Culture
Am growing old....Need a good school for my junior 3 years old
maligumu wrote:Any idea on good schools around Mombasa road near South B plus the cost . Zaidia. Visit St. Bhakita, next to Highway Secondary and tell us what you think... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Anyone planning to enrol their kids in a good school please start the search early. I want to enrol my kid at St. Bakhita this coming January but have been informed that the class is already full. I am on the waiting list. Very discouraging indeed. Anyone have any idea of another one(kindergarten) in the Buruburu, South B, South C area?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
freiks wrote:Kusadikika wrote:A 3 year old should be in the school of life. In this school he needs no teachers. He needs to learn how the wind feels in his face when he runs. He needs to learn to fall and get up and ride a bicycle and play in the mud. He needs to find out whether he can drink directly from the rain by standing outside and opening his mouth while facing heaven. He needs to learn what hurts by walking out barefoot and stubing his big toe on a rock and then watch it bleed and wonder if it will ever stop.......... yes he needs to wonder if the pain will ever stop and feel the relief when it does. He needs to think he can fly and actually try doing it. He needs to think he is strong when he sees you lifting something heavy. He needs to think he can hide behind a blade of glass and nobody can see him. He needs to discover that sugar is sweet and salt is not. He may want to taste urine and put beans in his nose and why not??
I say these are important studies and this is the time to learn them. Do not rob a 3 year old of a valuable education by taking him to school. A 3 year old is not ready to be taught he needs to left alone to discover. Go home and let him tell you what he has learnt. Not many will agree with me but I believe all formal education below the age of 6 is a waste of time and actually detrimental to the development of the child. Let the child be a child. I went through this and i still value it too much but imagine i was in those jungles when it rains i was happy to sleep on rocks like a lizard coz of its warmth, it went on like that and i was so happy for the nature. Many years later i went to those areas and found that all the bushes/land has been subdivided and all guys are hanging on their title deeds....Where do you want my child to do those things. We only live in a gated community where no kid speaks vernacular and when my freiky pricks another kid their parents bring me more problems than i have ever had. In our time if i beat other kids i was referred as the hero of the village and all the small girls wanted to be around me for protection. Let me take him to school How soon can someone start looking for a school? Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
dossy7 wrote: How soon can someone start looking for a school?
Immediately after conception. The queues are getting worse. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Kusadikika wrote:freiks wrote: I went through this and i still value it too much but imagine i was in those jungles when it rains i was happy to sleep on rocks like a lizard coz of its warmth, it went on like that and i was so happy for the nature. Many years later i went to those areas and found that all the bushes/land has been subdivided and all guys are hanging on their title deeds....Where do you want my child to do those things. We only live in a gated community where no kid speaks vernacular and when my freiky pricks another kid their parents bring me more problems than i have ever had. In our time if i beat other kids i was referred as the hero of the village and all the small girls wanted to be around me for protection. Let me take him to school
I feel you man. Times have truly changed but even as you look for a school please look for a school with more playground and playthings than books. Let there be few teachers and many kids and if you find one that gives homework to a 3 year old run away from that school. Good luck. @Kusadikika. I couldn't agree more. Mine ain't going to school until 4 years. In the meantime, I'm still searching for that rather elusive no-homework-for-toddlers school on mombasa road.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
essyk wrote:dossy7 wrote: How soon can someone start looking for a school?
Immediately after conception. The queues are getting worse. Thanks essyk guess I should also start now since Dossy7let is 15months old. Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
this "private" "good" school thing is making a fool out of many people, take your child to the nearest public school, especially in Nairobi, the public/council schools are good enough.
unless you are rich or ... enough to hand hold your kid throughout life, then you are much better of in the public school - especially of you would like them to join a public high school, with all the quotas in admission you will be lucky if your kid manages to get into a decent high school from an academy
essyk wrote:dossy7 wrote: How soon can someone start looking for a school?
Immediately after conception.The queues are getting worse.
So how many Alumnis of St. Bakhita do we have at the helm of our Corporates?
mukiha wrote:maligumu wrote:Any idea on good schools around Mombasa road near South B plus the cost . Zaidia. Visit St. Bhakita, next to Highway Secondary and tell us what you think... St. Bhakita is very good, lakini amechelewa...if u get a chance it will be out of sheer luck "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:this "private" "good" school thing is making a fool out of many people, take your child to the nearest public school, especially in Nairobi, the public/council schools are good enough.
unless you are rich or ... enough to hand hold your kid throughout life, then you are much better of in the public school - especially of you would like them to join a public high school, with all the quotas in admission you will be lucky if your kid manages to get into a decent high school from an academy Thing is Ministry of Education keeps shifting goalposts coz they implement policies that are not well thought Soon you will hear alot of noise regarding the education act currently in parliament. Lord, thank you!
Delete. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Any reviews on Saint mary's sports view kasarani?
mapozi wrote:Anyone planning to enrol their kids in a good school please start the search early. I want to enrol my kid at St. Bakhita this coming January but have been informed that the class is already full. I am on the waiting list. Very discouraging indeed. Anyone have any idea of another one(kindergarten) in the Buruburu, South B, South C area? You can try Moi Educational in nrb west. The earlier the better. getting a vacacy in that school is not easy.
So recently I drive around Nairobi schools near where I live looking for a slot for a 3 year old next year. School fees averaging 45-50k. When did baby class/Kindergarten fees become more expensive than university? We need to start a Wazua Academy at this rate. The returns might ne better than the rates at the blue section currently.
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
washiku wrote:So recently I drive around Nairobi schools near where I live looking for a slot for a 3 year old next year. School fees averaging 45-50k. When did baby class/Kindergarten fees become more expensive than university? We need to start a Wazua Academy at this rate. The returns might ne better than the rates at the blue section currently. Am in.
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
washiku wrote:So recently I drive around Nairobi schools near where I live looking for a slot for a 3 year old next year. School fees averaging 45-50k. When did baby class/Kindergarten fees become more expensive than university? We need to start a Wazua Academy at this rate. The returns might ne better than the rates at the blue section currently. Did you drive to the nearby slum area? Per term? Is that inclusive of everything?Am in.
washiku wrote:So recently I drive around Nairobi schools near where I live looking for a slot for a 3 year old next year. School fees averaging 45-50k. When did baby class/Kindergarten fees become more expensive than university? We need to start a Wazua Academy at this rate. The returns might ne better than the rates at the blue section currently. Time flies Yaani you got married, ukaweka bun sahizi mtoto ako 3 years old yet I'm still usered? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Culture
Am growing old....Need a good school for my junior 3 years old