Pope 'says' there is a 'gay lobby'
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
tycho wrote:AlphDoti, would you say that there are some human acts and experiences that shouldn't be disclosed?
Or is that there are some humans who never engage in 'shameful' acts? Is the infallible man suddenly appearing in Islam?
We are using words like 'shameful', and assert that God cannot reveal the 'shameful' in even the great prophets. Can such an assertion really be justified? If yes, then there's no 'straight path' to follow; even Islam will be a lie in such a case.
The erotic conversation, when driven by love, is the highest form of conversation that humans can have. This is because such a conversation includes humanity's encounter with God.
Why do you insist that all people must experience a symbol in the same way? Why are people so many? Because there are so many reasons, and experiences. Yet all are one, and God is one. Thus the Scripture can't be tailored to suit your sensibility but to encounter it and lead to truth.
AlphDoti, I am sure you'll never fail to find reason to quarrel your wife if you are intent on it. Even a smile will be called a sneer.
That's the situation of our conversation. This is all a pretext. It's a justification of how and where we work, how we live, our secrets and the like.
It's a waste of time. Blasphemy. @tycho, I'm trying to share the big game being played here. That's why we are using the thread under "Pope" to expose some of these things, perpetrated by the Roman empire. So let me show you something else. Who gave Paul prophetood?Look at his two claims, telling different stories. First scenario: the people who were with him didn't see light but they heard sound. Acts 9:3- Basi katika safari yake, alipokuwa akikaribia Dameski, ghafula nuru kutoka mbinguni ikamwangaza kote kote. - Akaanguka chini, akasikia sauti ikimwambia, “Sauli, Sauli, mbona unanitesa?” - Sauli akajibu, “U nani wewe, Bwana?” - Ile sauti ikajibu, “Mimi ni Yesu unayemtesa”. - “Sasa inuka uingie mjini, nawe utaambiwa yakupasayo kutenda.” - Watu wale waliokuwa wakisafiri pamoja na Sauli wakasimama bila kuwa na la kusema, - kwa sababu walisikia sauti lakini hawakumwona aliyekuwa akizungumzaSecond scenario: the people saw light but they didn't hear any sound. Acts 22:6- Nilipokuwa njiani kuelekea Dameski, yapata saa sita mchana, ghafula nuru kubwa kutoka mbinguni ikanimulika kote kote. - Nikaanguka chini, nikasikia sauti ikiniambia, ‘Sauli, Sauli, Mbona unanitesa?’ - Nikajibu, “ ‘Wewe ni nani Bwana?’ - Naye akaniambia, “ ‘Mimi ni Yesu wa Nazareti unayenitesa.’ - Basi wale watu waliokuwa pamoja nami waliiona ile nuru, lakini hawakuisikia ile sauti ya yule aliyekuwa akisema nami.In fact, Paul said...his Gospel is for those who are not circumcised NOTE: I don't mean to offend anybody. I'm just saying what is in the Bible. So no offense to those who don't go through this initiation.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
@AlphDoti, anything that can be attacked, can also be defended.
Anything that is hidden can be exposed, and the exposed hidden.
So what matters is identity. And Identity extends beyond the Koran, or the Bible.
tycho wrote:@AlphDoti, anything that can be attacked, can also be defended.
So what matters is identity. And Identity extends beyond the Koran, or the Bible. @tycho if we just defend for the sake of defending, then it losses the meaning. If something is not right, speak it out. If something makes sense, then say "yes, I didn't know that". But just to say attack/defend with no reason is not the way. This is forum for us to share.Some of the people her eare learnig something. Even the Christians themselves are learning something, however painful it might be. It is possible they didn't something we have mentioned here actually existed in their bible. Now they know. Now they will think about it. That's what we want. But I want us to carry on. Ask me anything you want to ask meBe it about the Muslims, be it about the Quran. I'm not afraid. Muslims we have nothing to hide. But don't say I know about the Christians so much. What is wrong with knowing them?Would it have been better if I didn't know about it?
