Shell Thika - Bloody Thieves!!!
#21 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 11:33:11 AM

jguru wrote:
You cannot be rich in Kenya without being corrupt and a thief. That's the general mentality.

General to whom? If you hang around dogs, you are bound to catch fleas. Majority of Kenyans I know relish the values of working hard and smart to get ahead in life.

@Mukiri,you cannot do a land transfer without bribes so how do they do it?

Mboss, I've done a few land transfers and only paid one 'wazee' fee back in the day. Kajiado/Ngong. @Marty would probably be best person to answer this. Remember 'Resist the devil and he'll flee from you'

If true you are lucky.What of "special board" or you go through the due process where the board sits on selected dates once a month?Then try doing a change of user and following all the due process as specified in the laws.

What are short-cuts for? Follow due process... One of my mantras is 'Hurry, hurry... to your grave!' Eat without taking time to relish every taste of food, drive at crazy speeds not taking in the scenery, rush all over stressing yourself up! Only exception is walking fast and thats part of cardio. There was a post on Mavuno blog that its mademooni who've turned people impatient, people who want everything now!

#22 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 11:41:34 AM

jguru wrote:
You cannot be rich in Kenya without being corrupt and a thief. That's the general mentality.

General to whom? If you hang around dogs, you are bound to catch fleas. Majority of Kenyans I know relish the values of working hard and smart to get ahead in life.

Mboss, I've done a few land transfers and only paid one 'wazee' fee back in the day. Kajiado/Ngong. @Marty would probably be best person to answer this. Remember 'Resist the devil and he'll flee from you'

If true you are lucky.What of "special board" or you go through the due process where the board sits on selected dates once a month?Then try doing a change of user and following all the due process as specified in the laws.

@mawinder - There is something called Special Board. You pay a prescribed fee and get a receipt!

It is possible to make it in Kenya with zero corruption. My former boss - one of the most successful people in Kenya - is zero tolerant to corruption. If you want to get into his bad books, tell him to give something small to speed up things. We were at times taken round in circles by different authorities from city council to different ministries so that we can oil some palms but he never once did! With time they came to know that we never give any bribes no matter how long we are made to wait and started processing our requests ASAP - even faster than for the ones who toa kitu kidogo.
#23 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 11:51:39 AM

jguru wrote:

@mawinder - There is something called Special Board. You pay a prescribed fee and get a receipt!

It is possible to make it in Kenya with zero corruption. My former boss - one of the most successful people in Kenya - is zero tolerant to corruption. If you want to get into his bad books, tell him to give something small to speed up things. We were at times taken round in circles by different authorities from city council to different ministries so that we can oil some palms but he never once did! With time they came to know that we never give any bribes no matter how long we are made to wait and started processing our requests ASAP - even faster than for the ones who toa kitu kidogo.

Marty
#159 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2012 11:26:48 AM

The subdivision Process

We shall base the info herein on a subdivision of a freehold title.

Before you subdivide any land, you must get the consent to do so from the Land Control Board. Ideally the consent is issued upon the proprietor appearing before the Board. Notice that all land transactions are controlled. However, we all know that in Kenya, we may not necessarily appear before the board, but we can get what they call ‘Special Board’. I have put it in quotes because the concept is illegal. In fact what happens is that the consent date is backdated to the last Board sitting.

I once attended that board when I wanted to sell a plot in Ruiru. Those wazees really harassed my madam and I. “Kijana, kwa nini unauza shamba na wewe ni mdogo sana?”, they asked. I told them that I have other plots and I sell plots as a business. “Wapi bibi”, one retorted. I was with my significant other so I pointed at her. “Huyu sio msichana umeokota mahali?”. I produced the marriage cert and she produced her ID. They asked her “Na wewe unakubali mzee auze shamba mkae wapi?” She said she is OK with it and that is when they accepted. I swore never to return there. The wazees are famed at dismissing would be sellers unceremoniously. By the way, the idea behind the Land Control Board is noble especially to protect families from wazees who just sell land and leave their families desolate. Back in the village it is a common problem where fellows are selling inherited land and run away with young girls to squander the money only to return once the cash is over.

