wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

Stockport exploration Inc-Your take
popat
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:42:19 AM

A Toronto Stock Exchange listed company with Exploration Rights in Kenya.Private placement of Common shares to local Kenyan Qualified Investors.Agent Kestel Capital LTD.Can we make money here? Ama hii ina wenyewe.
#2 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2013 12:48:29 PM

Exploration stocks are very risky. Those who indulged here are already down 60% on their investment as at yesterdays closing price - in less than 3 months! They can't sell until July.
The winner so far is Kestrel Capital who netted 36,400 Dollars as a finders fee.
Hii ndio inaitwa kuchomeka! Buying Paka would have fared them better!
However, with the volatility in the sector, they could be up 50% next month. Wasife moyoLaughing out loudly
#3 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2013 2:29:48 PM

The reason the shares/offerings in Exploration firms are very restrictive is that they are highly speculative & risky. The CMA feels the mwananchi is not sophisticated enough to take that risk [though he can visit a casino] so bars the sale of these in Kenya.

Think of Tullow, Afren or Africa Oil. On the other hand there are many who have hit nothing & left or sold out.
#4 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2013 2:51:06 PM

The reason the shares/offerings in Exploration firms are very restrictive is that they are highly speculative & risky. The CMA feels the mwananchi is not sophisticated enough to take that risk [though he can visit a casino] so bars the sale of these in Kenya.

Hehe. Yeah. Plus pyramid schemes are free to conduct their bizSad

CMA should not pretend to protect investors. You can't do that by dishing out 10k fines.

I wonder if the GEMS market will have a couple of exploration startups.

As you rightly mention, exploration can be a hit or a miss. By 'protecting' investors from losses, you are also shielding them from windfall gains. Risk should be an individuals choice, in my opinion.

By the way, I am not condemning Stockport in any way. Just showing the risk in the sector. They have yet to begin drilling, so the jury is still out. Plus they operate in a very prospective region.
#5 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2013 2:56:31 PM

By the way VVS, your absence in oil and infrastructure threads sticks out like a sore thumb! Hehe. Mbona kanyamaza ivyo? I'm sure you have valuable insights you can share cc @mwekezaji
#6 Posted : Saturday, June 08, 2013 12:25:04 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
By the way VVS, your absence in oil and infrastructure threads sticks out like a sore thumb! Hehe. Mbona kanyamaza ivyo? I'm sure you have valuable insights you can share cc @mwekezaji
Find me a candidate for investment smile
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 08, 2013 8:46:16 AM

Hehe. Such pressure! I honestly think only the Sage of Omaha can satisfy the Sage of Wazua's strict investment criteria;-)
I mean, you wouldn't want me to 'pull a Stockport' on you, would you?:-o
mwekez@ji
#8 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2013 10:14:50 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Find me a candidate for investment smile

ditto smile
mwekez@ji
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 06, 2013 2:55:11 AM

Stockport Exploration is seeking capital for a second time to fund its next stage of development in Kenya, through the issue of USD 2.0m worth of convertible debentures.