wazua Tue, Dec 24, 2024

TOP 3 CAR ACCIDENT GARAGES
Kwanini
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 2:07:00 PM

@all

For those of you who had accidents in the recent past,which garage impressed you most?

I was surprised UAP did not consider the following in their 2009 List. I thought1. Stantech
2. Motor Mania were a cut above the rest in terms of Equipment,Personnel,Speed,Price and Quality. anyone who has had any complaint with them?

UAP is adamant i cant take ma car to any of the 2 above,though they were highly recommended by pals. i have complied in every other way. Is this normal or is peculiar to UAP. Been with them for 7 years,only one acident during the time.

@gathinga- i have the authority letter. The issue is where UAP is directing people. Some of their official garages,in ma humble opinion are just startups or being revived from the doldrums.
For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
gathinga
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 2:39:00 PM

@Kwanini

i thot its standard procedure to have an authority letter from Insurance before repairs commence. otherwise how would the garage verify our cover is not fake?
Pablo
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 9:36:00 AM

The problem of Stantech ni kurukia. Once took my car after an accient and they were billing 369k for a dent at the boot of the car which needed a body jack. Insurance wanted to write it off but I have sentimental value to that car. Took it to Bhatti Motors and they did the job with 180k.

Want to be a millionaire.... plant a million cabbages and sell them at a bob...
Joni
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 10:02:00 AM

@Kwanini i am in the insurance industry and part of the reason why the Insurer selects a garage is mainly the cost factor. Stantech & Motor Mania are good but they are also expe.

Maybe you need to highlight some of the options they gave you. If Unity is in that list,they are also good. Vas Motors are good too but expe dont know whether they future in ua list.

Thirdly the garages are selected by the Claims Manager and some senior staff and knowing that this is Kenya it is possible kuna mtu anakula mbuzi kwanza.

Nway for more advice you may contact me kwa tatumbilitanosufurimojatatusita. But having said that UAP is one of the safest and best companies u may insurer with.

'What do we live for,if it is not to make life less difficult to each other?' George Elliot
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 10:48:00 AM

@ Kwanini - Whatever decision you make,don't go near Concorde garage which is next to Shell Hurlingham. I took my car to them ( I have a cover with UAP and it was one of their garages at that time - 2yrs ago) First they told me they couldnt find parts for a premio fast enough,then they did a poor spray job so I had to take the car back to them after the part they sprayed got patches. Then they removed the rivets for the front number plates and I had to return the car to them. And when I returned it the 2nd time I got the car back without one mat.
Kwanini
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 3:14:00 PM

Thanks so much guys. i now know there's a premium for everything. The 2 among others are apparently way too expe for no good reason and insurance wameelewa kuna kitu inaitwa . Took the toyota nano to Motorways,sadly it was declared dead on arrival. poor thing,written off. sasa nitafute pesa ya excess ama excise?

With every challenge i learn something,

1. You coud be the finest driver,but the chap next lane could be straight from hell.
2. Better know how to recite Your policy backwards. Insurance chaps will cut corners and your ignorance will be used against you..... kama wewe ni fala. [Hope Mutoko will continue with her show morrow morning on know your insurance and your rights.
3. Have no attachment to objects.
4. Shukuru mungu kila kuchao. hata kama wewe ni osama.

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"