@tycho and @Mc, let me add one more thing before I go take some tea my wife is offering... with sneer in her face coz I have spent too much time of the computer this evening... There are a lot of points
...even today if you go into Catholic church, you see so many potraits and statutes and idols and images thoughout the whole place. For the one who has never experience that, for a Muslim who knows about these images he will be like " wow audhubilah! What's this!" Even a protestant will be shockedBecause in the protestant religion, they are taught to believe that second commandment is just as important as the first commandment. The first commandment...in Exodus is same as the commandment in the book of Deutronomy. It says I'm the lord your God who brought you out of the land of Egypt, the house of bondage you know not God beside me. Beside me THERE IS NO OTHER GOD. Thou shall not have other God besides me How many agree with that commandment?You notice that Muslims agree with this bacause it means "La Illa Allah" (there is no other God other than Allah). That is the first commanmendt for us as well. The second commandments...you have clearly says that you shall not make any idols, craven images of anything that: - creeps upon the land, - swims in the sea underneth, - that fly in the air above. You sit in a church...watch the preacher talk, and look around. Wow in front of the podium, a fish with message "fishers of men". Then look up above his head, in the glass window and they had a dove, flying. Then look on the sides, and there is a cross with a man hanging on it. They didn't miss a single oneThey got them all; - something walking on the earth, - something swimming in the sea beneath, - something flying in the air above. Look at these thingsclearly the first two of greatest commandments are bang! Finished! Because if you say god is more than one...where did you get it from? When Jesus is talking to his own companions and they ask him what is the greatest commandments Mark 12:29. The greatest commandments is to know oh Israel that the Lord our God is one God. And you have to love Him with whole your heart, and whole your mind and whole your strengh.This is what prophet Muhammad pbuh saying to his peopleWhat you see is Muslims practising the commandments and you see people claiming the commandments and practising something else. It is true that there are more converts from Catholic church than any other of the many secs of Christianinty, esp - nuns, - priests and - archbishops. Now these guys are sacrificing their whole lives...to get the true message Islam, not only to Christians but to Muslims as well. Bottom lineJesus (peace be upon him) he's not a part of a trinity. Trinity does not exist
AlphDoti wrote:tycho wrote:@AlphDoti, anything that can be attacked, can also be defended.
So what matters is identity. And Identity extends beyond the Koran, or the Bible. @tycho if we just defend for the sake of defending, then it losses the meaning. If something is not right, speak it out. If something makes sense, then say "yes, I didn't know that". But just to say attack/defend with no reason is not the way. This is forum for us to share.Some of the people her eare learnig something. Even the Christians themselves are learning something, however painful it might be. It is possible they didn't something we have mentioned here actually existed in their bible. Now they know. Now they will think about it. That's what we want. But I want us to carry on. Ask me anything you want to ask meBe it about the Muslims, be it about the Quran. I'm not afraid. Muslims we have nothing to hide. But don't say I know about the Christians so much. What is wrong with knowing them?Would it have been better if I didn't know about it? It isn't so much about knowing others as it is about knowing myself. At every point of our conversation I ask how much of me is remaining. For example, I realize that I can defend a position, but is it worth defending it? Can such thinking lead to truth? But let me respond to your points about Paul to illustrate my point. 1. The divergence of witness accounts is more of a strength than a weakness. Why? It conforms to human nature and hence when there's divergence and convergence of accounts, then it is more probable that the event happened! 2. What determines whether a person will be called a prophet? Christians prefer to call Paul an 'Apostle of Christ'. For example, one could say that by being a military leader, Mohammad was a killer and that his greatest disciples were also killers. 3. The technique of this conversation may not be informative. So far you've been avoiding to answer questions by offering counter arguments, and instead you have taken to adding allegation after allegation. And as I said, I am reducing things and beliefs that need defence.
