wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

17 Pages«<678910>»
How did you make your first Kes million?
#141 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2013 4:17:01 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Does a million kshs still have allure and entice it enjoyed few years ago?
How you got your first 5 million kshs .....

How did you make your first?
Ngong
#142 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2013 9:11:46 PM

jerry wrote:
Ngong wrote:
How is forex biz done?
Buy dollar sell dollar kind of thing?

If you have Kes think of the others as commodities you want to buy and sell later!

Thanks
Then those are very tiny margins
jerry
#143 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2013 11:31:29 PM

Ngong wrote:
jerry wrote:
Ngong wrote:
How is forex biz done?

If you have Kes think of the others as commodities you want to buy and sell later!

Thanks

Welcome. You can check more info by experts in a forex dedicated thread. Margins may seem low but I'm sure pple make a living on forex.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
keanute
#144 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 8:02:06 AM

Hi all,

Probably not as exciting as some of the respondents above but will gladly share my experience.

Personally, it started with an understanding of my core weakness and leveraging on my strengths as well as those of my wife. My acquisitions stem from 100% employment, where I have been for close to 10 years now. My first salary was 14K and I have been fortunate to exceed that over the years significantly through hard work and a string of promotions. I'm not one of those people who have "maintained the same lifestyle" and by consequence, I suppose I could have been much further if I did. However, I believe that everything happens for a reason and is part of God's plan for our lives. I've been fortunate in many ways and I only hope I can live up to God's expectation of me in helping others.

My core weakness has always been saving money; I have never been able to mend that hole. I live within my means, but that usually results in the money running out mid-month - a curse typically associated with the middle class. Having made this early diagnosis, I joined the company SACCO and had the cash deducted from source. This was good because it meant that I just needed to focus on managing my expenses to support an increase in my monthly contributions upwards (never downwards). I re-invested my annual dividends and delayed borrowing deliberately to allow for the money to accumulate. From there I began to take an interest in the NSE and real estate. I did (and still do) a lot of reading on both subjects as well as learnt how to acquire credible knowledge from others. On the NSE, I learnt not to trust people with investing my money; as a result I don't do mutual funds, unit trusts etc because (i) the companies make a lot more money than they will ever give you and (ii) the same information they use is freely available for all and it doesn't take a CFA to see a good investment. However, I still consulted widely and as a result have been investing consistently (monthly) in 3 counters with a long-term view (20-years). On real estate, I adopted the philosophy of acquiring the largest piece of property I could afford at the cheapest price. My logic has been that Kenya's boundaries are not growing, so land is finite and with each passing generation (read population growth), property is being subdivided. So why should I buy an 1/8th when I can buy 5 or 10 acres for the same price? The answer to that depends on your objectives because some people "flip" land to increase their net worth. I cannot fault them, because they inadvertently help my land value appreciate substantially.

I discovered that most Kenyans aren't willing to be patient, yet wealth is a factor of numbers and time. Sometimes you get lucky and it helps accelerate your goal, other times you gnash and you have to re-adjust QUICKLY so as not to lose opportunities that could pass you in your moment of despair.

With stocks, I got a break with the Kengen IPO - as did many other Kenyans. I bought 80K worth and sold off to net >200K. I then bought Stanbic Uganda shares at IPO for 2.80/= with the entire amount, which I hold to this day. I also bought Bralirwa at IPO for 19/=. The 3 counters I have been investing in every month with a 20-year horizon are NIC, Safaricom & more recently Kengen. On real estate, I borrowed against my SACCO savings to buy my first piece of land, which was 5-acres in Kiserian for a grand total of 1.2M about 5 years ago. With my wife, we have an apartment in Westlands that we acquired "off-plan" at 7M on mortgage and 12 acres in Konza. This is in addition to other investments puts our estimated current net worth at 65M.

I do not claim any exceptional knowledge and I'm certainly nowhere near my goal but I thank God for the wisdom in acquiring what I have, I thank God for my wife and what we share and pray for continued wisdom to make the right choices.

My last appeal to all is in helping others. It's inexplicable but the more generous you are, the more opportunity favours you. It was said in church once that you cannot out-give God and He always repays His dues. Of course the caveat here is that you do not give in the anticipation of a return; you give with your whole heart and God rewards your motive.

I hope this benefits someone. Thanks for reading.
tinker
#145 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 11:25:20 AM

keanute wrote:
....I just needed to focus on managing my expenses to support an increase in my monthly contributions upwards (never downwards).

I still consulted widely and as a result have been investing consistently (monthly) in 3 counters with a long-term view (20-years).

On real estate, I adopted the philosophy of acquiring the largest piece of property I could afford at the cheapest price. ....why should I buy an 1/8th when I can buy 5 or 10 acres for the same price?

@Keanute,..you sound very real, and have no doubt that this has gone along way to encourage me and others like me. I must say that am encouraged by your words such as "never downward, investing monthly and why buy an 1/8th when you can buy 5 acres @ same price".
Ubarikiwe zaidi.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#146 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 1:54:53 PM

keanute wrote:
Hi all,

Probably not as exciting as some of the respondents above but will gladly share my experience.