Once the consent is granted, the surveyor prepares the development plan on paper. The plots and access roads are earmarked and drawn to scale. Once the planning on paper is complete, the rest is to be done on the ground i.e. placing the beacons. Of course there are requirements that guide surveying including the width of the access road, minimum sizes and others.

Ideally, the proprietor is supposed to be present when the beacons are being put on the ground. Once the beacons are in place, a mutation form is filled in triplicate. The content of the form are as below:
1. Title number (mother title) and approximate area. (page 1)
2. Registered proprietor instructions to the surveyor on how they wish the land to be surveyed. (page 1).
3. Sketch or development plan which ideally should be filled by the proprietor(page 2)
4. Field diagram and observation on site with measurements to scale. This is normally filled by a licensed surveyor.

Once the mutation is filled and the proprietor has signed the 3 copies, they are presented to the district surveyor whose role is to approve the subdivision and allocate Land Reference numbers (new numbers to the new plots). The numbers are normally allocated serially based on a particular block of land. So the District Surveyor will just check from their records the last number issued for that particular block and allocate the new plots the numbers that follow.
The District surveyor then forwards a copy of the mutation to the registrar confirming that the survey work has been carried out and therefore the registrar can issue title deeds based on the LR Numbers already allocated by the DS. The DS also forwards a copy of mutation to survey of Kenya for purposes of amending the RIM (Registry Index Map).

Once the registrar receives the mutation, they open a green card for each of the new titles, issue a title for each of the new plots and then file the green-cards in the respective binders. The Proprietor then receives the new titles.

The Process gets is far more complex and trickier and expensive when subdividing leased land.

By the way, when someone tell you that they have subdivided their land and all they are showing you are beacons on the ground, ati titles ziko njiani, please take note that they may just have done the easiest part of the process.
What is astounding is how land buying and selling companies take forever to process titles and ordinarily it is a process that takes 4-6 weeks. Land buyers need to be more careful and insist on buying land whose titles are ready.

Next post we will try and explain the sizes of plots. Someone once asked me what 1/8th acre is? Is it 50 by 100? What is this hectare thing? We can also look at land tenancy
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
So you should take yourself to the courts to face charges??
#24 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 11:53:09 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Attendants will always ask that you move until you have the worse vantage position. Some may try to distract you.

I have noticed that! Actually some work in twos. One comes to your window and start asking you about "tuangalie mbele... bla bla bla". At that time the other one is doing all kinds of accrobatics huko nyuma.
#25 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 1:20:02 PM

reminds of a joint i visited recently and was having my regular shots...the waitresses were selling me a shot for 350/= when I randomly went to the counter for a refill the barman sold me the same shot at 300/= those lovely ladies were jacking 50/= for every round...sad

This language is heavy.

It will be light if you come out of the gutter.

kiash
#26 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 4:26:50 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Attendants will always ask that you move until you have the worse vantage position. Some may try to distract you.

I have noticed that! Actually some work in twos. One comes to your window and start asking you about "tuangalie mbele... bla bla bla". At that time the other one is doing all kinds of accrobatics huko nyuma.

Some few years from now, most station owners will change to the most used method elsewhere whereby you just need to use your credit card to buy fuel and do it yourself. I even think its going to be very soon, hawa wawili wanasema tuangalie nyuma will be long gone. Ask those cashiers in Stanchart who will be replaced soon by intelligent counters. Did i not hear about cashless transport on mats???
Jangwa la Jangili
#27 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 5:45:29 PM

That station was an independent one called Mogas until just 1 or 2 months ago when Shell bought it. Must be hard-to-forget habits from the carryover employees. When in Thika, I fuel in the much larger Shell next to Tuskys where they provide excellent service or the Total just next to the ex-Mogas Shell.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#28 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 5:56:02 PM

It had to be in Thika,Kiambu county where pump attendants are thieves.Kweli these people.....Next time fuel in Machakos or Mwingi where the pump attendants are honest.
#29 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 6:26:57 PM

reminds of a joint i visited recently and was having my regular shots...the waitresses were selling me a shot for 350/= when I randomly went to the counter for a refill the barman sold me the same shot at 300/= those lovely ladies were jacking 50/= for every round...sad

This language is heavy.

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly
Haaaaha!

