Museveni wrote:
symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
C&P
Tuesday, April 30, 2013 | 10:36 AM

The bus is a great way to get around, but it can be frustrating if you don’t have enough money for the journey, or the conductor forgets to give you change from your fare.
So Google has teamed up with Equity Bank, the largest bank in East Africa, to launch BebaPay, a payment card that makes it easier and more convenient to pay for bus travel in Kenya.

Link

What are the figures contributed in the short period the collaboration has been in effect ?

Too risky or another milestone bagged ?

Risky.It might take some time but when safaricom starts introducing NFC smartphones,they will still take this market.NFC belongs to telcos.

It would certainly get interesting should Safaricom step up their NFC phones sales pitch & link up M-Shwari A/Cs with the Beba service

But the Brown Cookie looks almost ready.

Early lead. But its the numbers that matter most.

Personally I think they made a terrible move.When the time is ready Scom will embarrass them.They have the lead but not the advantage.For one thing NFC is the next battle ground for telcos especially for cashless transactions and I suspect that is why google targeted equity.

Although other financial institutions are trying to tap NFC,the convenience offered by smartphones is greater than cards.Its all in one.I am also considering that consumer education can be done easily by telcos than equity or google because when it comes to technology in Kenya they are the influential players.

Another aspect you've brought up is M-shwari and M-pesa.NFC might be used to create transactions easier especially for M-pesa and I suspect we will also see a Scom app that might rely on it.But I have to check the security of NFC first.All in all,NFC will be everywhere!

If SCOM can have the transactions occur-in-app, then the early lead can be erased and forgotten since:
1. SCOM is well trusted in marketing tech products [phones] by the masses

2. SCOM better placed to effectively & quickly manage the software component of the undertaking

3. Even though EQTY has a wide client-base, these phones need only be deployed to few [ Matatu operators esp & other traders in future ]

Presenting a very huge opportunity for SCOM or any other telco willing to fuel this to the next level, mass adoption.

I agree.I think thats why I'm attracted to Scom as a share,it has great potential especially to convert technology into profit.It would have been great if equity and scom partnered up on this and other projects.IMO these two are well suited but alas with two giants egos will be the issue.

Not happening.

These now are competitors.

Think M-Shwari & the fact SCOM already partnered with CBA
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
chiaroscuro
#22 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 2:39:43 PM

....and there was M-Kesho.... and now M-Shwari
symbols
#23 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 2:45:33 PM

They are competitors now.M-Kesho disappointed me,it didn't pick up.What could have been the reason?
Museveni
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 2:48:09 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
....and there was M-Kesho.... and now M-Shwari

symbols wrote:
They are competitors now.M-Kesho disappointed me,it didn't pick up.What could have been the reason?

M-Kesho was the product launched in collaboration with EQTY

With M-Shwari & CBA, the idea was taken a notch higher with very good returns rendering M-Kesho almost redundant
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
young farmer
#25 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 7:42:49 AM

Thanking all Wazuan for positive advice, my share now is 20 shilling more the buying price. if not for this website i could have sold at loss. Happy weekend members
#26 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 7:45:53 AM

young farmer wrote:
Thanking all Wazuan for positive advice, my share now is 20 shilling more the buying price. if not for this website i could have sold at loss. Happy weekend members

karibu sana and happy weekend too

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#27 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 8:05:04 AM

young farmer wrote:

Must be a good feeling, right?
mnandii
#28 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 9:03:57 AM

young farmer wrote:

Must be a good feeling, right?

Applause

Nice feeling true. But remember it's still floating profits. Not yet realized which according to .....

I better not spoil the celebration. smile

Enjoy.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
young farmer
#29 Posted : Saturday, September 06, 2014 11:51:43 AM

Feeling good and future still look brighter. Long term investment always pay.
babaroy
#30 Posted : Sunday, September 07, 2014 3:45:33 PM

foreigners have been exiting this counter for the last 4 weeks....Not talking
edwinmukiri
#31 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 8:10:10 AM

i bougth this share. at 39 bob... is it advicable to buy more at the current price?
Bulls make money,bears make money and pigs get slaughtered.
meme
#32 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 9:39:30 AM

edwinmukiri wrote:
i bougth this share. at 39 bob... is it advicable to buy more at the current price?

Its not time to exit this counter. Hang on till 60. exit date is jan 2015
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
edwinmukiri
#33 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 10:20:38 AM

meme wrote:
edwinmukiri wrote:

Does that mean its a good idea to buy more of this shares?
Bulls make money,bears make money and pigs get slaughtered.
jwatesh
#34 Posted : Monday, September 08, 2014 10:29:53 AM

Equity will go into the market for more money, most likely a rights issue, to fund expansion into other countries (DRC,Nigeria, Ghana, Zambia) wait for this. I am buying more stocks. Most of their lending is to SMEs hence higher interest rate charges as compared to government lending. The lend out 80% of the value of deposits so in my view they are doing great. Perfect choice for long term investors
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 7:39:03 PM

13,298,900 shares sold today.. interesting times

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#36 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2016 8:19:53 PM

jwatesh wrote:
Equity will go into the market for more money, most likely a rights issue, to fund expansion into other countries (DRC,Nigeria, Ghana, Zambia) wait for this. I am buying more stocks. Most of their lending is to SMEs hence higher interest rate charges as compared to government lending. The lend out 80% of the value of deposits so in my view they are doing great. Perfect choice for long term investors

2 years later [the above post was written on 8 Sep 2014] and how the market has changed with the Interest Capping Amendment.
mikanjoroge
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2016 7:43:15 AM

edwinmukiri wrote:
meme wrote:
edwinmukiri wrote:

Wazua keeps a good record, some people were spectacularly wrong. I am tempted to say now is a good time to buy and exit at 40, but next year these shares could be less than 15 and some mjuaji will be retrieving my post and highlighting my folly. Decisions, decisions, decisions.
Felipe
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2016 8:28:52 AM

edwinmukiri wrote:
meme wrote:
edwinmukiri wrote:

When fear is greatest it's indeed the time to buy. Do your analysis by finding out how much of the revenue will be eroded due to capping of interest rate and re-value Equity. If the price goes below your new value..confidently buy.
TA = Price Action + Vol + S/R + Trend + Pattern.
Ebenyo
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2016 11:53:17 AM

This counter is a BUY.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
watesh
#40 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2016 12:50:34 PM

jwatesh wrote:

2 years later [the above post was written on 8 Sep 2014] and how the market has changed with the Interest Capping Amendment.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly got over 600k paper loss in my account from just this stock only, but i still can't find anything better in banking sector apart from KCB maybe. The stock market and govt have been brutal to me Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....however on the bright side, my dividend yield based on my average buying price keeps rising which was my main aim at the end.