wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

The tragedy of backward African beliefs and traditions
innairobi
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 2:12:56 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsDtsWJ5ibE [GRAPHIC CONTENT. USER DISCRETION ADVISED]

One of the most tragic events I have ever seen. My sojourns in rural Kenya and among the urban poor have shown that despite formal education, the average Kenyan is relatively backward in their thinking and quite unquestioning of cultural beliefs/traditions. Even when we doubt the veracity of such traditions, we prefer to hide in the safety of uniformity and are petrified of trying anything that sees us stand out from the crowd. Maybe that is why some white guys conscience is clean when they pair our girls with dogs.

Explains the age old debate on why there is a very small percentage of intelligent global inventions originating from Sub Saharan Africa. Despite all the criticisms of Generation Y, there is hope at least on this score in this younger generation of urbane Kenyans. Seldom does a society develop without a critical mass of people who will ask 'Why not?'
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#2 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 2:38:26 PM

Intelligent global inventions?d'oh! I've always wondered, what do we need them for? From the TVs, radios, clothes, cars etc Do we really need them?

Weren't we happier with our goat skin clothes, our farms, livestock, fishing etc? Weren't our lives more stress-free, more pollution free, more disease free etc? Now we kill each other to get that which will kill us! Money, women, gadgets, fame etc

Maybe you should seek to answer the age old question... What is your life for?

#3 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 3:11:35 PM

People carry a lot of anger in them.
Angry at failed systems,poverty,suffering and pain.
The slightest provocation is enough to stir up such animalistic euphoric behaviour.
The regret comes much later after we have maimed, killed and discover that nothing has really changed.

Witchcraft has been part and parcel of African Culture.
The way communities react to it nowadays is the problem.
I wonder how they identify witches.
Ceinz
#4 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 4:16:15 PM

innairobi wrote:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsDtsWJ5ibE [GRAPHIC CONTENT. USER DISCRETION ADVISED]

One of the most tragic events I have ever seen. My sojourns in rural Kenya and among the urban poor have shown that despite formal education, the average Kenyan is relatively backward in their thinking and quite unquestioning of cultural beliefs/traditions. Even when we doubt the veracity of such traditions, we prefer to hide in the safety of uniformity and are petrified of trying anything that sees us stand out from the crowd. Maybe that is why some white guys conscience is clean when they pair our girls with dogs.

Explains the age old debate on why there is a very small percentage of intelligent global inventions originating from Sub Saharan Africa. Despite all the criticisms of Generation Y, there is hope at least on this score in this younger generation of urbane Kenyans. Seldom does a society develop without a critical mass of people who will ask 'Why not?'

Shame on you Not all aspects of african culture is bad. Yes, practices like fgm, wife inheritance etc are bad and should be dropped. However, in every culture there are those positive attributes, for instance curses on things like incest/ marrying relatives etc. In african culture there was nothing like homesexuality let alone bestiality. When I walk around and see somalis and Indians I envy them coz they stick to there culture. They got IDENTITY.

So you support abuse of our women by those fools. You must be out of your mind.

There are a lot of inventions/ ideas by most of our own, only that they may not be more economically empowered to exploit them. So more often the ideas get stolen. I hope you know the story of M-pesa. That said you should know that inventions and stuff comes after the stage of satisfaction of basic needs. most of our own are sadly still at this stage.
“small step for man”
The optimist
#5 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 4:38:16 PM

innairobi wrote:

This one of the most sad stories of how the sanctity of human life has been trashed in our own country Kenya.
If you think that this is about the African cultures and beliefs only, then you are wrong. This is the same thing that makes us shout mwizi and within minutes some-one has 'milked' their car and offered a tyre to Choma mwizi!
We have become an intolerant society that will care less about the pain and anguish that lynching someone causes to the victim.
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 02, 2017 3:44:57 PM

Ceinz wrote:

Shame on you Not all aspects of african culture is bad. Yes, practices like fgm, wife inheritance etc are bad and should be dropped.

Says who? The mzungu?

this same mzungu?
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 02, 2017 4:19:43 PM

Culture is the most interesting thing humans have ever come up with... it's not static - it changes! but there are superior cultural practices compared to inferior ones... superior ones (i.e. that make a society better than the other ) will stick when the two cultures meet!