wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

Retrogressive friends...
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 12:18:09 PM

Just thinking is it worth it to have such friends in your life...
I have a common set of friends with my big bro whose 8 years older than me (dont know if its correct english)...they were his palz during their campus years and some have inter married within the group thus becoming relaz in the process...my biggest issue is that these guys arent progressive,we have this group text thingy and 90% of the time its about women and alcohol and football when its on season bring anything up about investment and you will be shut down as quickly as you raised it...not with standing the fact that they are married and one even has a kid whose cleared undergrad...am really thinking this isnt the best group to relate with especially since am not married and they are painting marriage as an institution where cheating is allowed and is the norm...
Is it time for me to pace...relate with individuals who will bring the positive side of life...your thoughts?
#2 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 1:02:44 PM

Do you want to stop talking about women and alcohol? Or do you want to broaden your range of topics? (Lol. Many will save and invest in order to talk about women and alcohol.)

If the latter, then the results you have experienced are expected. It doesn't mean your friends are necessarily retrogressive.

It is the chick struggling with the egg, but still tied to the mother. Your brother.

Sneak out. Can you?
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 1:10:55 PM

Do you want to stop talking about women and alcohol? Or do you want to broaden your range of topics? (Lol. Many will save and invest in order to talk about women and alcohol.)

If the latter, then the results you have experienced are expected. It doesn't mean your friends are necessarily retrogressive.

It is the chick struggling with the egg, but still tied to the mother. Your brother.

Sneak out. Can you?

I believe av had enough of that...seeing pics of bums and boobs half of the day isnt really enterprising...we tried making rules but they are blantantly being broken...maybe the quote "show me your friends and I will show you who you really are" aptly sums it...constantly being fed ideas on philandering myt shape/mould me into them...wouldnt want my marriage to be that way...can I sneak out...yes I can av just exited and left the group...
#4 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 1:38:08 PM

Show me your friends and I'll show you the kind of person that you are. Every man is like the company he is wont to keep.
#5 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 1:49:16 PM

Sneak out. Can you?

I believe av had enough of that...seeing pics of bums and boobs half of the day isnt really enterprising...we tried making rules but they are blantantly being broken...maybe the quote "show me your friends and I will show you who you really are" aptly sums it...constantly being fed ideas on philandering myt shape/mould me into them...wouldnt want my marriage to be that way...can I sneak out...yes I can av just exited and left the group...

Most talk is about men and women and their conflicts.

Enterprise is about manhood. It's proof, is mostly the woman.

Faithfulness is emasculation, and transformation into a world where men and women don't exist.

Crowds oppress with loneliness, and solitude breeds eternal company, and triumph of the soul.

So it may be imprudent to find new friends.
#6 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 1:51:04 PM

Wacha Mukiri atoke church..tusikie maoni.ie if he is not attending the men's meeting.
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 1:55:28 PM

Wacha Mukiri atoke church..tusikie maoni.ie if he is not attending the men's meeting.

wewe pia toa maoni...there is a meb meeting after church?
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 2:00:09 PM

we have this group text thingy and 90% of the time its about women and alcohol and football when its on season bring anything up about investment and you will be shut down as quickly as you raised it...

what is that? honestly your answer is in your question.
If your conscience is disturbed,just move on and make new friends.
But what else do men discuss other than money,women,mother in law,politics and alcohol? oh and for the godly,smile God.
You have a small range of topics while we have a variety.
Hiyo group sio healthy mentally is all I can say.

#9 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 2:17:56 PM

we have this group text thingy and 90% of the time its about women and alcohol and football when its on season bring anything up about investment and you will be shut down as quickly as you raised it...

what is that? honestly your answer is in your question.
If your conscience is disturbed,just move on and make new friends.
But what else do mean discuss other than money,women,politics and alcohol? oh and for the godly,smile God.
You have a small range of topics while we have a variety.

the thing is id rather have it lean towards the positives of life the beauty of marriage and bringing up children...does it mean men dont appreciate their wives they,d rather talk about their clandes over and over again send photos but they never talk about their wives...or children.
T-Bag
#10 Posted : Sunday, June 09, 2013 2:45:14 PM

The good book says bad company spoils good morals - Fact.
Having said that this is my take:-
It is apparent that there is conflict between your environment and your inner core beliefs. Nonetheless, man cannot live in isolation.

Way forward:-
1. Explore (within your circle of influence) contacts with people or areas that you belief will share your aspirations.
2. Maintain "essential" (bro and relas are permanent) contact with this group, who knows you may be the "angel Gabriel" they are waiting for albeit unknowingly.
3. I agree kuishi kwingi ni kuona mengi but the fallacy is many see the mingi and are rarely effected positively by them, u can get an irresponsible white-haired human being. Be the wise man i think you are.

Shamelessly Soldier on as a purposeful "Marker"-making good marks along this "short" journey 70 -80 or so years hehehe.

so long
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF