Culture
Multi-ethnic marriages in Kenya
AlphDoti wrote:dunkang wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:dunkang wrote:Do the following qualify as multi-ethnic marriages; 1. Tharaka and Meru 2. Kisii and Kuria 3. Nandi and Tugen and Sabaot 4. Kikuyu and Embu and Mbeere 5. Maragoli and Bukusu and Tsitswa etc 6. Luo and Suba These cannot work!!!! WTH!! Who are these? @Alpha niwachane. I meant tsotso. MY BAD! Tsitswa is a vegetable! @dunkang you meant "Teso" @essyk basi wachana na sisi wanaume wa Kenya. Tunajua tuko poa kuliko hao Wazungu. Tesos were popular for certain jobs.
essyk wrote:tribes tribes yuck. It's easier marrying a foreigner than somebody from another ethnic group in Kenya. Tribe will always rear its ugly head everywhere.
@essyk...with the rate of divorce among the jungu, is that a move you'd like to make? they have reasons like "the love is not there anymore" and they walk...I don't believe they have the nerve to try and work on their marriages
nostoppingthis wrote:essyk wrote:tribes tribes yuck. It's easier marrying a foreigner than somebody from another ethnic group in Kenya. Tribe will always rear its ugly head everywhere.
@essyk...with the rate of divorce among the jungu, is that a move you'd like to make? they have reasons like "the love is not there anymore" and they walk...I don't believe they have the nerve to try and work on their marriages Saaasa when did Foreigner = Mzungu? Alpha!! @Non, love knows no colours.It happens on both sides. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Newly wed.... RINK
Ceinz wrote:Although I know I will marry from a different tribe, I dont think these marriages should be encouraged coz in future there is a risk of some tribes swallowing others. Example Maasai men marrying Kikuyu ladies has resulted in offsprings more Kikuyu than Maasai IMHO (If you have lived in the Naroks and Kajiados of this world you will understand). Most Maasai-Kikuyu actually recognize themselve as Maasai even though every pit of them look kikuyu, it is only the outside world who want to call them Kikuyus, the offsprings are not more kikuyus than Maasai it is only that everyone want to see the kikuyu in them and ignore maasai in them.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
mawinder wrote:AlphDoti wrote:dunkang wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:dunkang wrote:Do the following qualify as multi-ethnic marriages; 1. Tharaka and Meru 2. Kisii and Kuria 3. Nandi and Tugen and Sabaot 4. Kikuyu and Embu and Mbeere 5. Maragoli and Bukusu and Tsitswa etc 6. Luo and Suba These cannot work!!!! WTH!! Who are these? @Alpha niwachane. I meant tsotso. MY BAD! Tsitswa is a vegetable! @dunkang you meant "Teso" @essyk basi wachana na sisi wanaume wa Kenya. Tunajua tuko poa kuliko hao Wazungu. Tesos were popular for certain jobs. which ones? am just curious ... Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY?? ETHNICITY = Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites etc etc TRIBE= Kikuyu, Meru, luyha etc etc Two people may have different tribes but share the same ethnicity... All that said, Inter tribal marriages tend to work only if the couple are still from the same ethnic group! eg Kikuyu & kamba or Luos & kisii Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
ETHNICITY = Bantu, Nilotes, Cushites etc etc
TRIBE= Kikuyu, Meru, luyha etc etc
Two people may have different tribes but share the same ethnicity...
All that said, Inter tribal marriages tend to work only if the couple are still from the same ethnic group! eg Kikuyu & kamba or Luos & kisii
Luos & kisii “Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Coolio wrote:mawinder wrote:AlphDoti wrote:dunkang wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:dunkang wrote:Do the following qualify as multi-ethnic marriages; 1. Tharaka and Meru 2. Kisii and Kuria 3. Nandi and Tugen and Sabaot 4. Kikuyu and Embu and Mbeere 5. Maragoli and Bukusu and Tsitswa etc 6. Luo and Suba These cannot work!!!! WTH!! Who are these? @Alpha niwachane. I meant tsotso. MY BAD! Tsitswa is a vegetable! @dunkang you meant "Teso" @essyk basi wachana na sisi wanaume wa Kenya. Tunajua tuko poa kuliko hao Wazungu. Tesos were popular for certain jobs. which ones? am just curious ... I don't want to be in trouble.@essyk,tell him.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
ngapat wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
All that said, Inter tribal marriages tend to work only if the couple are still from the same ethnic group! eg Kikuyu & kamba or Luos & kisii
Luos & kisii He he, seems the Guru forgot most of the things done in primary school... “small step for man”
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
Ceinz wrote:ngapat wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
Luos & kisii He he, seems the Guru forgot most of the things done in primary school... Sorry guys slip of memory! I meant to say luyha & kisii!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
mawinder wrote:Coolio wrote:mawinder wrote:AlphDoti wrote:dunkang wrote:essyk wrote:mawinder wrote:dunkang wrote:Do the following qualify as multi-ethnic marriages; 1. Tharaka and Meru 2. Kisii and Kuria 3. Nandi and Tugen and Sabaot 4. Kikuyu and Embu and Mbeere 5. Maragoli and Bukusu and Tsitswa etc 6. Luo and Suba These cannot work!!!! WTH!! Who are these? @Alpha niwachane. I meant tsotso. MY BAD! Tsitswa is a vegetable! @dunkang you meant "Teso" @essyk basi wachana na sisi wanaume wa Kenya. Tunajua tuko poa kuliko hao Wazungu. Tesos were popular for certain jobs. which ones? am just curious ... I don't want to be in trouble.@essyk,tell him. By the way teso women don't like marrying teso men. @ newly weds.aaaw.But at what age does a man return majembe kwa store. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Jameni, washana na hii mambo yote. Wewe oa ile mtu unapenda na upende ile mtu umeoa. Keep it simple. Pahali ametoka ama pahali umetoka, hiyo ni ajali tu.
