153 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:54:03 AM

quicksand wrote:

Ignorant of an obscure rule??? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Eish!! Hata kama!
#154 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 11:09:42 AM

You tip when you receive good service. If it's lacking, why would you do it? Do cashiers at the bank expect tips even when you deposit a large sum of money? Do conductors get tips when they the PSV takes you from one point to another? Tipping isn't mandatory, and it makes a business to lose revenue from potential customers, through such discrimination. You pay for a service charge in a restaurant and are still expected to tip generously. That's double tipping for you. And if you don't frequent the place, then again, why tip?.
#155 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 11:46:35 AM

Its very sad that this is happening to us IN OUR OWN COUNTRY! I will pay them a visit this weekend and see how they treat me.
#156 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 11:48:36 AM

Can you imagine a restaurant in a top mall in a city in Europe, and run by black Kenyans, refusing to serve middle class Europeans because they asked for 8 croissants and also because they are WHITE?? It would be closed that same hour and the owner deported. Why are Kenyans allowing themselves mistreated in their own country? You are mistreated abroad and even at home?

I am bleeding inside from hearing this claims!
#157 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 11:50:16 AM

A service charge is sometimes added to bills in restaurants and similar establishments. Tipping may not be expected when a fee is explicitly charged for the service.

I am confident that our bills include service charge, so when we tip we are double tipping.
#158 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 11:59:01 AM

MWAFRIKA! wewe ni wa nani kama unadhulumiwa kwenu? WEWE NI WA NANI? you will forgive me but this story has disturbed me so so much!
#159 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:09:35 PM

Negative publicity yet the place is always full. poor Kenyans and trying hard to identify. nothing will change much.

why with the afro-pessimism? I am sad that people like you don't see this as a problem.
hii kitu imenisinya hata nimeshindwa ku-focus kazini...
#160 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:15:42 PM

Feel like going to chokoza.smile smile