Walai afadhali I pay an extra 50 to get a chot from the waitresses! Iyo ya barman ata bure siezi kubali!Laughing out loudly
#30 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 10:44:01 PM

Go to Arusha.
#31 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 1:45:50 PM

......I quickly look at the gauge before the fellow starts fuelling and voila!!! The gauge doesn't start at zero. Immediately he starts fuelling I jump out of the car and order him to stop. Evidently, the fellows don't place the dispenser back properly to avoid it going back to zero when lifted the next time.

Anywho, I totally go ballistics on them and demand to see the manager. Most of them come and start begging me not to escalate the matter bla bla bla. Long story...

In my usual fuelling places in Nairobi, it is the attendant who actually tells me at times "Angalia inanzia zero boss..".

The problem has also become very common in Nairobi especially with the many boda bodas fueling 100 and 200bob. When you fuel 1000bob, the attendant continues from the boda boda 200 or 100, meaning the attendants are stealing huge amounts per day from customers.
matata
#32 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 6:12:12 PM

Watch out the shell next to panafric hotel. They also have that habit.
#33 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2013 7:06:23 PM

matata wrote:

Stop the propaganda.That Shell the staff are honest and there are proper controls.It is my favourite station.
#34 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 10:07:31 AM

True.I can tell you that a sharp pump attendant in a busy station can earn as much as 150k a month through deals.I have worked as one and that was one of the breakthrough in my life.The pump attendants also steal the fuel caps and we the owners also ensure you get 0.9 litre instead of 1 litre.

matata wrote:

Stop the propaganda.That Shell the staff are honest and there are proper controls.It is my favourite station.

?????

Might this be the petrol station where you worked? Just asking!
#35 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 10:21:56 AM

Never go to Total Uthiru. Those guys have perfected the art of stealing! They are so great you'll drive in fuel and help you push your car out.

#36 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 10:52:26 AM

True.I can tell you that a sharp pump attendant in a busy station can earn as much as 150k a month through deals.I have worked as one and that was one of the breakthrough in my life.The pump attendants also steal the fuel caps and we the owners also ensure you get 0.9 litre instead of 1 litre.

matata wrote:

?????

Might this be the petrol station where you worked? Just asking!

No.The station I worked in was busier and there is a day I made 240k in one day and the accounts balanced. Having known all the tricks in the book,I can tell you for sure it is the best and most professionally run station in Kenya in my opinion.They never steal from customers and their pumps are well calibrated.
#37 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 10:53:58 AM

Never go to Total Uthiru. Those guys have perfected the art of stealing! They are so great you'll drive in fuel and help you push your car out.

I concur.They are thieves.
#38 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 12:06:43 PM

National Oil Nairobi West also once conned me!!!
mypesa
#39 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 12:21:05 PM

Iam a victim also at total DONHOLM (formerly Caltex).Fueled 500 one morning and was driving towards mombasa road through LungaLunga industrial area.The car stalled at House of Manji Exit. Luckily a good matatu driver assisted me to push car at the total near the round about as you head towards exit at Airtel.
Fortunately this was the day i knew how to push an automatic car in case it stalled again
Even In The Most Severe Drought In The Jungle Lions Will Never Feed On Grass.
#40 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2013 1:23:48 PM

True.I can tell you that a sharp pump attendant in a busy station can earn as much as 150k a month through deals.I have worked as one and that was one of the breakthrough in my life.

No.The station I worked in was busier and there is a day I made 240k in one day and the accounts balanced. Having known all the tricks in the book,I can tell you for sure it is the best and most professionally run station in Kenya in my opinion.They never steal from customers and their pumps are well calibrated.

Haki wewe @mawinder unadangayaga sisi sana!!! Naomaba serikali and mapastor wa chot waingilie kati huyu @mawinder apunguze uongo!!!

Tufanye hesabu.

Assuming you worked a 10 hour shift with absolutely no breaks, you would work for 10 * 60 minutes = 600 minutes

Assuming you took 3 minutes flat to serve every customer [including drive in, drive out, nikuwekee ngapi, open tank etc. etc.] you would serve 600 / 3 = 200 customers!

Now, if you stole 240,000/= in a day, you would need to steal 240,000 / 200 = Kshs. 1,200/= per customer [Hata wale wana fuel 500/= Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ]

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Wacha rongo tafadhali!!!

Unless you want to change the story and tell us you stole a tanker full of fuel!