wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

7 Pages<1234>»
Road trip to Arusha from Nairobi.
#21 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:01:01 PM

I had mine 2 days before travel and pale Arusha apt the dude just looked at the yellow book and rubber stamp and I was allowed in..
Only a bored stubborn fellow would harass you.
#22 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:01:20 PM

story teller wrote:
Is yellow fever certificate a must?
Will be driving all the way.

To be on the safe side, it's best to have one..in my opinion, the nicest people around..

Where can I get one and at what price?
Is the injection painful?

I honestly can't quite remember the cost but it's not expensive..city hall and quite a few chemists in town provide the shot..

Can I get a provisional cert from river road?I cant trust injection from city hole.

Normally 1500.

You can check it out at JKIA or Wilson Airport.

Very efficient.

Injection not painful but you may feel a slight light headedness and neausea after like 5 minutes of the jab.

Good luck na safari njema.Feedback ukirudi.Na uavoid Mwendes of there wasikuwekee Polonium 210.We do not want mikutano at Garden square

Hapana... No...

You got dizzy and nauseated from fear not the jab. I hear, grown built men, sweat profusely, hyper-ventilate, faint and drop to the floor when the needle comes close to their biceps... Cowards smile
#23 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:04:18 PM

jguru wrote:

You got dizzy and nauseated from fear not the jab. I hear, grown built men, sweat profusely, hyper-ventilate, faint and drop to the floor when the needle comes close to their biceps... Cowards smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
But why do men fear injections!
That's so so true yet they will tell their kids not to scream.
#24 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:08:24 PM

I had mine 2 days before travel and pale Arusha apt the dude just looked at the yellow book and rubber stamp and I was allowed in..

Arusha, yes. That could happen.

Try passing through Charles de Gaulle, Schipol, Indira Gandhi, Suvarnabhumi or Heathrow with an invalid vaccination card uone moto.

Anyway, your travel agent or airline booking usually inform you about this.
#25 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:13:19 PM

jguru wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Imagine! Women are more courageous than men. Men see a needle they panic! Mtu huenda gym/bouncer and to draw 10mls of blood from him for a test you need to sedate him first. Or you padlock the doors because he will run away. Yaani, mama watoto is the one who consoles and tells him, woishe si chungu, usilie smile Men! Laughing out loudly
#26 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:20:32 PM

jguru wrote:

Try passing through Charles de Gaulle, Schipol, Indira Gandhi, Suvarnabhumi or Heathrow with an invalid vaccination card uone moto.

The last time I travelled to Schipol Amstedam I didnt have the yellow fever cert and no one asked me...please be clear on destinations where the yellow fever cert is required.
Shame on you

#27 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:23:54 PM

jguru wrote:

When did they introduce yellow fever cert to transit LHR? I didn't have it last time I passed by there,not even Miami apt where they are more strict.
labda guru nanak Laughing out loudly

#28 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:31:55 PM

jguru wrote:

Imagine! Women are more courageous than men. Men see a needle they panic! Mtu huenda gym/bouncer and to draw 10mls of blood from him for a test you need to sedate him first. Or you padlock the doors because he will run away. Yaani, mama watoto is the one who consoles and tells him, woishe si chungu, usilie smile Men! Laughing out loudly

woi the reason most men fear the dentist.
kujifanya macho men na kunguruma,kumbe ni jelly.Laughing out loudly
#29 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 1:57:23 PM

jguru wrote:

Maybe its due to inherent male physiology...!!!

#30 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 2:00:43 PM

jguru wrote:

Maybe its due to inherent male physiology...!!!

oops
#31 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 2:42:20 PM

make sure u have two triangle not one. and original logbook.
#32 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 4:20:37 PM

oops wrote:
make sure u have two triangle not one. and original logbook.

Thanks for the logbook info,I didnt know.
But do u think its dangerous carrying original logbook in the car and travell that far distance???????

