wazua Wed, Nov 20, 2024

284 Pages«<159160161162163>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
#3201 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 10:37:23 AM

The market value for Safaricom is more than Equity+KCB combined. The same applies for EABL too.
hisah
#3202 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 11:58:47 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
The market value for Safaricom is more than Equity+KCB combined. The same applies for EABL too.

Thus I call it mpesa bank - mpesa and now mshwari added to the mix. Hii ni bank...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji
#3203 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 12:02:12 PM

jerry wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
Safaricom, bank shares halt stock market decline >>> http://www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/sm5rpez/-/index.html

I need an index devoid of scon.

I think what we need is more large caps the size of scom and eabl to be listed
#3204 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 12:13:31 PM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Thus I call it mpesa bank - mpesa and now mshwari added to the mix. Hii ni bank...

Is the premium valuation justified, in your opinion? Or are Equity and KCB undervalued by the market?
Something must give...
hisah
#3205 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 2:16:16 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Is the premium valuation justified, in your opinion? Or are Equity and KCB undervalued by the market?
Something must give...

For now mpesa bank is overvalued.

Visa and MasterCard are jumping into the mobile money game. World bank is following too.

I think we are seeing computer's in the 50's
Internet in the 90s

All brought about unprecedented industrial shifts and I'm seeing a banking shift happening.

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#3206 Posted : Wednesday, May 01, 2013 2:52:10 PM

Visa ^& mastercard will work with who? @hisah
symbols
#3207 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 1:14:24 AM

hisah wrote:

Visa and MasterCard are jumping into the mobile money game. World bank is following too.

I think we are seeing computer's in the 50's
Internet in the 90s

All brought about unprecedented industrial shifts and I'm seeing a banking shift happening.

[/color]

I agree.Banking isn't necessarily changing but cash and thats why banks are threatened because they're are losing the position they once held.

Mpesa is trying to create a simple yet versatile solution.The problem with the other players is they are trying to catch up instead of preempt.As alma says,we are guinea pigs since mobile money took off here and I think Visa and MasterCard are terrified of what this concept might do to their business.I don't know if its possible,but the simcard of the future might just have NFC and then everything changes,unless a new technology comes in.
hisah
#3208 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 2:40:15 AM

Visa ^& mastercard will work with who? @hisah

With your simcard or NFC device.
#3209 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 10:29:51 AM

Safaricom on the cusp of 7!
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#3210 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 10:44:08 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Watching the movie too. The big boys aka market makers are saying it's now or never. Game plan, get the prey closer to the meal......then....smile
@SufficientlyP
symbols
#3211 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 1:41:21 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Watching the movie too. The big boys aka market makers are saying it's now or never. Game plan, get the prey closer to the meal......then....smile

Still too much red.Now I just want to see if the madness will come back and how fast.
mwekez@ji
#3212 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 7:59:39 PM

The Nairobi NSE20 Index firmed 0.483% to close at 4788.26.
The Nairobi NSE20 is +15.848% and will regain the 5,000 Level in reasonably short order.
We have been in a Bull Market since May 2012 and we have just exited a Corrective Phase.
The Rate Cut in Europe and the Continued QE in the US plus Abenomics will continue to push Liquidity into Africa.
This coupled with a DeRisking of Kenya Post the Peaceful Election mean this Market Rally has real Legs and I expect a further 20-25% Rally in the Indices through Year End.
We remain in a Sweet Spot. #Rich view
#3213 Posted : Thursday, May 02, 2013 8:25:15 PM

Let's see what Prof. Ndung'u has to say on Monday...
hisah
#3214 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 8:29:11 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Rate cut likely due to the proposed 1.6 trillion budget. Also those tbill rates need to be hammered down to force the stimulus into the squeaky econ. 100 - 150bps CBR would be go to start with.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/sduhsx/-/index.html

Obviously equities will celebrate that stimulus that will minimize downside risks. Liquidity flood needed to dismiss 5000pt barrier. I wonder how far up crap like paka & olympia will float on that flood.

jerry
#3215 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 10:28:57 AM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Rate cut likely due to the proposed 1.6 trillion budget. Also those tbill rates need to be hammered down to force the stimulus into the squeaky econ. 100 - 150bps CBR would be go to start with.

Obviously equities will celebrate that stimulus that will minimize downside risks. Liquidity flood needed to dismiss 5000pt barrier. I wonder how far up crap like paka & olympia will float on that flood.

@hisah,You seem to imply "if there's a cut we go for the cat!"
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
hisah
#3216 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 11:53:35 AM

jerry wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Markets thrive on liquidity. If it floods that tide lifts everything. But it's up to investors to identify the ships from the boats.
Museveni
#3217 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 12:02:55 PM

hisah wrote:
jerry wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Markets thrive on liquidity. If it floods that tide lifts everything. But it's up to investors to identify the ships from the boats.

smile Nice one.

sometimes with flooding the best place to seek refuge is at high points you know of if you aren't an expert swimmer.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
mkonomtupu
#3218 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 12:31:08 PM

@hisah, I've just read this from the NIC chairman's report, what does this mean going forward, can you just cut rates to stimulate more imports doesn't make sense

"On a cautionary note, a key threat to this growth is the spiraling current account deficit that stood at U.s. Dollars 4.5 billion (13%
of GDP) in December 2012. This deficit level is one of the highest in the world. Bold policy actions need to be taken urgently to
strengthen Kenya’s export engine and reduce the country’s reliance on imports that also leaves it vulnerable to unpredictable
exchange rate movements."
jerry
#3219 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 12:49:44 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
@hisah, I've just read this from the NIC chairman's report, what does this mean going forward, can you just cut rates to stimulate more imports doesn't make sense

"On a cautionary note, a key threat to this growth is the spiraling current account deficit that stood at U.s. Dollars 4.5 billion (13%
of GDP) in December 2012. This deficit level is one of the highest in the world. Bold policy actions need to be taken urgently to
strengthen Kenya’s export engine and reduce the country’s reliance on imports that also leaves it vulnerable to unpredictable

Which rates! Simulate exports ok not imports.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
symbols
#3220 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 12:55:14 PM

jerry wrote:
mkonomtupu wrote:

Which rates! Simulate exports ok not imports.

Hmmmm,rates are cuts and kshs is better more imports but agriculture and tourism is not so good.