wazua Fri, Jan 17, 2025

which one?
Mainat
#21 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:31:41 PM

Are you wanting to read CFA to help you with stock investing or doing stock investment to help you with CFA?

Certificate ni kitu kizuri. Invest now for the future...
Sehemu ndio nyumba
wilyum
#22 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:41:31 PM

@mainat, read CFA for stock investing. am not interested in certificates. got enough for myself already in my field.
#23 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:42:03 PM

wilyum wrote:
with a 100k, i can pick some counters at nse or go for CFA level 1 at strathmore.

@stockmaster,@guru267, @hisah @mwekezaji, @the deal, @young

what would you advise??

You do CFA... Your salary will go up by 100k.which you can then use to invest!

But I doubt 100k can get you a CFA level 1..

I think it cost $1,500 just to register for the first exams!!
wilyum
#24 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 1:50:30 PM

@guru267, thxs bt nimesema, the course has no relation to my career.
the deal
#25 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 3:21:29 PM

wilyum wrote:
@guru267, thxs bt nimesema, the course has no relation to my career.

Doing CFA means a career change ama you want to do it for fun? Like @rollout said putting money in CFA 1 does not guarantee a 100% gain cos the probability of you failing CFA 1 is 1 but if you put the money in a good stock the probability of you having 200K is 1...enough to pay for CFA 1 and CFA 1 if you fail...considering CFA has no relation to your career the chances of you failing and losing the entire 100K are high compared to you buying a stock...so my suggestion is put the money in a stock & see if you can pay CFA 1 & 2 with your initial capital...there is no need to start CFA then fail to complete because of money issues or because of poor academic perfomance...meanwhile continue with your other career...FYI I'm a Doctor by profession...Ok soon to be.
young
#26 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 3:31:09 PM

Go for stocks, but be careful on your choices.
Invest only in blue chips.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Rollout
#27 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 4:18:48 PM

guru267 wrote:
wilyum wrote:
with a 100k, i can pick some counters at nse or go for CFA level 1 at strathmore.

what would you advise??

I don't think anyone will give a salary increase of 100k just because you pass CFA 1, let's be real, there are alot of people who have passed all the three levels and still make small money! I have a CFA and yes, CFA alone is not of much value.
#28 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 6:01:56 PM

Rollout wrote:
guru267 wrote:
wilyum wrote:

what would you advise??

I don't think anyone will give a salary increase of 100k just because you pass CFA 1, let's be real, there are alot of people who have passed all the three levels and still make small money! I have a CFA and yes, CFA alone is not of much value.

If I'm a dealer at one of Kenya's banks don't I have a chance of boosting my bonuses by acquiring a CFA level 1 if I only had a Bcom before with the new knowledge I have acquired??
Rollout
#29 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 6:28:46 PM

guru267 wrote:
Rollout wrote:
guru267 wrote:
wilyum wrote:

what would you advise??

If I'm a dealer at one of Kenya's banks don't I have a chance of boosting my bonuses by acquiring a CFA level 1 if I only had a Bcom before with the new knowledge I have acquired??

If you are a dealer at one of any country's bank, you bonuses will most likely depend on your performance not education/CFA, education might get you inside but performance will give you promotions and bonuses. If you expect your boss to call you and give you a bonus because you passed CFA 1 then you do not live in the real world, however he will congratulate you just the way he would if you get a baby or get married!
#30 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 8:16:06 PM

im sure jamaa imeuliza swali sasa amechanganyikiwa

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#31 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 9:38:01 PM

Buy STOCKS! if that CFA thing has nothing to do with your current profession.