Culture
Multi-ethnic marriages in Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
wansally wrote:In my opinion men especially the Mt Kenya mafia (as earlier reffered) will not venture out of their ethnic tribe unless ni Mpango wa Kando. Mtu ni Mtu, tribe is a describing word which has ruined our lifes and our economy. We have a long way to overcome this issue since some people are secretly tribalistic and others dont even know they are. Those marriages that survive this must involve lots of love and principle since our society is not that appreciative. Behind every tribe/ethnic group there is a culture.. Culture practiced by some tribes may be completely alien to other tribes and this is bound to affect future interrelationships!! What would you do if you are a Kikuyu woman married to a s#@%* man who is insisting that his daughters be circumcised?? Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Ceinz wrote:Although I know I will marry from a different tribe, I dont think these marriages should be encouraged coz in future there is a risk of some tribes swallowing others. Example Maasai men marrying Kikuyu ladies has resulted in offsprings more Kikuyu than Maasai IMHO (If you have lived in the Naroks and Kajiados of this world you will understand). Fafanua. Bigger forehead ama shrubbing kafete style?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
ChumsQuest wrote:Ceinz wrote:Although I know I will marry from a different tribe, I dont think these marriages should be encouraged coz in future there is a risk of some tribes swallowing others. Example Maasai men marrying Kikuyu ladies has resulted in offsprings more Kikuyu than Maasai IMHO (If you have lived in the Naroks and Kajiados of this world you will understand). Fafanua. Bigger forehead ama shrubbing kafete style? Simply the language they speak. And there is a tendency for them to marry from the mothers tribe. “small step for man”
I was advised never to marry a lady from Kabete if I value my life but strongly encouraged to look for a lady from Muranga.
It pains me from my neck to my %&s when i hear pple even giving the word tribalisim a thought.....anyways....US kaos dont have issues with hii maneno,actually kaos are ppl u will find just anywhere..and just like someone said,i didnt choose to be kao,ilikua ajali lakini ajali nzuri
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
ETHNICITY = Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites etc etc
TRIBE= Kikuyu, Meru, luyha etc etc
Two people may have different tribes but share the same ethnicity...
All that said, Inter tribal marriages tend to work only if the couple are still from the same ethnic group! eg Kikuyu & kamba or Luos & kisii
Wewe ulisomea wapi? Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites e.t.c are language groups. ethnicity has all to do with culture and identity, tribes have everything to do with people of an ethnic group living together. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
All that said, Inter tribal marriages tend to work only if the couple are still from the same ethnic group! eg Kikuyu & kamba or Luos & kisii
Wewe ulisomea wapi? Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites e.t.c are language groups. ethnicity has all to do with culture and identity, tribes have everything to do with people of an ethnic group living together. Finally someone who did anthropology.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
Wewe ulisomea wapi? Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites e.t.c are language groups. ethnicity has all to do with culture and identity, tribes have everything to do with people of an ethnic group living together. And ethnic groups are named in the process of change of consciousness through history. Now we know, that humanity is one. Now we can identify with the very 'beginning'. Ancient of Days.
essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:Coolio wrote:mawinder wrote:AlphDoti wrote:dunkang wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:dunkang wrote:Do the following qualify as multi-ethnic marriages; 1. Tharaka and Meru 2. Kisii and Kuria 3. Nandi and Tugen and Sabaot 4. Kikuyu and Embu and Mbeere 5. Maragoli and Bukusu and Tsitswa etc 6. Luo and Suba These cannot work!!!! WTH!! Who are these? @Alpha niwachane. I meant tsotso. MY BAD! Tsitswa is a vegetable! @dunkang you meant "Teso" @essyk basi wachana na sisi wanaume wa Kenya. Tunajua tuko poa kuliko hao Wazungu. Tesos were popular for certain jobs. which ones? am just curious ... I don't want to be in trouble.@essyk,tell him. By the way teso women don't like marrying teso men. @ newly weds.aaaw.But at what age does a man return majembe kwa store. They do marry their men but they look at all communities as children of God created in His image.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
kollabo wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:Coolio wrote:mawinder wrote:AlphDoti wrote:dunkang wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:dunkang wrote:Do the following qualify as multi-ethnic marriages; 1. Tharaka and Meru 2. Kisii and Kuria 3. Nandi and Tugen and Sabaot 4. Kikuyu and Embu and Mbeere 5. Maragoli and Bukusu and Tsitswa etc 6. Luo and Suba These cannot work!!!! WTH!! Who are these? @Alpha niwachane. I meant tsotso. MY BAD! Tsitswa is a vegetable! @dunkang you meant "Teso" @essyk basi wachana na sisi wanaume wa Kenya. Tunajua tuko poa kuliko hao Wazungu. Tesos were popular for certain jobs. which ones? am just curious ... I don't want to be in trouble.@essyk,tell him. By the way teso women don't like marrying teso men. @ newly weds.aaaw.But at what age does a man return majembe kwa store. They do marry their men but they look at all communities as children of God created in His image. Lol. It is better not to mention names, when you know what they mean. Else pigs will trample the gems.
guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
So according to your level of education Luoz and Kissis are from the same "ethnic group"? Surely the money spent on your education should have been used to build more gabbions back in the early 80s.... Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
mawinder wrote:masukuma wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
Wewe ulisomea wapi? Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites e.t.c are language groups. ethnicity has all to do with culture and identity, tribes have everything to do with people of an ethnic group living together. Finally someone who did anthropology. Finally Mawinder and Masukuma did the same course in campo. “small step for man”
Ceinz wrote:mawinder wrote:masukuma wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
Wewe ulisomea wapi? Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites e.t.c are language groups. ethnicity has all to do with culture and identity, tribes have everything to do with people of an ethnic group living together. Finally someone who did anthropology. Finally Mawinder and Masukuma did the same course in campo. For the record I didn't take anthropology,I took the course I chose as first choice before pursuing a diploma and a Masters in the same but all that was a waste of time as I earn a living through other means.I should not have wasted my time.Wasted years.
Culture
Multi-ethnic marriages in Kenya