guru267 wrote:Ceinz wrote:ngapat wrote:guru267 wrote:I thought majority of wazuans at least did GHC in primary school... Since when was TRIBE equivalent to ETHNICITY??
Luos & kisii He he, seems the Guru forgot most of the things done in primary school... Sorry guys slip of memory! I meant to say luyha & kisii!! If the term "ethnic" is meant to refer only to e.g. Bantu, Nilotes etc... then point taken. When you observe how the term "ethnic" has been used, it looks like it could refer to a tribe. E.g. From: http://en.wikipedia.org/..._of_Kenya#Ethnic_groups
"Kenya's diversity is such that its largest ethnic group, the Kikuyu, make up for less than a fifth of total population.""The 2009 census figures give the ethnic composition as follows (out of a total population of 38.6 million): Kikuyu 17%, Luhya 14%, Kalenjin 13%, Luo 10%, Kamba 10%, Kisii 6%, Mijikenda 5%, Meru 4%, Turkana 2.5%, Maasai 2.1%. About 9% of population consist of smaller indigenous group below 1% each, and Non-African groups (Arabs, Indians and Europeans) are estimated to total to about 1%."From: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nilotic_peoples
"Nilotic peoples or Nilotes refers to related ethnic groups mainly inhabiting the Nile Valley, the African Great Lakes region, and southwestern Ethiopia, who speak Nilotic languages, a large sub-group of the Nilo-Saharan languages. These include the Kalenjin, Luo, Dinka, Nuer, Shilluk, Ateker and the Maa-speaking peoples, all of which are clusters of several ethnic groups."
The Kenyan constitution does not use the word tribe, instead, it uses "ethnic". When it uses the word "ethnic", we know that it's not referring to Bantus, Nilotes & Cushites, but tribes, this is because if it was referring to Bantus, Nilotes & Cushites, then the ethnic balance that the constitution talks about would be balanced by simply ensuring that there is at least a Bantu, a Nilote and a Cushite, but no, we find that the balance is tribal, and the word used to refer to the tribes is "ethnic". They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
mawinder wrote:Rahatupu wrote:D32 wrote:How have they worked out? Unaishi wapi wewe?? Or is this a topic for research? You expect Onyango from Bondo to live happily with Nyambura from Kabete??? Frankly, don't know how it works out, but it's good to be informed. They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
kollabo wrote:wilyum wrote:yes they have............got a an endless list... and mind u, tribalism is in ur mindset Hapo umenena! Good to know that they can work. Regarding tribalism, I personally do not have a problem with other tribes. They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
masukuma wrote:it happens more than you know it. of my group of friends only one couple has married within the ethnic group - and I am not that one. It works out well. Nice! They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
AlphDoti wrote:essyk wrote:tribes tribes yuck. It's easier marrying a foreigner than somebody from another ethnic group in Kenya. Tribe will always rear its ugly head everywhere.
@essyk you're always negative when it comes to these things. You sure are one of those who say there are no men left in Kenya! Please heal and give some other (or same) brother a chance. Nobody is perfect. Even those chungus do crazy things before they come here and you adore them like angels. mawinder wrote:Rahatupu wrote:D32 wrote:How have they worked out? Unaishi wapi wewe?? Or is this a topic for research? You expect Onyango from Bondo to live happily with Nyambura from Kabete??? @D32 please give a clue. Not all are compatible. But some work very well. I'm one of the example @Alph I'm in one that is Nilotic. They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
qadaffi wrote:Jameni, washana na hii mambo yote. Wewe oa ile mtu unapenda na upende ile mtu umeoa. Keep it simple. Pahali ametoka ama pahali umetoka, hiyo ni ajali tu. They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
In my opinion men especially the Mt Kenya mafia (as earlier reffered) will not venture out of their ethnic tribe unless ni Mpango wa Kando. Mtu ni Mtu, tribe is a describing word which has ruined our lifes and our economy. We have a long way to overcome this issue since some people are secretly tribalistic and others dont even know they are. Those marriages that survive this must involve lots of love and principle since our society is not that appreciative.
Culture
Multi-ethnic marriages in Kenya