Pastor M
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 2:36:00 PM

@ Mykey

Yes equity bank has partnered with Amiran to offer credits to the green house
farmers...check this link http://www.equitybank.co...0Equity_Partnership.pdf

AMIRAN KENYA AND EQUITY BANK LAUNCH PARTNERSHIP
TO SUPPORT SMALL SCALE FARMERS
Joint venture to modernize and commercialize small scale farming
Nairobi 19th May,2009&hellip; Amiran Kenya today launched a partnership with Equity
Bank to support small scale farmer&rsquo;s access to affordable credit to finance commercial
agriculture.
Under the new partnership,Kenya&rsquo;s small scale farmers will access credit from Equity
Bank to finance modern agricultural inputs provided by Amiran Kenya. These Global
GAP compliant agricultural inputs,which meet the highest standards of the European
Union,include drip irrigation,farmer&rsquo;s green houses,quality seeds,fertilizers,agrochemicals,
and tailored training from Amiran&rsquo;s team of expert agronomists,all packaged
into the Amiran Farmer&rsquo;s Kit (AFK).

We walk by faith,not by sight.
Bible,2 Corinthians v. 7.
Mykey
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 2:45:00 PM

Thanks man. Just wonder if I'll be lucky to get the loan. Are there other places where one can acquire a loan or grant (i.e. NGOs or other institutions)? This would be of great help since I have huge chunks of land lying idle and some are extremely productive. Any one wishing to assist can contact me through my email. Click on Mykey and you'll see my profile. Thanks once again.

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately,to front only the essential facts of life,and see if I could not learn what it had to teach,and not,when I came to die,discover that I had not lived.”
- Henry Thoreau
Simpson
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 3:04:00 PM

@Mukiha. Allow me paraphrase your wise words. 'Being paid for something I would happily pay for the priviledge of doing!' That is how some people feel about farming. They are just happy if the venture can pay for its bills,profits are secondary. Am sure you have met grown men who can talk about farming all day and yet they have burnt their fingers countless times when the weather has turned against them.

For such people,this technology eliminates most of the uncertainties associated with rain fed open field farming. 600K from a 8m X 15m plot is rather optimistic. Am projecting 500K for twice the plot size. Not bad for a mpango wa kando. Talk to me over Easter 2010,I will have figures to share.

Am not privy to the EB & Amiran loan deal. My take,if you do not have to,do not borrow.

There are no accidents.
Fundaah
#24 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2009 6:48:00 AM

This is a very enlightening discussion .....

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#25 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2009 7:23:00 AM

@Simpson,

You've given a very good insight.......What are you growing?.Capsicums or tomatoes?

Old man about town....
akowally
#26 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2009 9:52:00 AM

This seems like a good venture that I would like to do in the long term ...Will definitely get back to this at some point since I have some land lying idle somewhere...Great discussion

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Simpson
#27 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2009 10:04:00 AM

@Njung'e. I have tomatoes targeting the low production season of Nov to Jan. Intention is to grow capsicums and other high value produce when I have the marketing side tied up. The tomato market is much easier to figure out even in times of a glut.

There are no accidents.
#28 Posted : Friday, October 30, 2009 12:45:00 PM

@Simpson,

Thanx...........I'll get to you at some appropriate time.

Old man about town....
Kamaa
#29 Posted : Saturday, October 31, 2009 2:07:00 PM

@ old man about town....

wacha kudanganya simpson...

what a wonderful farming thread...!

hope kenyans of different parts embrace it and we will surely counter the famine...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
sammyboy
#30 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 2:05:00 PM

I got some powerpoint presentation from amiran and the net profits they stated were around 130k.

If you would like it,i could forward it.
bird_man
#31 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 2:13:00 PM

@SammyBoy,

Please email me the powerpoints and any other info you have email is bwanamkubwa09@yahoo.com

'When I sell liquor,it's called bootlegging; when my patrons serve it on Lake Shore Drive,it's called hospitality'-Al Capone
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
half_empty
#32 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 2:46:00 PM

130k profit rules out renting a shamba
Litro
#33 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 3:29:00 PM

I hope the crops are planted on troughs rather than directly on the ground. This way,even a person in the remotest part of Kenya can be able to benefit. But as is always the case,water has to be readily available.

Opportunity favours the prepared mind...........
Poggie
#34 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 3:43:00 PM

@sammyboy ... pls share the pp info .. email to geosdigitol@hotmail.com. Thks in advance.

As a man thinketh so is he
As A Man Thinketh So is He
Kamaa
#35 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2009 6:44:00 AM

@ sammyboy

jkamarley@ovi.com

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#36 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 6:20:00 AM

@sammyboy you could upload to share it with excited sk family. However,drop it to alphdoti@gmail.com

AKS
#37 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 9:24:00 AM

Send the info/powerpoint presentations to me at tebes09 (at)yahoo.com .

Thanks

Work like you will die tomorrow,plan like you will never die
swaleh
#38 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 1:18:00 PM

@Simpson,kindly also send me the presentation.

hismajestyswaleh@gmail.com

I`m officially tha realest,point blank period! T.I.
maia
#39 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 11:22:00 PM

@ All,

I suggest you take your time and go through the link below - great discussion about GreenHouse Tomato Farming. All the best

http://www.mashada.com/f...ing-project-hcda-2.html
Ghezzo
#40 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 6:26:00 AM

@simpson.
Ineed the PPT too.Could you kindly send it to rasghezzo@gmail.com.

The greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do.