wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

3 Pages<123
Salary for Househelps
#41 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 6:08:20 PM

Coolio wrote:
My Mpesa attendant huwa namlipa 5k and whenever I feel like eating managu instead of regular sukuma hananga shida.

@Mukiri: Here's another candidate for your everlasting and wonderful advice. + Prayers.

@Coolio, here comes @Mukiri.

#42 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 9:55:16 PM

jguru wrote:
Coolio wrote:
My Mpesa attendant huwa namlipa 5k and whenever I feel like eating managu instead of regular sukuma hananga shida.

@Mukiri: Here's another candidate for your everlasting and wonderful advice. + Prayers.

@jguru, Omera, Im your new fixation? Wewe muombee. Maybe 'Mpesa attendant' is the new 'wife' and thats their role play.

#43 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 10:08:25 PM

Coolio wrote:

And whenever she feels like eating sukuma instead of managu, customers are there.
Unaletewa all sorts of veges at your doorstep.

#44 Posted : Wednesday, May 08, 2013 7:25:54 AM

jguru wrote:
Coolio wrote:

@jguru, Omera, Im your new fixation? Wewe muombee. Maybe 'Mpesa attendant' is the new 'wife' and thats their role play.

she isn't my wife, i have a very beautiful wife and very much blessed the size of essyk.
Tokyo
#45 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 3:11:39 AM

House girls salary should be equivalent to kindergarten teacher. It's very dehumanizing enslaving young girls just because you are feeding and accomonditing them. Imagine it was your sister or worse enough your own daughter wasting prime time of their lives instead of advancing or acquiring modern skills . The profession should have proper terms like any other . How many in the so called western countries have a Nanny anyway ?
work to prosper
#46 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 11:48:52 AM

Tokyo wrote:
House girls salary should be equivalent to kindergarten teacher. It's very dehumanizing enslaving young girls just because you are feeding and accomonditing them. Imagine it was your sister or worse enough your own daughter wasting prime time of their lives instead of advancing or acquiring modern skills . The profession should have proper terms like any other . How many in the so called western countries have a Nanny anyway ?

solution?
Pesa Nane
#47 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 12:18:20 PM

brayokasa4 wrote:
Si those house helps can EAT! And hawanoni!
I think Food cost -3,500.
Going by this calculations I think I have been overpaying my house help as she earns a whooping 4,000 a month inclusive of accommodation, food, airtime of 100 bob a week, free church ride on Sunday, hand me down clothes and shoes from the wife etc etc.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I hope you don't come home staggering on the same day she puts on your wife's clothes, wig and shoes!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
matata
#48 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 3:42:50 PM

I think the current rate is too much. Not forgetting they use everything in ur house. U will find some do not even touch there salo cz wanajipaka mafuta ya watoto au mama.
So the government should review the rates for housegals. N wengine they just harass our kids.
What worries is I accompanied my wife when she was interviewing one and I wanted to be there cz of matamchi ya lugha which had started affecting my children, en one of the gals asked if we use diapers or nappies, each has its price, en she even wanted to know if we use washing machine au mikono kufua? Now tell me, isn't that pure crap. I do not ask my boss if I will use a type writer or a laptop in my work???
Atwoli awache kudekeza hawa watu.
anasazi
#49 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 5:12:04 PM

lol @matata. Ati matamchi ya lugha affecting kids eh.

Sasa our househelp is one mwizi! She's a daybag to sukari, mchele etc.... anavuka nazo. Tunamvumilia tu for now
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Meduza
#50 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 6:23:30 PM

No problem...as long as she can shelter herself and I assume that 7k will be enaf to pay for her house, shopping, food and all. When I give mine 5k I assume that the balance ni ya shopping and other things i do for her while in my house
You cant win, unless you first begin....
Meduza
#51 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 6:25:24 PM

Tokyo wrote:

We would like to pay more but sometimes its not affordable. I believe in treating a house girl well. she takes care of my most treasured asset...My daughter, so treating her like part of the family is the key not like a slave.
You cant win, unless you first begin....
Tokyo
#52 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 4:22:06 PM

Meduza wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

We would like to pay more but sometimes its not affordable. I believe in treating a house girl well. she takes care of my most treasured asset...My daughter, so treating her like part of the family is the key not like a slave.

