#861 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 9:43:56 PM

Nabwire, of interest to you - Simba Energy Inc. Signs Memorandum of
Understanding to Farmout in Kenya
http://m.yahoo.com/w/leg...intl=us&.lang=en-us
Nabwire
#862 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:57:06 PM

Hey thanks for the update, thats a good look. smile Though I stopped worrying about this stock, it was up about 12% an hour ago and now its down 6%, so hii ni heri ulenge otherwise utakufa multiple times. And that farmout deal, that company gets 66%!! And if GoK does not approve the deal, the deal is transformed into shares at a 7 cents purchasing price!! The winner here is that company, yani basically I am a minority in a minority owned company Pray there better be alot of oil in Kenya and more flowing from Somalia coz block 2A is right next to Somalia. And they dont start drilling till 2014 Pray
hisah
#863 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 12:44:39 PM

BP making a comeback in KE means things are getting interesting smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#864 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 11:14:19 PM

Balala sets out priorities for mining sector - http://www.businessdaily...08/-/pwtuo8/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#865 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 11:36:50 PM

Africa has the minerals; where are the dollars?

http://www.theeastafrica...0/-/hmwm5r/-/index.html

Just how much do the East African Community governments stand to gain from oil and gas exploration and extraction deals with foreign oil majors?

Will the governments use the revenue to lift millions of people out of poverty? Will the return on investment on the countries’ natural resources and the huge government spending on infrastructure ease exploration and extraction?

These are the questions in the minds of many but a new survey by the African Union-backed African Progress Panel paints a worrying scenario: International mineral extraction companies, mainly from Australia, Canada and China, are using complex ownership models to avoid tax in East African countries.

"Botswana’s key lesson has been that Africa’s natural resources belong to the people. In this way, diamonds became the country’s relative economic success,” said Linah Mohohlo, the governor of Botswana’s Central Bank and a member of the APP.

The APP said that while global mining firms listed on stock exchanges are more transparent, their unlisted counterparts bear the biggest blame in tax avoidance.

Commentators also blame African governments for failure to make proper scrutiny of the companies to which they award exploration contracts and absence of national policies on oil and gas.

“We should blame ourselves because before these companies are invited here, we should already have the right policies, the way the Gulf countries did. In the absence of policies on oil and gas, these issues will continue to arise and the continent will continue losing money,” said Israel Kamuzora, chairman of Africa Trade Insurance, a firm working with regional insurers to improve their capacity to underwrite oil and gas risks.
#866 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:10:35 PM

The National Oil Corporation of Kenya (Nock) said Tuesday that it has kicked off nationwide awareness meetings on the future of oil and gas exploration and production in the country.

Nock chief executive Sumayya Hassan-Athmani said the State-owned firm is looking at guiding national dialogue on the recent oil and gas discoveries beyond the current discussions revolving around revenue sharing.

Hassan-Athmani said that a series of stakeholder talks being held across the country will prepare the nation for success once the ongoing exploration for commercial oil deposits in the northeast Kenya is confirmed.

http://www.businessdaily...04/-/aupo8l/-/index.html
#867 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 10:57:32 AM

The bickering has started...

East Africa is in danger of throwing away part of its new-found oil wealth

http://www.economist.com...y-part-its-new-found-oil
mkeiyd
#868 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 11:51:47 AM

[quote=madollar]The bickering has started...

http://www.economist.com...-part-its-new-found-oil[/quote]

Is the guy suggesting that we [EAC] should export crude to Asia and import refined stuff? Among many things he's suggesting.
#869 Posted : Sunday, May 26, 2013 6:57:04 PM

madollar wrote:
The bickering has started...

http://www.economist.com...-part-its-new-found-oil

Just seen this and wondered what are these goons upto?
So an oil bonanza is in the offing. Revenues could lift millions out of poverty, but only if the oil can find an efficient way to market. The local fields are expensive to tap, say experts. A single pipeline could serve them all and would be the cheapest option, running to Lamu via Lokichar in north-west Kenya and beyond.

Building refineries makes no sense for east Africa. It would be wasteful and is unlikely to give countries the energy security they seek, as some of the fields will run dry quite soon. The economies of scale in refining are vast. Buying fuel from mega-refineries in Asia will be cheaper for a long time to come, even if it means losing some of the profits from processing.

What do you think EastAfricans? I agree with the sentiment that all the 3 countries cant have a mega refinery but isnt it worth it?

