wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

otonglo: who owns the piece?
#1 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:31:18 PM

Over the last one week a lot has ben ssid about the star boy otonglo. Well done boy. I have just seen an advert the boy has done for naivas... back to school...which derives from the choral verse the boy did. My question is...who owns the original work? Isnt it the teacher who composed the piece? Where does the teacher come in in this mix? What does the law say about copyrights. Hope this does not end up where 'malaika' song ended. Oh and i have just remembered the late poxi pressure...!!!
#2 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:38:17 PM

Over the last one week a lot has ben ssid about the star boy otonglo. Well done boy. I have just seen an advert the boy has done for naivas... back to school...which derives from the choral verse the boy did. My question is...who ownns the original work? Isnt it the teacher who composed the piece? Where doed the teacher come in in thid mix? What does the law ssy about the law sbout copyrights. Hope this does not enf up where 'malaika' song ended. Oh and i have just remembered the late poxi pressure...!!!

while the piece presented at the nationals may belong to anyone, otonglo is the luo name for a 10 cents coin. names don't belong to anyone. thus talking with a dholuo accent and using otonglo becomes a totally new work of art on its own.
#3 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:48:50 PM

Over the last one week a lot has ben ssid about the star boy otonglo. Well done boy. I have just seen an advert the boy has done for naivas... back to school...which derives from the choral verse the boy did. My question is...who ownns the original work? Isnt it the teacher who composed the piece? Where doed the teacher come in in thid mix? What does the law ssy about the law sbout copyrights. Hope this does not enf up where 'malaika' song ended. Oh and i have just remembered the late poxi pressure...!!!

while the piece presented at the nationals may belong to anyone, otonglo is the luo name for a 10 cents coin. names don't belong to anyone. thus talking with a dholuo accent and using otonglo becomes a totally new work of art on its own.

Sadly the first guy who sang about Otonglo was thrown in by Mzee Kenyatta cos the song was then deemed inciting to the masses..
'baaba otongloooo chakula imepanda... baba otongloo maisa sida sida'
Jera pap!

Good to see his son redeem the sins of the father..
#4 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 5:59:54 PM

who was this guy
#5 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 6:11:38 PM

Sadly the first guy who sang about Otonglo was thrown in by Mzee Kenyatta cos the song was then deemed inciting to the masses..
Jera pap!

hehe - we used to sing that song when growing up in nax :) I never knew mtu aliumia! pole kwake.
#6 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 7:37:23 PM

Maybe its the teacher who coined together the Naivas advert aand then the boy executed by doing what he does best...
#7 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 7:58:18 PM

Jera pap!

hehe - we used to sing that song when growing up in nax :) I never knew mtu aliumia! pole kwake.

Haiya! Masukuma! wewe ni wa Nax? Ebu sema primo yako.I suspect we sang this together.
#8 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 8:07:29 PM

Nax is the new sin city rink substandard
#9 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 8:18:47 PM

digitek1 wrote:

Wewe digitek wacha zako.

Glad you have used present tense.Me and Masukuma were there when it was Nax the place to be.Gabbana Mbugua will restore glory.
#10 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 8:36:28 PM

Jera pap!

Haiya! Masukuma! wewe ni wa Nax? Ebu sema primo yako.I suspect we sang this together.

went to st. Xaviers and later Menengai primary....
#11 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 8:39:06 PM

digitek1 wrote:

Wewe digitek wacha zako.

Glad you have used present tense.Me and Masukuma were there when it was Nax the place to be.Gabbana Mbugua will restore glory.

hawa watu wa nairobi wamekuwa wakiharibu town yetu - we shall rehabilitate our image.
#12 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 8:52:52 PM

Jera pap!

Sisemi kitu...........After Xaviers was split?

Na kwenyu ni................?

I can see you in your school uniform na ka afro kiasi.I did not know Wazua can reconnect people.

Salimiana home.

#13 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 10:05:16 AM

Jera pap!

I can see you in your school uniform na ka afro kiasi.I did not know Wazua can reconnect people.

Salimiana home.

before Xaviers was split (left that school in the late 80s)... by the way @Obi is also a guy from Nax.
#14 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 10:39:32 AM

Jera pap!

Salimiana home.

I was there too!
When it was still "Naks". I don't know which year it became "Nax". Way before when it was still limelight of the country.

I'm trying to see which chick was "BIG" and many come to my mind d'oh! d'oh!
brav
#15 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 10:40:13 AM

mimi pia niya nax, was in st.Xaviers primary during the reign of Mrs. Wanguhu.
#16 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 11:12:41 AM

brav wrote:
mimi pia niya nax, was in st.Xaviers primary during the reign of Mrs. Wanguhu.

i was also there during Wanguhu's time (left in 88-89)
#17 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 11:37:41 AM

Yep, I am Naks born and bred, (before the change of name to Naxvegas). Pierce is also from the good old town.
kiterunner
#18 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 12:10:01 PM

naona chip kwa hii thread,
our goals are best achieved indirectly
#19 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 12:34:18 PM

And the boy has landed an acting job in the Inspector Mwala comedy! Seems not only misfortunes come in plenty, blessings too does the same.
brav
#20 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 12:39:45 PM