Culture
North is not up!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
Tokyo wrote:Africa will grow and develop. But the gap between rich a poor will widen. Reasons? For an economy to grow EQually/ equitably to all , you need only three factor 1. Justice- rule of law to all 2. Services- infrastructure etc. tax money working appropriately 3. Security- both to people and their property according to law. Provide Africa and Kenyan with above and they develop in one generation. Otherwise what's happening is a kid's growing but bones and internal organs not developing. I heard Cape Town to Lagos - 6hrs. But cheapest is through Dubai and connect 23hrs Our focus should be more 'inward'. Quote: It is more expensive to transport goods within East African region than anywhere else in the world, It takes 28 days to move a 40ft container from the port of Shanghai, China to Mombasa at a cost of Sh50,520 ($600), while it takes 40 days for the same container to reach Bujumbura from Mombasa at a cost of Sh673,600 ($8,000), This represents double the time at 13 times the cost. We need to reduce the cost of freight across all modes of transport, terminal handling costs at ports of entry, the number of documents, agencies, signatures, physical and electronic inspections required per trade transaction.
if we can fix intra-african logistics we shall be out of the woods. secondly, the Law is a social contract of some sort that all people rich and poor comply with if we don't see benefits of the law - people will not obey it. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
urstill wrote:A question I never got an answer! When in exactly north pole position, can one still say there's north? Same question applies to south pole. As for East-West, I can reason with that!! Sometimes I usually feel that we should do away with these western style of doing things. It is ripping our continent apart. For example, personally, I have decided my marriage is African. Hakuna kiherehre mingi ya wedding, sijui honeymoon. Furthermore, come to think of it, back in the days as a kid, I never heard of sijui mother's day, anniversaries, presents left and center,etc yet our mothers and fathers lived happily "ever after" unlike these days with all that junk into the relationship. @urstill, Ain't north the point where magnets align themselves to?north & south? Where would a compas would be pointing to if you were to stand on the north pole? North is not up, we just take up to be north. The far East people,their east is the Americas,to the Koreans, Russia is their north,to the Vladvostoks,Korean peninsula is their south. Are guys suggesting if Africa was shown as bigger on the maps,then we would be developed? I don't get it. The whole debate is nothing more than wonder. Like wondering how big the universe is, or whether there is an end to it and what lies beyond. In short, chasing tails.
mkeiyd wrote:urstill wrote:A question I never got an answer! When in exactly north pole position, can one still say there's north? Same question applies to south pole. As for East-West, I can reason with that!! Sometimes I usually feel that we should do away with these western style of doing things. It is ripping our continent apart. For example, personally, I have decided my marriage is African. Hakuna kiherehre mingi ya wedding, sijui honeymoon. Furthermore, come to think of it, back in the days as a kid, I never heard of sijui mother's day, anniversaries, presents left and center,etc yet our mothers and fathers lived happily "ever after" unlike these days with all that junk into the relationship. @urstill, Ain't north the point where magnets align themselves to?north & south? Where would a compas would be pointing to if you were to stand on the north pole? North is not up, we just take up to be north. The far East people,their east is the Americas,to the Koreans, Russia is their north,to the Vladvostoks,Korean peninsula is their south. Are guys suggesting if Africa was shown as bigger on the maps,then we would be developed? I don't get it.The whole debate is nothing more than wonder. Like wondering how big the universe is, or whether there is an end to it and what lies beyond. In short, chasing tails. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:mkeiyd wrote:urstill wrote:A question I never got an answer! When in exactly north pole position, can one still say there's north? Same question applies to south pole. As for East-West, I can reason with that!! Sometimes I usually feel that we should do away with these western style of doing things. It is ripping our continent apart. For example, personally, I have decided my marriage is African. Hakuna kiherehre mingi ya wedding, sijui honeymoon. Furthermore, come to think of it, back in the days as a kid, I never heard of sijui mother's day, anniversaries, presents left and center,etc yet our mothers and fathers lived happily "ever after" unlike these days with all that junk into the relationship. @urstill, Ain't north the point where magnets align themselves to?north & south? Where would a compas would be pointing to if you were to stand on the north pole? North is not up, we just take up to be north. The far East people,their east is the Americas,to the Koreans, Russia is their north,to the Vladvostoks,Korean peninsula is their south. Are guys suggesting if Africa was shown as bigger on the maps,then we would be developed? I don't get it.The whole debate is nothing more than wonder. Like wondering how big the universe is, or whether there is an end to it and what lies beyond. In short, chasing tails. have you guys read everything I have written? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:McReggae wrote:mkeiyd wrote:urstill wrote:A question I never got an answer! When in exactly north pole position, can one still say there's north? Same question applies to south pole. As for East-West, I can reason with that!! Sometimes I usually feel that we should do away with these western style of doing things. It is ripping our continent apart. For example, personally, I have decided my marriage is African. Hakuna kiherehre mingi ya wedding, sijui honeymoon. Furthermore, come to think of it, back in the days as a kid, I never heard of sijui mother's day, anniversaries, presents left and center,etc yet our mothers and fathers lived happily "ever after" unlike these days with all that junk into the relationship. @urstill, Ain't north the point where magnets align themselves to?north & south? Where would a compas would be pointing to if you were to stand on the north pole? North is not up, we just take up to be north. The far East people,their east is the Americas,to the Koreans, Russia is their north,to the Vladvostoks,Korean peninsula is their south. Are guys suggesting if Africa was shown as bigger on the maps,then we would be developed? I don't get it.The whole debate is nothing more than wonder. Like wondering how big the universe is, or whether there is an end to it and what lies beyond. In short, chasing tails. have you guys read everything I have written? @masukuma, I have been following the thread and have enjoyed the stuff you have written, it doesn't prevent me from getting cracked, no? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