#870 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 3:17:25 PM

Puntland Government Position on Natural Resources in Somalia
http://www.garoweonline....ources_in_Somalia.shtml
#871 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 6:24:30 PM

Africas Oil and Gas tax capability
#872 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 6:02:20 PM

1. Taipan farm-out—Q2-Q3 2013:
The most recent NI 51-101 compliant resource estimate on Taipan’s Block 2B from Sproule International estimates an unrisked prospective resource of 387 million barrels. Coming from 17 leads, with prospects ranging in size from 2.5 million barrels to 128 million barrels, with potential for multiple stacked horizons.
Recently the company announced that it has wrapped up the first phase of the exploration period. In doing so, they have effectively competed what was to be a 3-year work program, in only 8 months. It is expected that Taipan will soon announce the initiation of an additional exploration period that will include the drilling of its first well.

2. Spudding of Bahasi-1 (formerly “Kinyonga”)—Q3 2013:
Scheduled to spud in Q3 2013, the upcoming Bahasi-1 well is expected to be a huge boost to the Africa Oil/Marathon partnership, as well as for their neighbors. Drilling both tertiary and cretaceous rock, the goal of Bahasi to target a structure believed to be 60 metres in thickness. From a geological perspective, the play has what it takes to be big: it’s a large anticlinal structure, trapped by a 4-way closure, which keeps the hydrocarbons they are targeting in place.
But the true excitement regarding the play’s potential comes from the fact that over 6 billion barrels of oil have been discovered along trend in Sudan, under very similar geologic conditions.
This is one of, if not THE biggest target being drilled onshore in East Africa this year, and would provide a regional catalyst for all players, says Adam Zive, a director of Taipan Resources.
“I think the potential analogue that the market is probably not appreciating enough is particularly this Bahasi-1 well on Block 9 right beside us,” says Zive. According to Africa Oil’s presentation, this prospect has a best estimate of 320 million barrels and a high estimate of 656 million barrels.

CLICK LINK FOR ORIGINAL ARTICLE AND DISCLAIMER
Nabwire
#873 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 6:15:51 AM

I just got a mailing from Africa oil about their annual general meeting on June 3rd, Murchr, Hisah or anyone else, did you guys also get it? Its 36 pages long and why lie hakuna vile I will read all that, but it seems like the main agenda is to elect the 5 directors. I was literally going to sell off my shares tomorrow, not because I don't believe in AOIFF but because there's opportunity to make more money elsewhere then come back to it. June 3rd is 3 trading days away though, I wonder how the stock will perform after the meeting?!
#874 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 8:41:32 AM

Nabwire wrote:
I just got a mailing from Africa oil about their annual general meeting on June 3rd, Murchr, Hisah or anyone else, did you guys also get it? Its 36 pages long and why lie hakuna vile I will read all that, but it seems like the main agenda is to elect the 5 directors. I was literally going to sell off my shares tomorrow, not because I don't believe in AOIFF but because there's opportunity to make more money elsewhere then come back to it. June 3rd is 3 trading days away though, I wonder how the stock will perform after the meeting?!

Surely Nabwire U know am not one to rely on reading. What I can advise you is DON'T SELL or may be just sell afew until Sabisa results are out. The highlights look real good but i like it when Tullow guys are peeing on their pants with good news lakini kama kuna pesa in another venture try it out, you never know
#875 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 11:07:13 AM

Sabisa results 2 weeks away.

Ngamia flow-test results 3 weeks away.

Etuko-1 results expected in July. Should Etuko-1 be successful, there are a
number of drill ready follow-up prospects on the same trend.

El Kuran-3 to spud in July.

Paipai to be tested in 2H 2013.

Bahasi-1 to spud in 3Q 2013.

Company continuing to acquire seismic data over blocks.

Resource update could come in September.

The dates are not written in stone of course. Sabisa was set to be done in 60 days - it is heading to 150 now.
Nabwire
#876 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 4:20:45 PM

Murchr I wasn't going to sell until these stocks just shot out the gate mpaka I'm like why sit on AOIFF money when you can more than double it? Check out FNMA and FMCC up over 1,300% in the last 3 months! I have less than 10 minutes to make a decision.
http://finance.yahoo.com...e=off;source=undefined;

http://finance.yahoo.com...le=off;source=undefined;
Nabwire
#877 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 4:23:14 PM

Thanks ycsun, that puts stuff into perspective but 2 weeks is a long time away!
#878 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 6:36:16 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Thanks ycsun, that puts stuff into perspective but 2 weeks is a long time away!

Have you?
Nabwire
#879 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 7:17:42 PM

I chickened out and thank God I did! The stock was up 24% at the open, then 2 hours later it was down 50%, talk about heart attack...LOL, now its down about 20% but Mungu ameniambia nisiweke all my eggs in one basket!So sijaongeza, hope I wont regret #swimmingwithsharks
#880 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2013 7:17:54 PM

Nabwire, how much are they up since you disposed of Simba?