wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

The Senate
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 9:15:10 AM

Yaani this thing we created was a toothless bulldog all along?!

#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 9:23:07 AM

Yeah. Just like those Art&Craft, Home Science and Music Classes you attended for 8 years.

#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 9:26:09 AM

Case will go to the supreme court...You can expect the supreme court to redeem its .... by saying the whole process was unconstitutional ... The senate will carry the day...My thoughts!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 10:25:06 AM

I told you guys! I used to get shocked on seeing the likes of Orengo, Kituyi, Khalwale and Kerrow going for this hse.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 10:32:17 AM

By the way, the division of revenue bill which divides revenue among counties still goes back to the national assembly...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 10:52:42 AM

By the way, the division of revenue bill which divides revenue among counties still goes back to the national assembly...

Does every bill from the Senate go back to NA or it is just the revenue bill?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 10:58:41 AM

Toothless or intentionally being made to be toothless by the powers that be???
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 10:59:08 AM

I told you guys! I used to get shocked on seeing the likes of Orengo, Kituyi, Khalwale and Kerrow going for this hse.

I had so much respect for this office. I thought it was like in the US kumbe they are the lower house!

We have to admit the guys who put together this constitution blundered somewhere. So can Senate fire the President without backlash from the 'upper house' Parliament?

#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 11:04:44 AM

I had so much respect for this office. I thought it was like in the US kumbe they are the lower house!

We have to admit the guys who put together this constitution blundered somewhere. So can Senate fire the President without backlash from the 'upper house' Parliament?

Now is when we are seeing the flaws...it has so much room for multiple interpretation of clauses...
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 11:53:05 AM

Does every bill from the Senate go back to NA or it is just the revenue bill?

just this one. But the good thing is that they can review it later.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:04:06 PM

Devolution will make the central gov't less relevant.

That's the power of the Senate.

We are still stuck on nataka serekali mentality. Wait a couple of years when you start seeing the strength of the counties versus the central gov't.

The executive is trying to maintain its relevance in mashinani by giving less money. The national assembly knows that as the days go by, those county governors will have more money than they have and can marshall their support base at any moment.

Money is power and the senate will decide how much money goes to mashinani.

Give it a few years and your MP will be begging for the governor's support and so will the president. The governor to perform will need the senator to get enough cash to run his agenda.

Who do you think will get more support in mashinani. The MP who will say that I made laws to help you including one that increased my salary, or the governor who will say, I built that road? The governor to build that road will need the senator. Therein lies the fight.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:15:03 PM

Toothless or intentionally being made to be toothless by the powers that be???

if you remember, some of us were already telling you that the senate is useless even before we went to the polls. Around the time her excellency the good lady the wazua admin banned me two months ago, i had a thread on this. Read the constitution utaona it's true. But of late i have had to admit that it's not completely useless. In division of revenue bill each county gets only 1 vote thus protecting minorities as Nairobi and Lamu will each get 1 vote while if the N.A was debating it Nai will have 17 votes with Lamu having 2. But still, we can scrap senate and have governors counil debate such
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:17:08 PM

We are still stuck on nataka serekali mentality. Wait a couple of years when you start seeing the strength of the counties versus the central gov't.

The executive is trying to maintain its relevance in mashinani by giving less money. The national assembly knows that as the days go by, those county governors will have more money than they have and can marshall their support base at any moment.

Give it a few years and your MP will be begging for the governor's support and so will the president. The governor to perform will need the senator to get enough cash to run his agenda.

Who do you think will get more support in mashinani. The MP who will say that I made laws to help you including one that increased my salary, or the governor who will say, I built that road? The governor to build that road will need the senator. Therein lies the fight.

...Teach them Mbloo...Teach them...The starting point is the The constitution of Kenya, which is a small booklet that one can read as as he/she sits on a toilet seat...Why did Kenyans stop reading? Hata kusoma gazeti ni shida!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:23:04 PM

I can't agree more, the central government wants the counties to be dependent on them, that's why the Devolution ministry (central) have a high budget yet they don't want the direct county allocations to be high!!!.....the smart Governors will smote them out as investors and aid start going to the county Governments direct!!!!!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:48:50 PM

@magigi, it would be good to quote the relevant parts of the constitution. For me,as ignorant as you believe I am, I am basing my argument on what Mbadi has already been telling us in the functions of the NA vs senate in article 95 n 96. Then read art 203. Na utulie mblo
Shotgun
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 1:45:37 PM

Article 203- Equitable share and other financial laws.
(2) For every financial year, the equitable share of the revenue raised nationally that is allocated to county governments shall be not less than fifteen per cent of all revenue collected by the national government.

Is the Ksh. 210B less than 15% of the most recent audited accounts of revenue?

Article 95 - Role of the National Assembly.
95.(4) The National Assembly—
(a) determines the allocation of national revenue between the levels of government, as provided in Part 4 of Chapter Twelve;

Article 217 - Division of revenue.
217. (1) Once every five years, the Senate shall, by resolution, determine the basis for allocating among the counties the share of national revenue that is annually allocated to the county level of government.

So who really has the power to decide how much money goes to mashinani?

My take...the Supreme Court will have quite a busy schedule the next 5-10 years before people realize what they can do or not do.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 1:55:59 PM

Thanks Shotgun for bringing real food for thought on the table.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 2:17:26 PM

@shotgun, thanks. Pls also quote for honourable wazuans article 203(3). I am using my phone that's why i can't quote. The problem is we listen too much to civil society cliches that we have seen quoted here.
Shotgun
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 2:24:53 PM

@shotgun, thanks. Pls also quote for honourable wazuans article 203(3). I am using my phone that's why i can't quote. The problem is we listen too much to civil society cliches that we have seen quoted here.

There you go @Lolest!

Equitable share and other financial laws.

203. (2) For every financial year, the equitable share of the revenue raised nationally that is allocated to county governments shall be not less than fifteen per cent of all revenue collected by the national government.

(3) The amount referred to in clause (2) shall be calculated on the basis of the most recent audited accounts of revenue received, as approved by the National Assembly.

#20 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 2:43:30 PM

@ Shotgun.....I think you should have considered the other sections of article 217

(3) Within ten days after the Senate adopts a resolution under clause (1), the Speaker of the Senate shall refer the resolution to the Speaker of the National Assembly.

(4) Within sixty days after the Senate’s resolution is referred under clause (3), the National Assembly may consider the resolution, and vote to approve it, with or without amendments, or to reject it.