AlphDoti wrote:@tycho and @Mc, let me add one more thing before I go take some tea my wife is offering... with sneer in her face coz I have spent too much time of the computer this evening... There are a lot of points
...even today if you go into Catholic church, you see so many potraits and statutes and idols and images thoughout the whole place. For the one who has never experience that, for a Muslim who knows about these images he will be like " wow audhubilah! What's this!" Even a protestant will be shockedBecause in the protestant religion, they are taught to believe that second commandment is just as important as the first commandment. The first commandment...in Exodus is same as the commandment in the book of Deutronomy. It says I'm the lord your God who brought you out of the land of Egypt, the house of bondage you know not God beside me. Beside me THERE IS NO OTHER GOD. Thou shall not have other God besides me How many agree with that commandment?You notice that Muslims agree with this bacause it means "La Illa Allah" (there is no other God other than Allah). That is the first commanmendt for us as well. The second commandments...you have clearly says that you shall not make any idols, craven images of anything that: - creeps upon the land, - swims in the sea underneth, - that fly in the air above. You sit in a church...watch the preacher talk, and look around. Wow in front of the podium, a fish with message "fishers of men". Then look up above his head, in the glass window and they had a dove, flying. Then look on the sides, and there is a cross with a man hanging on it. They didn't miss a single oneThey got them all; - something walking on the earth, - something swimming in the sea beneath, - something flying in the air above. Look at these thingsclearly the first two of greatest commandments are bang! Finished! Because if you say god is more than one...where did you get it from? When Jesus is talking to his own companions and they ask him what is the greatest commandments Mark 12:29. The greatest commandments is to know oh Israel that the Lord our God is one God. And you have to love Him with whole your heart, and whole your mind and whole your strengh.This is what prophet Muhammad pbuh saying to his peopleWhat you see is Muslims practising the commandments and you see people claiming the commandments and practising something else. It is true that there are more converts from Catholic church than any other of the many secs of Christianinty, esp - nuns, - priests and - archbishops. Now these guys are sacrificing their whole lives...to get the true message Islam, not only to Christians but to Muslims as well. Bottom lineJesus (peace be upon him) he's not a part of a trinity. Trinity does not exist A symbol can't be negated.
Is the triangle an instance of trinity? I believe so.
Therefore trinity exists. Now that we have a template, we can have a set of instances conforming to the triangles rules of formation/ intersection.
There are so many ways of perceiving and understanding. To peg oneself to any is to abandon the truth.
Truth is when you are the wind, or water, or fire, or earth. Lol!
tycho wrote:AlphDoti, <some text deleted> 2. Had Mohammad known how to read and write, wouldn't he have recorded the revelations himself? How did the Koran 'end' its oral transmission, and who put it in writing first? <some text deleted> First, let me remind you the meaning of word "Islam"Word "islam" is derived from Arabic verb "aslama", which means to 'accept', 'surrender' or 'submit'. So, Islam means submission to and acceptance of God. How do you submit?...by worshipping Him, following His commands, and avoiding polytheism (associating God with other partners). So who is the one who submits?The one who submits, is said to have "aslam". - In action form is "ku-aslam", "ku-slam", "ku-slimu". - As the doer you says: "m-aslam", "m-slam", "m-slimu" Just like: - the one who politics is called m-wanasiasa - the one who teaches is called m-elimu - the one who nurses is called m-uguzi So how did the Quran come about?First, understand the meaning of "Quran". - in Arabic means "the recitation" - Muslims believe the Quran to be the book of devine guidance and direction for mankind - and considers the text in its original Arabic to be the literal word of God revealed to Muhammed pbuh - It was revealed over a period of 23 years - Muslims view the Quran as God's final revelation to Humanity Are there different versions of the Quran?