wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

conmen on the loose
#21 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2013 11:10:11 AM

livie wrote:
These guys have upped their game by acquiring mpesa agent lines and registering their names the way they know they will con you. A lady received those annoying sms from someone claiming to be working for bank of baroda foreign transfers dept. His name was paul and to entrap her the guy sent her kes.100 via a REAL m-pesa transfer.

The m-pesa message read " you have received kes75 from paul baroda". Ati the 75 bob was to pay for stamp duty that the bank had forgotten to include when remitting her 20,000 dollars. By the time she realised it was a con, she had sent over kes.100,000. She went to bank of baroda and on being told there is no paul there, she almost fainted.

break it down please....

http://wazua.co.ke/forum...px?g=profile&u=5817
#22 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2013 8:24:37 PM

livie wrote:
These guys have upped their game by acquiring mpesa agent lines and registering their names the way they know they will con you. A lady received those annoying sms from someone claiming to be working for bank of baroda foreign transfers dept. His name was paul and to entrap her the guy sent her kes.100 via a REAL m-pesa transfer.

The m-pesa message read " you have received kes75 from paul baroda". Ati the 75 bob was to pay for stamp duty that the bank had forgotten to include when remitting her 20,000 dollars. By the time she realised it was a con, she had sent over kes.100,000. She went to bank of baroda and on being told there is no paul there, she almost fainted.

break it down please....

???¿¿
#23 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 12:10:26 PM

Mastermind wrote:
livie wrote:

break it down please....

Pole,i missed it.Here it is!!!!!
???¿¿

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=20903
#20 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 2:08:27 PM

it is true safaricom is encouraging mpesa fraud.i applied for a job with a leading company and was interviewed.days later i received a call from someone claiming to be the chairman of the company.he told me he was a bit down financially but would push for my appointment if i facilitated him with 100k.in my wisdom i used my watchman's line to send him 500 bob and indeed i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.was excited and send 100k and i received a confirmation message with the chairman's name.a week later i bump into the real chairman in united kenya club and after introduction i realize he does not even know me and was not the one i send cash to.i call the fake chairman immediately with my phone on handsfree and he picks the call and says how he i am going to get the job and should send him 50k to buy other directors lunch.to cut the long story short the guy registered an mpesa line in the chairman's name and swindled several people.it should be a requirement for strict kyc before opening a mpesa account i.e passport photo,id copy,utility bill etc.
chiaroscuro
#24 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 1:44:42 PM

The same old trick:

Number: +254788123936
Content:
SAFARICOM: you have won kshs.100,000 in our ongoing promotion that is Tetemesha na safaricom. For more information call 000788123840 now. Thenk you.
Time: 19/05/2013 11:49:26

Guy can't even spell; ati "Thenk you"!!!

I sent the message back to him with no comment.
anasazi
#25 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 2:02:57 PM

LOL @mawinder serves you right. Canvassing for a job - really? Shame on you! Na unajianika tu hapa! NKT
Form is temporary, class is permanent
anasazi
#26 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 2:08:33 PM

Nowadays they even say - Do not pay anything for your prize money! I got a text last week that nimeshinda 500k
Form is temporary, class is permanent