wazua Fri, Jan 17, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
Safaricom FY 2012-2013 results PBT up 47%
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 11:30:27 AM

The optimist wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Safaricom is now trading at a P/E of 16,EABL at a P/E of 22.
That is very high.
Equity Bank and KCB are trading at P/E of about 10.
Now imagine if KCB and Equity were trading at similar P/Es to Safaricom and EABL what their share price would have been.
@VituVingiSana;I concur with you look elsewhere at counters with PERs of less than 10 and with potential for growth in the future.

@Ericsson @VV Which counters would you suggest for now
Coop & HFCK at today's prices.
#42 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 12:15:45 PM

Solid demand..8bob a must.
chiaroscuro
#43 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 10:57:56 AM

The top 2 shareholders have 30billion out of the 40bn shares. The remaining 10bn are in the hands of some 720,000 minorities. It becomes very difficult for the price to sustain a rally.

That is a bad thing for short-term speculators but very good for long term investors - they can buy regular monthly chunks without worrying about huge price jumps.
jerry
#44 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 12:21:53 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Solid demand..8bob a must.

In september as bks close!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#45 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2013 10:55:37 PM

Lively interview on The Trend between Larry Madowo and Bob Collymore.
Cde Monomotapa
#46 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2013 1:41:35 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Caught it too. 'iko kitu'
mwekez@ji
#47 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2013 1:12:34 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Caught it too. 'iko kitu'

'iko nini'
mwekez@ji
#48 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2013 1:24:28 PM

Why Safaricom is keen on growing data usage, and a snapshot of MSwari - Safaricom CEO Bob Collymore answers

How do you see proportion of voice and non-voice revenues?

The proportion of voice to total revenues has steadily been going down over the years. It was 65 per cent last in 2012 and is now at 62 per cent. It probably will go down further to 60 per cent this year.

Inevitably over time, we may have voice revenues account for less than half of revenues, but we can’t tell when.

But voice will not decline. Voice is growing at a slower rate than non-voice streams. Voice grew 13 per cent compared to non-voice revenues which grew 29 per cent to account for 33 per cent of total revenue.

M-Pesa grew by 29 per cent, SMS 30 per cent, mobile data 21 per cent and fixed service 54 per cent. That means we need to innovate more products such as M-Pesa, data and SMS.

What is your plan in growing mobile data revenues?

When a consumer upgrades from using a feature phone to a smart phone, the (average revenue per user) ARPU more than doubles from Sh500 to Sh1,200 the first time the consumer moves.

This is a one-time ARPU change. Moving on, the spend may not alter much. Upgrading customers to smartphones helps drive other streams such as data and SMS.

We have managed to grow the number of smartphones in our network from 400,000 to 1.3 million last year. We spent a total of Sh400 million to subsidise the devices.

We are creating the Safaricom appstore to have locally relevant applications for our users. We will be holding the Safaricom AppStar competition to drive and reward innovations in mobile applications.

Give an update on your metro fibre network

We have just begun a five year programme to build our nationwide metro fibre network with the goal being to connect all of our metro sites and customer offices to fibre. It is a Sh10 billion project.

So far we have done 76 kilometres. It’s been a slow start because getting way leaves has been a problem. We plan to lay 550 kilometres of fibre this year. This will position us to earn more from data.

What are your revenues from M-Shwari?

We already have 1.2 million active customers using M-Shwari, but the revenue from the service is very small. It would be immaterial to include it in the financial statement.

We don’t see it as a material revenue stream for us now. It’s a long term product, and we give it 2-3 years to mature and contribute significantly to our earnings.

But for us, its value addition to M-Pesa to allow users to save, earn interest and access micro loans using their mobile phones. It’s a financial inclusion tool.

http://www.businessdailyafrica....2/-/jx0yrkz/-/index.html
hisah
#49 Posted : Sunday, May 19, 2013 11:45:48 PM

The secret to immoral profits or is it immoral profits for dummies 101 - http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/f90eal/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
chiaroscuro
#50 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 9:44:52 AM

hisah wrote:
The secret to immoral profits or is it immoral profits for dummies 101 - http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/f90eal/-/index.html

This article missed the secret.....

OR

Distribution

That is SCOM's secret from inception. Make sure services are as widely available as possible.

The other telcos in Kenya imagine that Kenyans will go to great lengths to buy cheap things: how wrong they have been!

What's the point of offering a free service 25km west of nowhere?
hisah
#51 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 10:19:34 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
hisah wrote:

This article missed the secret.....

OR

Distribution

That is SCOM's secret from inception. Make sure services are as widely available as possible.

The other telcos in Kenya imagine that Kenyans will go to great lengths to buy cheap things: how wrong they have been!

What's the point of offering a free service 25km west of nowhere?

I was being sarcastic. And yes, the writer delivered nothing to do with a secret formula in that article.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#52 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2013 10:56:12 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
hisah wrote:
A high of 7.20 today and a huge supply @7.10. Very little room to move up with that sell order. 6 days to go before results announcements.

Rosy results and it gets sold. Remember that...

We are lucky that sometimes shares behave how we expect them to. Dividends from past knowledge

Stated on May 3rd on the old Scom H1 thread.

Rosy news and selling kicks on. Though it has been on light volume.
MoneyMonger
#53 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2013 3:51:16 PM

I think this author is patching up a competition that is really weak.

"Equity Bank takes on Safaricom’s M-Pesa with new money transfer service"

http://www.standardmedia...-money-transfer-service
There is nothing as dangerous as an Idea, when there is only one Idea
#54 Posted : Sunday, May 26, 2013 9:26:58 AM

Most of the staff arent pleased with the 2% increment they received...
hisah
#55 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2013 10:42:47 PM

@philanga seems the bus in now ready to try and attempt a real break to new all time highs! Let's see how 8.15 is broken...

#56 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2013 10:49:50 PM

hisah wrote:
@philanga seems the bus in now ready to try and attempt a real break to new all time highs! Let's see how 8.15 is broken...

Is it possible?
#57 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 10:30:08 AM

It is with a heavy heart that I have finally parted ways with this stock.I know it has a bright future but for now I think it is the right time to sell.

I went through its balance sheet I could not help wonder why such a profitable company like this has current liabilities exceeding current assets i.e a Negative working capital.

and this is the reason they are giving

Working capital movement was adverse to last year due to a realignment of our capital expenditure finance
policy

I dont know If my Opinion has any weight or not but I would like the valuation Guru in here to make an independent valuation of this company and tell us if Safaricom Is not currently overvalued.
hisah
#58 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 10:31:56 AM

Broke Telkom Kenya asks taxpayers for Sh6bn to pay rising debts - http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/qc2grkz/-/index.html

Enterprise corruption at its best... Since Mar 2012 Mpesa bank has rallied hard. Now we have another pop of the same story being recycled - moving the same chairs in the same room...

Back in Mar 2012
The East African - http://www.theeastafrica.../-/lmakjrz/-/index.html

BD - http://www.businessdaily.../-/10r6ws3z/-/index.html
hisah
#59 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 11:05:12 AM

W pattern formation... Bullish pattern with a double bottom at 2.50 - 3.00 range.

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#60 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 11:48:19 AM

hisah wrote:

This one is headed places. With a broke Telkom as its competitor,it's only a matter of time before we zoom past 8. But the best moment IMHO for this gem will be in Nov as it releases its H1 results. Before that,August and September will also see some good times around this counter as a semi rush ensues for the divs ahead of book closure. For now, im happy to see it trade in the 7-7.50 range.
@SufficientlyP