Exactly; but bear in mind you might be ruining innocent underage girls life.
The best solution is baby care units. Your kids handled professionally . It's cheap, reliable and secure. Dropouts will be reduced as well
work to prosper
symbols
#53 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 11:42:55 AM

Hmmmm,there has been a rise in daycares.
new investor
#54 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 8:52:17 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Meduza wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

Exactly; but bear in mind you might be ruining innocent underage girls life.
The best solution is baby care units. Your kids handled professionally . It's cheap, reliable and secure. Dropouts will be reduced as well

Do these babycare units pick up 2month old babies by 6am when most people leave for work? and what about exposure to the cold morning weather?plus what if the baby is still sleeping, i have to wake her up early and prepare her for "babycare"? Or what are you suggesting?
Give Away FREE Reports and Affiliate Tools.
Earn commissions from sales of Our Do-It-Yourself List Building Resources.
http://www.leadgeneratingtools.com
new investor
#55 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:02:52 AM

Tokyo wrote:

Just for the record,kindergarten teachers especially in government schools do not earn more than 6 - 10K....and remember they have to arrange their own accommodation,food etc. Only very good private schools pay them well..Infact I know one who used to get 3K via mpesa @end month and the other 3K in installments during the next month
Give Away FREE Reports and Affiliate Tools.
Earn commissions from sales of Our Do-It-Yourself List Building Resources.
http://www.leadgeneratingtools.com
For Sport
#56 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:11:52 AM

Tokyo wrote:

Provided their skill and training level is commensurate to that of a kindergarten teacher. Most of them are trained on the job. Maybe we qualify for some sort of training levy. Some of them make costly mistakes..and we're not just talking property here.
Plus, this is not a western country. TIA. Let the domestic technician decide whether S/he wants to stay where they are at in life, or to begin the journey climbing out of poverty by working.
ChumsQuest
#57 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 12:00:54 PM

XSK wrote:
I don't think this is a good move and the house helps are the ones to suffer because you'll only need then on a full time basis when you have a new born after that you'll only need a mama for washing the house and clothes once a week for 400/-. Everyone will have a part-time housi who has to go get her own food and accommodation.

Largely true.

The extra cash you will pay them will require them to get a house somewhere. It may not be practical for most part.

It will boil down to your agreement with the individual pay them the stipulated minimum and ask them to find own accomodation or stay with the employer but at a lesser pay.

In a nutshell employers will need to consider the cost of housing and feeding them as part of the pay!!!

Ditto! And if they insist they will not report this you can have them sign an agreement that they agree to the terms of payment witnessed by a lawyer...this is to protect you in the long run.. The tumboches turn to angry cats when they have met a kahousy and need to depart from your home...
#58 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 3:10:26 PM

Our maid has a maid looking after her kid while she is at work. Can our maid afford sh7,500 minimum wage for her maid?

The assumption that employers can afford the minimum wages is totally wrong.

Supply and demand dynamics are also at play. There is a large supply of maids---if you announce that you are looking for one to be paid sh3,500, you will get very may interested! Mind you this is less than half the minimum wage.

So, we have a majority of employers who can't afford the 7k and many wokers willing to take half that amount. In short, both just scoff at Atwoli and the Minister for Labour and tell them to continue dreaming!

#59 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 3:44:02 PM

mukiha wrote:
Our maid has a maid looking after her kid while she is at work. Can our maid afford sh7,500 minimum wage for her maid?
The assumption that employers can afford the minimum wages is totally wrong.

Supply and demand dynamics are also at play. There is a large supply of maids---if you announce that you are looking for one to be paid sh3,500, you will get very may interested! Mind you this is less than half the minimum wage.

So, we have a majority of employers who can't afford the 7k and many wokers willing to take half that amount. In short, both just scoff at Atwoli and the Minister for Labour and tell them to continue dreaming!

Applause Applause Applause very good point there!
Dash
#60 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 4:01:33 PM

new investor wrote:
Tokyo wrote:

Just for the record,kindergarten teachers especially in government schools do not earn more than 6 - 10K....and remember they have to arrange their own accommodation,food etc. Only very good private schools pay them well..Infact I know one who used to get 3K via mpesa @end month and the other 3K in installments during the next month

I don't think Tokyo lives in Kenya