wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

10 Pages«<678910>
Safaricom FY 2012-2013 results PBT up 47%
#71 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 4:51:05 AM

2 of 4 telecom firms are in huge trouble. Only Airtel (subsidized by Airtel India) stands fighting M-Pesa Bank.

Who wants to bet Bharti Airtel will be the ones to buy out Yu??
They are now seriously looking at acquisitions to shore up market share!
hisah
#72 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 5:14:17 AM

guru267 wrote:
2 of 4 telecom firms are in huge trouble. Only Airtel (subsidized by Airtel India) stands fighting M-Pesa Bank.

They buy out their debtor for pennies. What a shark airtel...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#73 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 7:56:43 AM

guru267 wrote:

Am placing my bet. This fellows are looking for a local investor for the 75% foreign ownership rule.

#74 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:39:37 PM

guru267 wrote:

Am placing my bet. This fellows are looking for a local investor for the 75% foreign ownership rule.
Unlikely. Airtel needs to find a local buyer for 15% of Airtel. Are YU customers 'mipango' or dedicated customers? The only customers that make sense to Airtel are those of Safaricom not the broke customers of YU [free calls] or Orange.
ekahindi
#75 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 6:06:23 PM

Safaricom set to introduce Wifi kwa matatu this week.
h2s
#76 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 8:04:18 PM

guru267 wrote:

Unlikely. Airtel needs to find a local buyer for 15% of Airtel. Are YU customers 'mipango' or dedicated customers? The only customers that make sense to Airtel are those of Safaricom not the broke customers of YU [free calls] or Orange.

I got a free YU line just to promote the salesman, and behold calling their customer care number I got "Mteja hapatikani". Maybe these guys have already packed and are disposing the SIM cards for free to reduce luggage costs.
#77 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 9:16:06 PM

h2s wrote:
I got a free YU line just to promote the salesman, and behold calling their customer care number I got "Mteja hapatikani". Maybe these guys have already packed and are disposing the SIM cards for free to reduce luggage costs.

Yu ni ya super-sufferers, and anyone at essar who think they will survive here in Kenya with that customers class is dreaming. Data (via modems) is the only way they can unlock moneyed customers, but they chose not to venture there. SHAURI YAO!

hisah
#78 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2013 6:18:01 PM

ekahindi wrote:

Now I get what you meant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FhHXcIdguQ
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji
#79 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2013 6:30:02 PM

hisah wrote:
ekahindi wrote:

i've seen this in NBO-MBS buses. maybe they were the pilot. good idea for safcom/commuters i must commend *applause*
symbols
#80 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 7:03:30 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
hisah wrote:
ekahindi wrote:

i've seen this in NBO-MBS buses. maybe they were the pilot. good idea for safcom/commuters i must commend *applause*

Getting 7-9 would have been difficult but taking advantage of traffic is an excellent move.
10 Pages«<678910>