wazua Fri, Jan 17, 2025

5 Pages123>»
Safaricom FY 2012-2013 results PBT up 47%
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 7:30:08 AM

#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 7:59:53 AM

@VVS So at a revised full year 2013 EPS of 0.44 the giant is priced at a P/E of 15.68

Do you see any upside maybe towards 7.50?

#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:26:05 AM

FUNKY
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:26:54 AM

DPS?
kinyash
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:29:51 AM

DPS 0.31
hisah
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:30:48 AM

Total revenue - 124.3B up 13%
PBT - 25.5B up 47%
EBITDA - 49.2 up 31%
EPS - 0.44 up 37.5%
DPS - 0.31 up 41%

All above my estimates esp DPS. Expected 25cts so 31cts is a huge plus for me smile

Voice revenue is still growing while I expected to see a flat or dip. Price war effects are now nullified. Solid double digit (28%) growth of non voice revenues (data,sms, mpesa). Other ISPs need to keep an eye on the data growth especially fixed data as the onslaught is getting strong. Free cashflow stands at 14.5B - a lot of fire power this. Mpesa revenues also brushed aside the excise tax, but still I hope gok remove this mobi cash tax when normal tax revenues get back to normal. This will enable the mobi cash tariffs to be lowered easily for broader usage impact. On the next reporting I hope they breakdown the mshwari numbers. Need to see the bolts and nuts of this product.

The muscular div hike means that mpesa bank is confident that it can now offer DPS above 30cts.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
The optimist
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:30:52 AM

[url=http://www.safaricom.co.ke/images/Downloads/Resources_Downloads/FY_2013_Results_Presentation.pdf]Link[/url]

[url=https://www.facebook.com/AdeptTranport]Adept Tranport Services[/url]
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:35:33 AM

Its good for the whole market when safcom does well.
The optimist
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:35:41 AM

The optimist wrote:
[url=http://www.safaricom.co.ke/images/Downloads/Resources_Downloads/FY_2013_Results_Presentation.pdf]Link[/url]

TOTAL REVENUE +16% to Kshs 124.3bn

VOICE REVENUE +13% to Kshs 77.7bn

NON-VOICE REVENUE +29% to Kshs 40.4bn

EBITDA +31% to Kshs 49.2bn

PROFIT BEFORE TAX +47% to Kshs 25.5bn

PROFIT AFTER TAX +38.9% to Ksh 17.54bn

FREE CASH FLOW +55% to Kshs 14.5bn

PROPOSED DIVIDEND PER SHARE+41% to Kshs 0.31
[url=https://www.facebook.com/AdeptTranport]Adept Tranport Services[/url]
Jaina
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 8:37:29 AM

Vodacom gets 4.96B and Mobitelea Bags 372M in dividends. Wow!.
Kweli NSE is not a Fish Market.

#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:00:35 AM

JESSO!!!!!

#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:05:07 AM

How much did the IEBC contribute to this profits? Point to ponder%-)
kryptonite
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:05:27 AM

Jaina wrote:
Vodacom gets 4.96B and Mobitelea Bags 372M in dividends. Wow!.
Kweli NSE is not a Fish Market.

Mobitelea cashed out awhile back.
The harder you work, the luckier you get
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:07:50 AM

fafa witu, even if I don't understand the PBT, EBITDA, EPS, DPS - at least I know the safcom guys are making lots of cash - its like kq, they were growing when other airlines in the world were falling apart - safcom is even growing its voice calls revenue.
mobile sector kuna farasi moja, the ret ni punda
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:14:28 AM

If we are not careful,kenya will revert back to mobile monopoly in future..orange money,airtel cash,yu cash have almost failed.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:19:00 AM

kyt wrote:
How much did the IEBC contribute to this profits? Point to ponder%-)

negligible...
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:26:04 AM

mlennyma wrote:
If we are not careful,kenya will revert back to mobile monopoly in future..orange money,airtel cash,yu cash have almost failed.

Why are you trying to prophesy what is common sense? I gave out my date a while ago, END OF 2015, yu, airtel and orange will be no more, unless they dupe kenyans into investing in them through an IPO.

#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:28:17 AM

mlennyma wrote:

Why are you trying to prophesy what is common sense? I gave out my date a while ago, END OF 2015, yu, airtel and orange will be no more, unless they dupe kenyans into investing in them through an IPO.

I find their approach to business wanting...
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:35:00 AM

muganda wrote:
@VVS So at a revised full year 2013 EPS of 0.44 the giant is priced at a P/E of 15.68

Do you see any upside maybe towards 7.50?

I expect the growth in EPS to continue in 2013-14 as more data is consumed, M-Pesa grows & costs are reined in. That said... I think value is tapped out. I am looking elsewhere where I can buy PERs of less than 10 with potential for growth in the future.
Ericsson
#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 14, 2013 9:46:08 AM

Safaricom is now trading at a P/E of 16,EABL at a P/E of 22.
That is very high.
Equity Bank and KCB are trading at P/E of about 10.
Now imagine if KCB and Equity were trading at similar P/Es to Safaricom and EABL what their share price would have been.
@VituVingiSana;I concur with you look elsewhere at counters with PERs of less than 10 and with potential for growth in the future.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle