wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Salary for Househelps
#21 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 9:54:52 PM

kwani people have written agreements with them mbochez? its all verbal - no payslip no nothing. if she brings the gavaz to u, u can claim you actually pay her 10k. kwani imeandikwa wapi?
For Sport
#22 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 10:21:28 PM

kwani people have written agreements with them mbochez? its all verbal - no payslip no nothing. if she brings the gavaz to u, u can claim you actually pay her 10k. kwani imeandikwa wapi?

It is supposed to be. The Employment Act requires the contract to be written if you’ve employed someone for more than 3 months.

Contents of the Employment contract:
Looking at S.10 of the employment Act, an employment contract in Kenya needs to contain the following
(a) the name, age, permanent address and sex of the employee;
(b) the name of the employer;
(c) the job description of the employment;
(d) the date of commencement of the employment;
(e) the form and duration of the contract;
(f) the place of work;
(g) the hours of work;
(h) the remuneration, scale or rate of remuneration, the method of calculating that remuneration and details of any other benefits;
(i) the intervals at which remuneration is paid; and
(j) the date on which the employee's period of continuous employment began

wezeshame
#23 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 11:11:48 PM

TD wrote:
I think its workable, all you need it just to prepare a monthly slip for your help.

Gross Salary - 7,586/=

Deductions:
Accommodation - 2,000/-
Food - 2,500/-
NSSF - 200/-
NHIF - 160/-

Net Pay -2,726/-
I assume the deductions will be going to you since you are the provider.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Evil geniussmile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly..will also go this route
#24 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 12:27:37 AM

So there is no requirement for employers to provide:
- Food [as is common]
- Soap for washing/laundry
Tommy
#25 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 2:23:14 AM

wezeshame wrote:
TD wrote:
I think its workable, all you need it just to prepare a monthly slip for your help.

Gross Salary - 7,586/=

Deductions:
Accommodation - 2,000/-
Food - 2,500/-
NSSF - 200/-
NHIF - 160/-

Net Pay -2,726/-

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Evil geniussmile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly..will also go this route

interesting, at 7k nhif is 180 so she will be left with 2706. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#26 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 6:00:54 AM

The shoe is on the other foot!
#27 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 9:04:39 AM

So I have to work 5.5 days but they work 5 days? Or am I missing something in the days worked per week?
#28 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 12:45:10 PM

Na serikali pia isisahau malaya.

Since the government is in the mood for setting minimum prices for everything: fuel, loans, salaries - why not also set the minimum price one can pay to enjoy sex?
Tommy
#29 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 7:12:24 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Na serikali pia isisahau malaya.

Since the government is in the mood for setting minimum prices for everything: fuel, loans, salaries - why not also set the minimum price one can pay to enjoy sex?

Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
For Sport
#30 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 7:27:42 AM

The government is hurting the people it is purporting to help.
How many Kenyans can afford house helps with the new rates?
How many lower cadre government employees can afford to have families and employ people to take care of their children while at work?
faa
#31 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 7:47:16 AM

Uhuru doesn't understand an inch on how the economy works.

All he knows is the price of Johnie Walker in dollars

That's why he is just issuing populist statements without insight on how they affect citizens
symbols
#32 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 7:51:52 AM

If it was your pay being increased,would you complain?
For Sport
#33 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 8:56:52 AM

symbols wrote:

You mean like if I was an MP?
Increments should be pegged on growth and productivity.
Maybe the government can afford to pay the minimum wage to the lowest paid workers. Question is, what is the basis of the increment? Increased productivity from this class of workers or increased cost of living? If the economy is growing and workers are more productive it would make sense.
What's the average salary in the country?
brayokasa4
#34 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 10:55:31 AM

karqui wrote:
TD wrote:

Gross Salary - 7,586/=

Deductions:
Accommodation - 2,000/-
Food - 2,500/-
NSSF - 200/-
NHIF - 160/-

Net Pay -2,726/-

this is a very legal position.
but the food cost is low.
food cost 30*150 p.d =4500

Si those house helps can EAT! And hawanoni!
I think Food cost -3,500.
Going by this calculations I think I have been overpaying my house help as she earns a whooping 4,000 a month inclusive of accommodation, food, airtime of 100 bob a week, free church ride on Sunday, hand me down clothes and shoes from the wife etc etc.
If you think you can, and if you think you can't , either way, you are right!
#35 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 11:51:36 AM

Some things are better left as is where is
#36 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 2:18:58 PM

kyt wrote:
Some things are better left as is where is

Ditto.

#37 Posted : Saturday, May 04, 2013 7:02:43 PM

Kenya is changing for the better for everyone... No more slavery mamboleo(treating house helps like shit!) We would much rather underpay them, overwork them and more often than not, rape them too! Some people here are talking like KKK during slave-abolition in the US.

This is the thing... if you can't afford them, look for an alternative. However, if you choose to corrupt your way somehow, I hope the law catches up with you and dishes its full wrath!

GalMU
#38 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 12:09:59 PM

I have drafted a contract of sorts so if you would want to look at it send me an email; hgmuiruri@gmail.com
Mine will be on the above lines and many employer exemption clauses will be included.
At the moment i am paying 5,000 kes, accommodation and food included. I rent my house at a rate of 4000 kes per room she has her own room so housing is 4k, food she eats about 3500, miscellaneous about 2,000 leave every second weekend of the month, I could pay her what they want then effect the deductions above and come up with others as i go....Government Haiwesmake.
I am for the establishment of Home Assistants Employers Network (HEN)
jerry
#39 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2013 1:45:10 PM

For Sport wrote:
symbols wrote:

You mean like if I was an MP?
Increments should be pegged on growth and productivity.
Maybe the government can afford to pay the minimum wage to the lowest paid workers. Question is, what is the basis of the increment? Increased productivity from this class of workers or increased cost of living? If the economy is growing and workers are more productive it would make sense.
What's the average salary in the country?

I would also like to know this "What's the average salary in the country?"
There was a time only 125,000 employees earned at least 125,000/=! in Kenya.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 5:55:48 PM

My Mpesa attendant huwa namlipa 5k and whenever I feel like eating managu instead of regular sukuma hananga shida.