wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

16 Pages«<1011121314>»
Kengen has bolted!
simmons
#221 Posted : Tuesday, March 19, 2013 10:24:48 AM

Seems like kengen has found a new setttling position ,@13.something.thought it would go down so that i can equip myself with some lakini waapi
Never be afraid to try something new.Remeber,amateurs built the ark Professionals built titanic.-Anonymous
simmons
#222 Posted : Tuesday, March 19, 2013 2:07:18 PM

simmons wrote:
Seems like kengen has found a new setttling position ,@13.something.thought it would go down so that i can equip myself with some lakini waapi

seems like it is bolting againd'oh!
Never be afraid to try something new.Remeber,amateurs built the ark Professionals built titanic.-Anonymous
#223 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 5:46:52 AM

So far this is the 2nd best trading counter this yr after Access source wazua
symbols
#224 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 12:25:58 PM

14,tempting
mwekez@ji
#225 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 11:32:13 PM

wilyum
#226 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 10:08:27 AM

now at category is now this counter? buy or ignore?
hisah
#227 Posted : Thursday, May 09, 2013 11:49:47 PM

The Kengen vs KPLC play i.e buy kengen, sell kplc has just been rubberstamped. KPLC has been thrown under the bus. It faces too much political barriers.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/1517y40z/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#228 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 4:28:11 AM

hisah wrote:
The Kengen vs KPLC play i.e buy kengen, sell kplc has just been rubberstamped. KPLC has been thrown under the bus. It faces too much political barriers.

http://www.businessdaily...-/1517y40z/-/index.html

Cant wait for VVS and Kausha's opinion on this
#229 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 5:26:15 AM

wilyum wrote:
now at category is now this counter? buy or ignore?

Ericsson
#230 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 6:18:48 AM

Good move Deputy President Mr Ruto;You are rightfully taking up your duties.
Kenya power needs to become efficient;there is a lot of wastage in some projects which are started and then later abandoned after money spent e.g the automation of the distribution grid was started then later abandoned in favour of undergound cabling.
Secondly companies increase profitability by increasing sales not raising their prices.Call tariffs in the communication sector have come down but that has not stopped safaricom from carrying out capital projects and also growth in profits.
As for KENGEN there is need to rethink the idea of hydro power since it offers the cheapest cost in terms of development and tariff.
Efficiency of the two is key.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#231 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 6:52:36 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Good move Deputy President Mr Ruto;You are rightfully taking up your duties.
Kenya power needs to become efficient;there is a lot of wastage in some projects which are started and then later abandoned after money spent e.g the automation of the distribution grid was started then later abandoned in favour of undergound cabling.
Secondly companies increase profitability by increasing sales not raising their prices.Call tariffs in the communication sector have come down but that has not stopped safaricom from carrying out capital projects and also growth in profits.
As for KENGEN there is need to rethink the idea of hydro power since it offers the cheapest cost in terms of development and tariff.
Efficiency of the two is key.

@Ericson, geothermal is the cheapest not hydro
#232 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 6:56:53 AM

Kplc should just be given back to the gvt with its inefficiencies.
Ericsson
#233 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 7:00:41 AM

@murchr;That is what u have been lied and u have believed it.
Ethiopia is going to sell to us their 400MW hydro power at a much cheaper price than the geothermal we are building.
Even Nyoike agreed to that fact.
Nothing is cheaper in this world than water and air;they are free even extracting them
#234 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 7:04:43 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Ethiopia is going to sell to us their 400MW hydro power at a much cheaper price than the geothermal we are building.
Nothing is cheaper in this world than water and air;they are free even extracting them

Your forgetting the dams are mostly dry, these rains have fooled you to believe that things are always like this eh? Read the report on elec generation first, dont compare Ethiopia and Kenya, it rains like crazy there dont forget their waters feed into the nile.

What Nyoike was saying is that they are getting power from Ethiopia at half the cost of what Kengen is selling to KPLC at, the guys there have an over supply of elec....

http://www.nation.co.ke/...36/-/3f3tmm/-/index.html
Ericsson
#235 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 7:24:22 AM

@murchr:Even the geothermal wells get dried up or steam ends.
Wacha kudanganywa na the media and reports here reports there.
Even here in kenya River Yala never dries up a powe station can also be put there
#236 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 7:32:53 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Even here in kenya River Yala never dries up a powe station can also be put there

Kama gani? And after how long? These dams will be better used for irrigation, Kenyans are not willing to relocate so that a dam can be built in their ancestral land. How is the budalangi project going?
mkonomtupu
#237 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 9:17:00 AM

[quote=hisah]The Kengen vs KPLC play i.e buy kengen, sell kplc has just been rubberstamped. KPLC has been thrown under the bus. It faces too much political barriers.

http://www.businessdaily...-/1517y40z/-/index.html[/quote]

On the power tariffs Kengen and KPLc are joined at the hip. By throwing KPLC under the bus kengen will also come out bruised. The key reason for the power tariffs review was because kplc had entered into contracts to buy power from new projects kengen and IPPs. Now if your sole purchaser cannot buy the power you are producing at a good bargain how then do you attract capital to your projects. Turkana wind project is 74 billion, the proposed coal gas plant by kengen would come to 600million $ around 50billion.

The only way to fund this capital intensive projects would be for kengen to continue soaking debt and that would hurt the equity. Shareholders would come out worse as @Kausha keeps saying. With that in mind I have placed an order to sell all my Kengen shares take out my 90% capital gains (I sold out a major portion @ 16.05 after I heard the new Enery secretary Chirchir speak in Statehouse). I will now set up a helpline like Buffet with airline stocks every time I want to invest in GoK parastatals I will call them and they talk me down.

"Every hand is a winner, every hand is a loser"
#238 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 10:15:39 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Can't say it better.
#239 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 10:17:24 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Kama gani? And after how long? These dams will be better used for irrigation, Kenyans are not willing to relocate so that a dam can be built in their ancestral land. How is the budalangi project going?

plus the colonial era treaty on Nile water utilization.
hisah
#240 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2013 10:41:39 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
hisah wrote:

http://www.businessdaily...-/1517y40z/-/index.html

On the power tariffs Kengen and KPLc are joined at the hip. By throwing KPLC under the bus kengen will also come out bruised. The key reason for the power tariffs review was because kplc had entered into contracts to buy power from new projects kengen and IPPs. Now if your sole purchaser cannot buy the power you are producing at a good bargain how then do you attract capital to your projects. Turkana wind project is 74 billion, the proposed coal gas plant by kengen would come to 600million $ around 50billion.

The only way to fund this capital intensive projects would be for kengen to continue soaking debt and that would hurt the equity. Shareholders would come out worse as @Kausha keeps saying. With that in mind I have placed an order to sell all my Kengen shares take out my 90% capital gains (I sold out a major portion @ 16.05 after I heard the new Enery secretary Chirchir speak in Statehouse). I will now set up a helpline like Buffet with airline stocks every time I want to invest in GoK parastatals I will call them and they talk me down.

"Every hand is a winner, every hand is a loser"

I follow the money and it has been flowing into kengen.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!