wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

10 ways to spend less without looking miserable
Kabush
#1 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 12:48:00 AM

Everybody is talking of Recession. We all now know that money in our pockets can dwindle gradually until we find ourselves broke. If you don’t believe this ask Mardoff. But you will not find him anywhere in near future anyway. He has to serve 350 years in jail. Basically you will never find him to answer that question.

However,I am ready and I can answer one of the questions that have been in your mind for a while now. I am a mind reader like Derren Brown so I know what you have been asking.

Below are the 10 answers on how to spend less without looking miserable

1. Don’t buy things you don't use

Why buy three 5-sitter sofa sets,when you only have one kid.

Buying a fridge by hire purchase for storing milk only is not a good idea. It is increasing your electricity bill as well as CO2 emissions.

What is the difference between your old cathode TV and the LCD flat screen that you bought through the nose.

2. Don’t pay for unnecessary services

Do you really need all those extra features of your mobile phone?

The other day you bought a HD-ready TV; do you really know what that means? Or was it just for a show. Even if you know,are you utilising it?

That wireless internet card and phone network card in your computer are an extra expense if you only use LAN network card

You bragged that you bought that phone with bluetooth,how often do you use it?

My neighbour once installed landline telephone which was used twice a year and he had to pay standing charges.

3. Avoid unhealthy habits

Smoking will deal you double blows: mess your health and pocket.

A trip to a pub will increase a risk of cancer as well as draining your hard earned cash.

Eating an orange/apple/pineapple is cheaper and healthier that buying that Highland’s/Quencher squash

4. Carry your own lunch

At dinner time,cook enough food for the following day’s lunch. We always pack lunch for our kids. We need to do the same for ourselves. This way we save some bucks and eat healthy and clean food. I say clean,because you are never sure of the cleanliness of that restaurant.

5. Change your shopping location

If you are living or working in Nairobi,avoid upper-Nairobi streets (west of Tom Mboya street). The furthest you should go towards Uhuru high way is Odeon Cinema.

With all due respect avoid Nakumatt by all means. You can get the same product at Tusker supermarkets at lower and friendly price. I know you would like to be seen with those Nakumatt blue plastic bags,but you will pay dearly for the prestige.

For groceries,don’t dare enter a supermarket,shop from Wakulima market.

6. Rent or swap a movie

Instead of a trip to the movie theatre,rent or swap movies with friends.

Instead of buying that DVD,rent it,borrow from a friend or wait and watch the video on the TV.

7. Wait/Delay purchases

Instead of buying that trouser which is on fashion expensively,wait and buy it when the price comes down.

8. Grow your own

Instead of buying vegetable and groceries grow your own. If you are living in urban centres use flower pots.

9. Weekly/monthly bus card

If you travel regularly with bus,it’s cheaper to buy weekly or monthly bus card.

10. Avoid unnecessary electricity bills

Renting a house in Kenya is pegged on whether there is power supply. Nowadays,you double spend on electricity and other lighting systems (hurricane lamps and tin lamps) because of blackouts. Rent in cheaper areas where there is no supply of electricity.

Use energy saver bulbs. I once switched to them and saved my bills by 40%.

Unplug or switch off your TV. Never leave it on standby.

If you liked this,subscribe at http://www.changeyourt.com to receive this and other similar articles straight in your email inbox.
#2 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 6:39:00 AM

Which are the greatest consumers of electricity in the home? I've had to limit tv watching to try and lower my bills. What else can i do?

mtaalam
#3 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 6:46:00 AM

I agree with you on Nakumatt. Avoid by all means.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
#4 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 8:05:00 AM

On elec bill,try the following

v Turn the fridge regulator to the minimum

v Use energy saving lights in all rooms

v Never use electric heating coils at all costs,esp. jua kali ones

v Disable electric instant showers at bathrooms

v Use florescent tubes for security light(s),or if the neighbour’s light is adequate,turn off yours

v Turn off lights in the inner rooms unless in use at that instant

v Ensure evening meals are prepared early to minimize lighting duration.

Also pay your bills on time to avoid extra charges.

Work like you will die tomorrow,plan like you will never die
mtaalam
#5 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 8:52:00 AM

v Disable electric instant showers at bathroom

My friend,what do you mean because I don't see myself taking a cold shower anytime soon???

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
#6 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:18:00 AM

Save water,shower with a friend

..there's nothing,absolutely nothing really,that I can't do if I put my mind to it.
bamkubwa
#7 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:32:00 AM

use Instant Hot Showers - only heats water when you are in the showering,if not you switch it off. Lets say 5-10 minutes not bad plus its convinient.

Use energy saving bulbs for mostly used rooms like table room / sitting room and dining. Also security lights use energy saving bulbs like - 14-20 Watts better you can by LED lights though they cost a fortune.

Use a medium sized fridge,big ones are power guzzlers. Then set thermostat to minimum if the fridge is not fully packed.

Then consider buying a laptop or an LCD TV.

#8 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:40:00 AM

@Intelli,no ways
You will bend to pick the soap and get plugged!

Niône mwisho ya mwezi pliz!
A New Kenya
Pierce
#9 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:40:00 AM

Shop at Naivas....very very cheap in comparison to ALL the rest!!
Pierce
#10 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:44:00 AM

Weee mjuaji,

Kwani si you shower with a friend of the opposite sex...........daaah!

Pierce
#11 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:45:00 AM

Weee mjuaji,

Kwani si you shower with a friend of the opposite sex...........daaah!

#12 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:45:00 AM

Looks like the fridge is the main culprit. I've been setting it on maximum when there's really no need. My neighbours have a small fridge and their elec bills are much lower than ours

#13 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 9:52:00 AM

@Pierce
Plugs can easily fit into sockets.... :-}

Niône mwisho ya mwezi pliz!
A New Kenya
akowally
#14 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 10:25:00 AM

Great tips….More tips can be found on the following threads…

Secrets to cope with tough times. - akowally

Best ways of saving money during these hard times. - doh

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
bamkubwa
#15 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 10:53:00 AM

Avoid hiring a taxi.
Ground your car and take a matatu to work,saturday and sunday you can have it.
Maybe you can consider buying a smaller car (A.K.A shopping basket) like Vitz,Duet Maturi,starlet where the engine cc ranges 1000 - 1400. Good for shopping and going to work.
No need to drive big cars where you are burning money over nothing.
JA.KE
#16 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 10:32:08 AM

Wow, I've really learned a lot from these tips. Safe for the one about showering with a friend. LOL.