wazua Wed, Nov 20, 2024

284 Pages«<165166167168169>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
mwekez@ji
#3321 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 10:55:25 AM

>>>How to tell the stock market has bottomed out. >>> Treasury securities interest rates decline further and expectation of further decline maintained >>> For the 5th straight auction, short-term gilt rates declined weighed down by high demand. In this week’s auction, the 182 day T-Bill shaved off a further 55bp to 9.43% a level last seen in January. Performance rate on the instrument remained high at 268%. Also on auction this week was the 364 T-bill. The weighted average rate of accepted bids on this paper declined by 105bp, on the back of a 472% performance rate. The highlight of the week was the auction of the re-opened 20 year paper at a coupon of 12%. Against the target KES 10bn on offer, the paper attracted bids of KES 25.88bn at a market average weighted rate of 13.31%, down 57bp. The weighted average rate of accepted bids on the 20 year declined 71bp to 12.981% (interestingly, notwithstanding the disparity between the market average bid rate and the accepted rate, CBK was able to fully fill up the offer). As at start of trading today, the 20 year has traded at levels of 12.2%, adding further impetus to markets expectation of further decline in rates. (Central Bank of Kenya, Standard Investment Bank)
kazee
#3322 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:26:39 AM

hisah wrote:
EABL melt up continues. Trades @410. Next aim 500!?

@Hisah Appears like it has finally topped out at 420?
hisah
#3323 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:29:26 AM

kazee wrote:
hisah wrote:
EABL melt up continues. Trades @410. Next aim 500!?

@Hisah Appears like it has finally topped out at 420?

Taking breather. The melt up will resume. Very similar to Bralirwa.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#3324 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:33:26 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
>>>How to tell the stock market has bottomed out. >>> Treasury securities interest rates decline further and expectation of further decline maintained >>> For the 5th straight auction, short-term gilt rates declined weighed down by high demand. In this week’s auction, the 182 day T-Bill shaved off a further 55bp to 9.43% a level last seen in January. Performance rate on the instrument remained high at 268%. Also on auction this week was the 364 T-bill. The weighted average rate of accepted bids on this paper declined by 105bp, on the back of a 472% performance rate. The highlight of the week was the auction of the re-opened 20 year paper at a coupon of 12%. Against the target KES 10bn on offer, the paper attracted bids of KES 25.88bn at a market average weighted rate of 13.31%, down 57bp. The weighted average rate of accepted bids on the 20 year declined 71bp to 12.981% (interestingly, notwithstanding the disparity between the market average bid rate and the accepted rate, CBK was able to fully fill up the offer). As at start of trading today, the 20 year has traded at levels of 12.2%, adding further impetus to markets expectation of further decline in rates. (Central Bank of Kenya, Standard Investment Bank)

Too much liquid in money markets. Good for CBK to raise funds. Those rates are definitely going down.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji
#3325 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:47:32 AM

hisah wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

Too much liquid in money markets. Good for CBK to raise funds. Those rates are definitely going down.

The liquidity is also good for stock market. smile ... Further interest rate melt down is more music to the stock market smile smile
mwekez@ji
#3326 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:52:27 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
@murchr, it would be best if you supported your hypothesis preferably with numbers. .... On matter of morning Vs afternoon, i can tell that afternoons are by and large more active coz both europeans and americans are in the market in the afternoons

@Mwekez@ji next time the server crashes ill inform you na tutaangalia volumes.. Sawa??

Sawaz ...

@Mwekez@ji it also looks like we are down this morning though no officials communications from management!

Check volumes

Checking. Current Turnover, KES 39.83M - 10.20am

...KES 50.54M, 10.53am

...KES 76.81M, 11.52am
mwekez@ji
#3327 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 12:51:21 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
@murchr, it would be best if you supported your hypothesis preferably with numbers. .... On matter of morning Vs afternoon, i can tell that afternoons are by and large more active coz both europeans and americans are in the market in the afternoons

@Mwekez@ji next time the server crashes ill inform you na tutaangalia volumes.. Sawa??

Sawaz ...

@Mwekez@ji it also looks like we are down this morning though no officials communications from management!

Check volumes

...KES 50.54M, 10.53am

...KES 76.81M, 11.52am

...KES 112.45M 12.51pm
mkeiyd
#3328 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 12:52:04 PM

guru267 wrote:

Check volumes

Word out is, they are having issues with their system.
mwekez@ji
#3329 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:51:12 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Check volumes

Does this mean that all you D&B clients cannot execute your deals (even email/hardcopy orders)
mwekez@ji
#3330 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 1:52:57 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

Sawaz ...

Check volumes

...KES 50.54M, 10.53am

...KES 76.81M, 11.52am

...KES 112.45M, 12.51pm

...KES 182.85M, 01.52pm
mkeiyd
#3331 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:16:22 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Check volumes

Does this mean that all you D&B clients cannot execute your deals (even email/hardcopy orders)

@mwekez@ji, Can but it's more convenient doing it online,not unless the orders are extremely urgent.
mwekez@ji
#3332 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 2:24:00 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Check volumes

@mwekez@ji, Can but it's more convenient doing it online,not unless the orders are extremely urgent.

In that case i dont think the market turnover is significantly affected by this
#3333 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:14:06 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Check volumes

In that case i dont think the market turnover is significantly affected by this

@Mwekez@ji haven't you seen the evidence?? We were back online at 2.30pm Sad

Don't hard copy orders have a one day lag?? Why would I place a hard copy order if I expect to trade online the next day?
mwekez@ji
#3334 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:17:35 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

Sawaz ...

Check volumes

...KES 50.54M, 10.53am

...KES 76.81M, 11.52am

...KES 112.45M, 12.51pm

...KES 182.85M, 01.52pm

...KES 314.24M, 03.00pm

Notice turnover increased at an increasing rate with a climax in the final trading hour. > morning Vs afternoon hypothesis confirmed. >on D&B, my conclusion on #post3332
mwekez@ji
#3335 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 3:21:20 PM

guru267 wrote:
Don't hard copy orders have a one day lag?? Why would I place a hard copy order if I expect to trade online the next day?

Email orders dont have a lag, right?
mkeiyd
#3336 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:03:49 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Email orders dont have a lag, right?

@mwekez@ji, To whom are the emails to be send to? If its the same D&B, they had the same system issues even at their offices in the morning.
#3337 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:08:22 PM

Mwekez@ji, once your used to clicking and watching as your order goes through emailing becomes very boring, unless you really really want to sell. Iko down tena, that IT guy must really be scratching his head.
#3338 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:14:33 PM

indeed trully boring
#3339 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:19:27 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

...KES 182.85M, 01.52pm

...KES 314.24M, 03.00pm

Notice turnover increased at an increasing rate with a climax in the final trading hour. > morning Vs afternoon hypothesis confirmed. >on D&B, my conclusion on #post3332

@Mwekez@ji since you have refused to see wacha tu nikuoneshe!!

I told you dyer and Blair was switched back on at between 2.15pm and 2.30pm... The difference in volume between 1.52pm and 3.00pm is a whopping 132M..

And if we were not switched back on I doubt we would have crossed 250M in volume at the NSE today...

What more evidence do you need??
jerry
#3340 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:39:13 PM

kyt wrote:
indeed trully boring

How is CFC's online platform?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.