- No, there is only one version of the Quran and it is in Arabic as it was revealed by Allah 1400 yrs ago How was it preserved all these years without any change?The Quran verses were originally memorized by Muhammad's companions as he recited them. And it was written down by some of the companions of the prophet. As the Quran was being revealed, the Prophet Muhammad made special arrangements to ensure that it was written down. Although the Prophet himself could neither read nor write, he dictated the verses orally and instructed scribes to mark down the revelation on whatever materials were available: - tree branches, - stones, - leather, - and bones. His companions would then read...their writing back to the Prophet, who would check it for mistakes. With each new verse that was revealed, the Prophet Muhammad also dictated its placement within the growing body of text. IMPORTANT: Quote:The historical credibility of the Qur'an is further established by the fact that one of the copies sent out by the Caliph Uthman is still in existence today. It lies in the Museum of the City of Tashkent in Uzbekistan, Central Asia....and an early manuscript on gazelle parchment exists in Dar al-Kutub as-Sultaniyyah in Egypt. More ancient manuscripts from all periods of Islamic history found in the Library of Congress in Washington, the Chester Beatty Museum in Dublin (Ireland) and the London Museum have been compared with those in Tashkent, Turkey and Egypt, with results confirming that there have not been any changes in the text from its original time of writing [44]." 1. The Tashkent Quran (Uzbekistan) 2. The Topkapi Quran (Turkey) 3. The Al-Hussein Mosque Manuscript(Egypt) When the Prophet Muhammad died, the Quran has been fully written downBut of course, not in book form, however. It was recorded on different parchments and materials, held in the possession of the Companions of the Prophet. So you wonder how is it possible to memorize the entire Quran?- today, there're over 12 million Muslims world wide that memorized the Qiuran cover to cover. - every Muslim has memorized part of Quran Quran is the only book which has its original textQuran is in the hearts of Muslims. Even if the books were removed, it can be reproduced from people's hearts. Again, who has written the Quran?Quran 80:11 Quote:By no means (should it be so)! For it is indeed a Message of instruction: Explanation: Allah's Message is a universal Message, from which no one is to be excluded: - rich or poor, - old or young, - great or lowly, - learned or ignorant. If anyone had the spiritual craving that needed satisfaction, he was to be given precedence if there was to be any question of precedence at all.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/27/2010 Posts: 266 Location: Nairobi
@AlphDoti Those are some telling jabs you've unleashed on the Bible. In boxing parlance, you have your opponents on the ropes. I'm yet to see the counter arguments from the usual suspects; Masukuma, Yesu wangu, arise!!!What is your take on @AlphDoti’s criticism of the bible on the following: -God wrestling with Jacob -Jeremiah giving God a ticking off for lying, etc.@AlphDoti-On the other hand, could you shed some light on the 72 virgins tale? “The joys and glories of Paradise are as fantastic and sensual as the lascivious Arabian mind could possibly imagine. "As plenty of water is one of the greatest additions to the delights of the Bedouin Arab, the Koran often speaks of the rivers of Paradise as a principal ornament thereof; some of these streams flow with water, some with wine and others with honey. But all these glories will be eclipsed by the resplendent and ravishing girls, or houris, of Paradise, the enjoyment of whose company will be the principal felicity of the faithful. The pleasures of Paradise will be so overwhelming that God will give to everyone the potentialities of a hundred individuals. To each individual a large mansion will be assigned, and the very meanest will have at his disposal at least 80,000 servants and seventy-two wives of the girls of Paradise.” Source: The Catholic Encyclopedia RINK
Rank: Member Joined: 10/27/2010 Posts: 266 Location: Nairobi
@AlphDoti Those are some telling jabs you've unleashed on the Bible. In boxing parlance, you have your opponents on the ropes. I'm yet to see the counter arguments from the usual suspects; Masukuma, Yesu wangu, arise!!!What is your take on @AlphDoti’s criticism of the bible on the following: -God wrestling with Jacob -Jeremiah giving God a ticking off for lying, etc.@AlphDoti-On the other hand, could you shed some light on the 72 virgins tale? “The joys and glories of Paradise are as fantastic and sensual as the lascivious Arabian mind could possibly imagine. "As plenty of water is one of the greatest additions to the delights of the Bedouin Arab, the Koran often speaks of the rivers of Paradise as a principal ornament thereof; some of these streams flow with water, some with wine and others with honey. But all these glories will be eclipsed by the resplendent and ravishing girls, or houris, of Paradise, the enjoyment of whose company will be the principal felicity of the faithful. The pleasures of Paradise will be so overwhelming that God will give to everyone the potentialities of a hundred individuals. To each individual a large mansion will be assigned, and the very meanest will have at his disposal at least 80,000 servants and seventy-two wives of the girls of Paradise.” Source: The Catholic Encyclopedia RINK
Pope 'says' there is a 'gay lobby'