masukuma wrote:McReggae wrote:mkeiyd wrote:urstill wrote:A question I never got an answer! When in exactly north pole position, can one still say there's north? Same question applies to south pole. As for East-West, I can reason with that!! Sometimes I usually feel that we should do away with these western style of doing things. It is ripping our continent apart. For example, personally, I have decided my marriage is African. Hakuna kiherehre mingi ya wedding, sijui honeymoon. Furthermore, come to think of it, back in the days as a kid, I never heard of sijui mother's day, anniversaries, presents left and center,etc yet our mothers and fathers lived happily "ever after" unlike these days with all that junk into the relationship. @urstill, Ain't north the point where magnets align themselves to?north & south? Where would a compas would be pointing to if you were to stand on the north pole? North is not up, we just take up to be north. The far East people,their east is the Americas,to the Koreans, Russia is their north,to the Vladvostoks,Korean peninsula is their south. Are guys suggesting if Africa was shown as bigger on the maps,then we would be developed? I don't get it.The whole debate is nothing more than wonder. Like wondering how big the universe is, or whether there is an end to it and what lies beyond. In short, chasing tails. have you guys read everything I have written? @Masukuma.. Take a joke. Doesn't demean the importance of what you've illuminated. We learn, we teach our kids.. Somewhere down the line, we'll be at par with the world
Mukiri wrote:masukuma wrote:McReggae wrote:mkeiyd wrote:urstill wrote:A question I never got an answer! When in exactly north pole position, can one still say there's north? Same question applies to south pole. As for East-West, I can reason with that!! Sometimes I usually feel that we should do away with these western style of doing things. It is ripping our continent apart. For example, personally, I have decided my marriage is African. Hakuna kiherehre mingi ya wedding, sijui honeymoon. Furthermore, come to think of it, back in the days as a kid, I never heard of sijui mother's day, anniversaries, presents left and center,etc yet our mothers and fathers lived happily "ever after" unlike these days with all that junk into the relationship. @urstill, Ain't north the point where magnets align themselves to?north & south? Where would a compas would be pointing to if you were to stand on the north pole? North is not up, we just take up to be north. The far East people,their east is the Americas,to the Koreans, Russia is their north,to the Vladvostoks,Korean peninsula is their south. Are guys suggesting if Africa was shown as bigger on the maps,then we would be developed? I don't get it.The whole debate is nothing more than wonder. Like wondering how big the universe is, or whether there is an end to it and what lies beyond. In short, chasing tails. have you guys read everything I have written? @Masukuma.. Take a joke. Doesn't demean the importance of what you've illuminated. We learn, we teach our kids.. Somewhere down the line, we'll be at par with the world indeed - the pen that writes history is not out of ink! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Positioning north at the top is NOT a product of geopolitics nor is it a result of some white supremacist ideology! It comes out of simple geometry and physics! You've all be to school so you've heard of the x, y, z axes. X and y lie on the horizontal plane while z points up. If you ask me why z is drawn upward, I will ask you why we write left to right! BTW there is a logical reason why! Back to x, y, z: the 3 axes are always drawn in a manner that conforms to a "right handed set". That is, they mimic the motion of a right handed screw. Imagine a screw placed along the z axis with its head sitting at the origin of the three axes. If it is rotated in a motion that moves from x to y, it will drift up along the z axis; that is upward.  The figure on the left forms a left handed set while that on the right is a right handed set. Since 85% of the world population is right handed, the standard convention is the right handed set..... sorry, lefties; it's the tyranny of numbers! Now think about how the earth rotates... from west to east (that's why we see the sun moving from east to west). If it was a right handed screw, which way would it drift: northward or southward? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Northwards, of course. Thus if we drew the 3 axes starting from the centre of the planet, x and y would lie on the equatorial plane while z would point northwards... Like this......  But on paper, z points up; therefore north should be drawn pointing up. Case closed. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
BTW: by right handed set convention, the angular momentum vector due to the rotation of the earth also points northward...... So you see; there is a lot of science that made it the way it is. Geopolitics has nothing to do with it. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
mukiha wrote:BTW: by right handed set convention, the angular momentum vector due to the rotation of the earth also points northward......
So you see; there is a lot of science that made it the way it is. Geopolitics has nothing to do with it. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Culture
North is not up!