wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Zuku Internet Offer
Magnetic Touch
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 7:37:00 AM

I am sure some of us may have seen the adverts for ZUKU Half price UNLIMITED Broadband: 1 Mbps @4,999,512 Kbps @ 2,999 and 256 Kbps @1,499. This offer is good if one signs up before 7th June. Zuku Customer service informed me that one has to invest another approximate Kshs 6,000 (5,800 or so) as a connection charge. Equipment consist of an outdor unit (ODU) and an indoor unit. However,the equipment will be owned by the provider not the subscriber. It sounds like a superior offer (on a value for money basis) to others in the market. But before,I rush to sign up,has anyone in this forum signed up with Zuku with this offer or even before and what insights can they share about its reliability,speed etc?

Men occasionally stumble over the truth,but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 8:32:00 AM

From what I understand,the charge is rental fees and will revert to normal prices after June.
nanfor
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 8:42:00 AM

Zuku was the fakest of the fake isp's in Kenya....... I would wait for the next offer. They will start dropping their rates in a hurry,but from my experience,don't touch that zuku company with a ten foot pole. I have horror stories galore and the worst thing is that they lie in their advertising......I would suggest you wait for the next offers from other companies.
Magnetic Touch
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 9:01:00 AM

Nanfor,thanks for your response. However,do you have any specifics on what sort of problems your acquintances faced - e.g. in terms of speed,downtime,poor customer service etc. Were the problems specific to a certain location - parts of the country? As I understand it,Zuku is an offshoot from Wananchi Online and I know a few chaps who have been with Wananchi for over 5 years and are still sticking with them.

GG,indeed the offer reverts to normal pricing after June 7th. However,if one signs up before then,you get the half price for 6 months. After 6 months,charges should then revert to normal (in theory). However,I expect that 6 months from now,rates will have fallen in any case following arrival of cables etc. I also understand that there is no contract,and payments will be one month in advance at a time. Thus if I am not satisfied with the service I will simply opt out after 1 month. My downside is therefore limited to the Kshs 5,800 connection fee plus the Kshs 1,499 for the 256 Kbps offer. If it works OK,then my cost for 6 months including the connection fee averages Kshs 2,499 which is equal to the Kshs 2,499 Safaricom charges for 1GB bundle (not including the cost of the modem).

Men occasionally stumble over the truth,but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 9:02:00 AM

pls be specific. How is the service? speeds? uptime? I have also seen this ad and it looks tempting.

nanfor
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 9:30:00 AM

Please read this blog.

We have been testing some of the isp's for sometime and really zuku is the worst company I have ever dealt with.

If it was another company,I may consider it but once bitten ten times shy.

zuku internet

There is another zuku post on the blog so find it and make your own choice. Mine is very clear......Never Zuku or whatever they wish to call themselves next.
reithi
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 10:11:00 AM

I totally agree with Nanfor on this one.

Zuku is Wananchi which tormented me with very poor bandwidth and non-existent customer care.

It is not amusing to pay for bandwidth you never get. Besides,their cuscare are not very honest with clients.

For all I care,they can change the name or even rebrand,but would never touch them even if the service was free.

reithi
kizee
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 11:57:00 AM

@ nanfor...man i hav such bad luck..wish i had seen your blog 5 days ago....i hav expereienced every problem the bloggers hav mentioned!....ok to hell with zuku...what alternatives apart from safcom are there
Kwanini
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 12:35:00 PM

Why the hurry? The moment the fibre o cable lands zuku's offer will look like a bad joke. just wait one month to go..... There's gonna be an ICT revolution ..... safcon will have to modem for free ..

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 03, 2009 12:59:00 PM

I knew something was wrong when I saw an advert claiming 256'kpbs'. Sasa hiyo kpbs ninini? kilo-per-bit-second!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Magnetic Touch
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2009 9:57:00 AM

That's why I love SK. Thanks for all your comments. Looks like you guys just saved me a big dissapointment. Zuku for now will have to remain a NO No. I guess I might just have tried them if there was no connection fee. Then the loss would have been limited to Kshs 1,499 for the first month and if not good,just scram. Anyhow,I guess that leaves us with Access Kenya @ minimum of 4,000 and the mobile phone operators - of which so far Safcom has been the least dissapointing,but I find the price fairly high for a heavy user like myself.

Djinn
#12 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2009 10:49:00 AM

further to my other post enquiring about Zuku....this is NOT the provider to use - VERY erratic links,dodgy customer service and perhaps some dishonesty.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less