Personally, it started with an understanding of my core weakness and leveraging on my strengths as well as those of my wife. My acquisitions stem from 100% employment, where I have been for close to 10 years now. My first salary was 14K and I have been fortunate to exceed that over the years significantly through hard work and a string of promotions. I'm not one of those people who have "maintained the same lifestyle" and by consequence, I suppose I could have been much further if I did. However, I believe that everything happens for a reason and is part of God's plan for our lives. I've been fortunate in many ways and I only hope I can live up to God's expectation of me in helping others.

My core weakness has always been saving money; I have never been able to mend that hole. I live within my means, but that usually results in the money running out mid-month - a curse typically associated with the middle class. Having made this early diagnosis, I joined the company SACCO and had the cash deducted from source. This was good because it meant that I just needed to focus on managing my expenses to support an increase in my monthly contributions upwards (never downwards). I re-invested my annual dividends and delayed borrowing deliberately to allow for the money to accumulate. From there I began to take an interest in the NSE and real estate. I did (and still do) a lot of reading on both subjects as well as learnt how to acquire credible knowledge from others. On the NSE, I learnt not to trust people with investing my money; as a result I don't do mutual funds, unit trusts etc because (i) the companies make a lot more money than they will ever give you and (ii) the same information they use is freely available for all and it doesn't take a CFA to see a good investment. However, I still consulted widely and as a result have been investing consistently (monthly) in 3 counters with a long-term view (20-years). On real estate, I adopted the philosophy of acquiring the largest piece of property I could afford at the cheapest price. My logic has been that Kenya's boundaries are not growing, so land is finite and with each passing generation (read population growth), property is being subdivided. So why should I buy an 1/8th when I can buy 5 or 10 acres for the same price? The answer to that depends on your objectives because some people "flip" land to increase their net worth. I cannot fault them, because they inadvertently help my land value appreciate substantially.

I discovered that most Kenyans aren't willing to be patient, yet wealth is a factor of numbers and time. Sometimes you get lucky and it helps accelerate your goal, other times you gnash and you have to re-adjust QUICKLY so as not to lose opportunities that could pass you in your moment of despair.

With stocks, I got a break with the Kengen IPO - as did many other Kenyans. I bought 80K worth and sold off to net >200K. I then bought Stanbic Uganda shares at IPO for 2.80/= with the entire amount, which I hold to this day. I also bought Bralirwa at IPO for 19/=. The 3 counters I have been investing in every month with a 20-year horizon are NIC, Safaricom & more recently Kengen. On real estate, I borrowed against my SACCO savings to buy my first piece of land, which was 5-acres in Kiserian for a grand total of 1.2M about 5 years ago. With my wife, we have an apartment in Westlands that we acquired "off-plan" at 7M on mortgage and 12 acres in Konza. This is in addition to other investments puts our estimated current net worth at 65M.

I do not claim any exceptional knowledge and I'm certainly nowhere near my goal but I thank God for the wisdom in acquiring what I have, I thank God for my wife and what we share and pray for continued wisdom to make the right choices.

My last appeal to all is in helping others. It's inexplicable but the more generous you are, the more opportunity favours you. It was said in church once that you cannot out-give God and He always repays His dues. Of course the caveat here is that you do not give in the anticipation of a return; you give with your whole heart and God rewards your motive.

thanks keanute.. I am following more or less, the same path

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
keanute
#147 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 3:48:13 PM

Thank you Obiero & Tinker.
Dod
#148 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 4:06:52 PM

keanute wrote:
Hi all,

Very inspiring!
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#149 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 5:18:39 PM

Its about time lady admin added a like button, @keanute congratulations
Kenyan Oracle
#150 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 6:13:24 PM

@Keanute. Very real and inspiring. Many of us can identify with this. Be blessed
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#151 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 7:49:02 PM

This thread is very inspiring and has made me resolve something.

Mine started as a hobby ie baking and selling to friends as soon as I left school.
I was so passionate about it and nothing could distract me from it.I also learned the principles of saving around this time.

Saved enough,bought 2 small second hand fridges,jua kali oven and managed to open a small cafe which brought me more clients.I only used to sell,tea,coffee,samosas and mahamri plus lots of other snacks and icecream for school going kids.
I actually sold small snacks which they couldn't get at shops around to beat competition. In short,bringing biashara street,lyons maid etc to their doorstep.
(I also chose mahamri cz everyone was busy with mandazis and I wanted to be unique).Hata simsim I made by boiling sugar and frying the seeds.
Washing the dish was stress cz boiled and hardened sugar mixed with sim sim is not easy to get rid off.
I sold ice za 5 bob and made them different from the rest as far as appearance was concerned to entice.

Well as a result I got a nice contract to supply beverage and meals to a great company every morning and anytime they had meetings cz of quality service-
kumbe they used to pass by every morning and take mahamri's /tea not without me knowing that they were assessing to see how good I was.
Workload increased when they asked me to supply them with food as well and so I had to hire 3 girls and a bike guy to help me.
Lol one of them was good at eating all the time.(loss).
I really toiled hard, because I would get my supplies from different shops around town.
From Papers,plastics,chocolates.I was a weekly visitor on Biashara and River road hustling.
I later did small farming,trying to utilize what was around me.Beetroot,and God knows what.Anything simple that could be planted I tried.
I also played around with chocolate recipes as well.
Jack of all trades. That is how.

I will do this again when I retire.

Nabwire
#152 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 8:43:52 PM

Thanks for sharing Keanute and Essyk!
Ngong
#153 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 9:24:14 PM

This thread is very inspiring and has made me resolve something.

Mine started as a hobby ie baking and selling to friends as soon as I left school.
I was so passionate about it and nothing could distract me from it.I also learned the principles of saving around this time.

Saved enough,bought 2 small second hand fridges,jua kali oven and managed to open a small cafe which brought me more clients.I only used to sell,tea,coffee,samosas and mahamri plus lots of other snacks and icecream for school going kids.
I actually sold small snacks which they couldn't get at shops around to beat competition. In short,bringing biashara street,lyons maid etc to their doorstep.
(I also chose mahamri cz everyone was busy with mandazis and I wanted to be unique).Hata simsim I made by boiling sugar and frying the seeds.
Washing the dish was stress cz boiled and hardened sugar mixed with sim sim is not easy to get rid off.
I sold ice za 5 bob and made them different from the rest as far as appearance was concerned to entice.

Well as a result I got a nice contract to supply beverage and meals to a great company every morning and anytime they had meetings cz of quality service-
kumbe they used to pass by every morning and take mahamri's /tea not without me knowing that they were assessing to see how good I was.
Workload increased when they asked me to supply them with food as well and so I had to hire 3 girls and a bike guy to help me.
Lol one of them was good at eating all the time.(loss).
I really toiled hard, because I would get my supplies from different shops around town.
From Papers,plastics,chocolates.I was a weekly visitor on Biashara and River road hustling.
I later did small farming,trying to utilize what was around me.Beetroot,and God knows what.Anything simple that could be planted I tried.
I also played around with chocolate recipes as well.
Jack of all trades. That is how.

I will do this again when I retire.

You mean you don't do this now?
What anti climax[?]!!
Ngong
#154 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 9:30:11 PM

Used to see a million or neighborhood when in line for my salary[ksh 555].
Not lucky to see it anymore!
#155 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 9:36:36 PM

@ ngong.

I sold it after I relocated.Managing a cafe where cash is handled every minute needs direct and strict supervision.It was difficult to do it remotely.
The person I sold it to however failed to maintain the same standard,so he lost the contract and closed shop.He failed to keep the momentum and speed.
I had the same clients calling me out from far but it was impossible.
I miss it but am fully employed.

Ngong
#156 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 9:44:00 PM

jerry wrote:
Ngong wrote:
jerry wrote:
Ngong wrote:
How is forex biz done?

Thanks

Welcome. You can check more info by experts in a forex dedicated thread. Margins may seem low but I'm sure pple make a living on forex.

Ah! huko huwa sishiki kitu.
Those guys are advanced,the graghs with shoulders and heads spin my head like birori!smile

I get payed by dollar but don't know how to maximize on this.
Prime
#157 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 3:58:08 PM

@Essyk

You made a milli in something you took pride in then sold it off for employment? is employment as rewarding?
S.Mutaga III
#158 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 5:53:55 PM

If I am earning six figures in campus...I see a milli in a few months...lets just say I took an opportunity with both handssmile...wazua has been of great help though...the earnings are not quality, so I need business ideas for 500k...because I know competition will set in and reduce my margins...its just a matter of time
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#159 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:29:56 AM

Prime wrote:
@Essyk

You made a milli in something you took pride in then sold it off for employment? is employment as rewarding?

Nope.I sold it cz I couldn't manage it from far.
There's a way you psychologically manage a businees you have personally built from scratch.
It's not all about money.Infact what keeps it going is that zeal and the good relationship built between your clients and suppliers.

A business from my exp is like the human body.
It has a heartbeat,veins,arteries,legs etc, which must continously be fed,failure to which it starts thinning.
The person I sold it to did not understand that bit and ran it juakali style.
#160 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:49:50 AM

Prime wrote:
@Essyk

Nope.I sold it cz I couldn't manage it from far.
There's a way you psychologically manage a businees you have personally built from scratch.
It's not all about money.Infact what keeps it going is that zeal and the good relationship built between your clients and suppliers.

A business from my exp is like the human body.
It has a heartbeat,veins,arteries,legs etc, which must continously be fed,failure to which it starts thinning.
The person I sold it to did not understand that bit and ran it juakali style.

not to dispute the personal touch that a business requires - but for a business to thrive it needs independence from the owner especially when it comes to the day to day operations, that way it is easy to grow and expand it.