#33 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 4:23:13 PM

jguru wrote:

The last time I travelled to Schipol Amstedam I didnt have the yellow fever cert and no one asked me...please be clear on destinations where the yellow fever cert is required.
Shame on you

When did they introduce yellow fever cert to transit LHR? I didn't have it last time I passed by there,not even Miami apt where they are more strict.
labda guru nanak Laughing out loudly

I did not say "yellow fever card". I said valid vaccination card. Depending on your home country or point of origin, you may have to prove your health status. Residents of countries with history of disease outbreaks e.g. yellow fever, meningococcal meningitis, avian flu, TB etc would have to prove they are vaccinated against these diseases before they are allowed to pass through international airports. Persons travelling to a region that has an outbreak need uptodate vaccines against that illness e.g. you need a flu vaccine if travelling to most Asian countries. Kenyans are deemed to come from a relatively advanced health care ecosystem and this measures are often not required for them when travelling to US and Europe. Understood?
#34 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 5:25:43 PM

jguru wrote:
Kenyans are deemed to come from a relatively advanced health care ecosystem

#35 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 7:21:00 PM

log book you leave at the kra border point...2 triangles, first aid kit fully loaded with a condom, fire extinguisher * NOT fire stopper , observe ALL road sighs if it says 30 dont dare 31, if the white line is not dotted DONT dare overlap/overtake even if you are all alone..the boys in white are worshipped , they dont take bribes....they have road blocks every 19 kms ie if you decide to drive to Dar...its fun.
Hotels at Arusha are wow...soo many Garden hotels .
this yellow thing i think was done away with.
#36 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 7:38:03 PM

mlefu wrote:
DONT dare overlap/overtake even if you are all alone..the boys in white are worshipped , they dont take bribes....they have road blocks every 19 kms ie if you decide to drive to Dar...its fun.

Woi,walitushika cz driver was 'speeding' from apt to the hotel.
Si we stayed.Wacha they saw a white dude in the vehicle and bribe fee doubled.We almost left the driver cz to make matters worse he didnt carry a DL.
They have a habit kama hawa wetu. Kutokelezea from nowhere,strategically placed ili wale sawasawa.smile
I first thought they were legio maria sect doing their thing on the road till we were ordered to stop.
Mwendo wa polepole kweli but utakaa hapo if you refuse to part with something.

#37 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 9:31:18 PM

mlefu wrote:
log book you leave at the kra border point...2 triangles, first aid kit fully loaded with a condom, fire extinguisher * NOT fire stopper , observe ALL road sighs if it says 30 dont dare 31, if the white line is not dotted DONT dare overlap/overtake even if you are all alone..the boys in white are worshipped , they dont take bribes....they have road blocks every 19 kms ie if you decide to drive to Dar...its fun.

@Mlefu
Ati?? Are we talking about Arusha ya TZ ama Arusha nyingine? Those cops are the most corrupt!I go to Arusha & Moshi every month and i've had my fair share of drama with the Tz cops. Even the locals call them 'mafisi'. Very corrupt. I've seen them ask for bribes endless times and sometime last year,i was personally asked for bribes yet i had a bus full of tourists waiting,at the police block near Longido. Karibu nilale ndani coz i told their boss to his face i was not parting with a single cent. I threatened to call someone senior at their immigration department and that saved my ass. I've also seen the cops take bribes at the main Arusha bus park and all through the roads especially when i take daladalas(Tz matatus) and they overload. The traffic cops in Tz are as corrupt if not worse than in Kenya. Their public transport system is like what we used to have 5yrs ago here in Kenya
#38 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 9:35:26 PM

@Impunity
Get the yellow fever cert, it will take you not more than 10minutes,and the cost is Ksh 1,800 and not 1,500 as someone had earlier indicated. The city council has a special vaccination clinic at City hall which is very efficient with very friendly staff. You can also get vaccinated at the border,for about 30usd(or more),can't remember the exact cost. Sometimes the TZ immigration guys check the yellow fever cert,sometimes they dont. It's good to avoid the drama by getting one. It's valid for 10yrs

As for Arusha hotels,they're very many... What's your estimate budget i give you several options?
#39 Posted : Sunday, May 05, 2013 9:42:38 PM

jguru wrote:

i think we men fear pain quite a bit plus we moan and complain a lot when ill :)
#40 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 9:49:11 AM

leona wrote:
@Impunity
Get the yellow fever cert, it will take you not more than 10minutes,and the cost is Ksh 1,800 and not 1,500 as someone had earlier indicated. The city council has a special vaccination clinic at City hall which is very efficient with very friendly staff. You can also get vaccinated at the border,for about 30usd(or more),can't remember the exact cost. Sometimes the TZ immigration guys check the yellow fever cert,sometimes they dont. It's good to avoid the drama by getting one. It's valid for 10yrs

As for Arusha hotels,they're very many... What's your estimate budget i give you several options?

@Leona someone said its KES.800 at City hole? Tena hii 1,800 imetoka wapi?
About hotel rate please start from the cheapest B&B na usipite 20K.