wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Equity Bank Shares time to sell or not?
young farmer
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:07:13 AM

I'm confused and i really need some advice, is Equity bank bottomed or what? According to report from Rwanda, Uganda & South Sudan the bank is not performing and their credit continue to grow. Now i'm wondering is time to sell my Shares at loss or i continue to hold hoping for a bright future. Note i bought it when it was trading at 27 Shillings. Thank you.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 8:41:24 AM

If you do not need the cash urgently then you should hold out for 27bob!

Why sell a cheap stock at a loss?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 10:36:12 AM

young farmer wrote:
I'm confused and i really need some advice, is Equity bank bottomed or what? According to report from Rwanda, Uganda & South Sudan the bank is not performing and their credit continue to grow. Now i'm wondering is time to sell my Shares at loss or i continue to hold hoping for a bright future. Note i bought it when it was trading at 27 Shillings. Thank you.

@Young farmer welcome to wazua, you will get lots of useful advise here, all free of charge so long as you also share.

Now on your dilemma, you talk of "According to report from Rwanda, Uganda & South Sudan". Have you seen this report, is it from credible sources?

you will realize that there are many false beliefs in stock investing. Many people just think its easy - You just buy and wait for the price to rise then sell!

This is comparable to just showing up at the Olympics and expecting to win the sprint gold. It will not happen and you can take this to Equity Bank and take a loan on it (pun intended).

For you to decide whether to sell or not, you need to answer the question "why did i buy?" first. For you to answer that question you need to invest in some stock trading knowledge first.

You might want to join the wazua group gmail list.
MoneyMonger
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 2:00:25 PM

young farmer wrote:

@Young farmer welcome to wazua, you will get lots of useful advise here, all free of charge so long as you also share.

Now on your dilemma, you talk of "According to report from Rwanda, Uganda & South Sudan". Have you seen this report, is it from credible sources?

you will realize that there are many false beliefs in stock investing. Many people just think its easy - You just buy and wait for the price to rise then sell!

This is comparable to just showing up at the Olympics and expecting to win the sprint gold. It will not happen and you can take this to Equity Bank and take a loan on it (pun intended).

For you to decide whether to sell or not, you need to answer the question "why did i buy?" first. For you to answer that question you need to invest in some stock trading knowledge first.

Great advice from @Sparkly. You have to know how to evaluate the value of a stock and it includes knowing how to pick out relevant information from a company's financial reports. I spend time reading about stock market investing and relevant news and I can admit I spend some money too in books. Wazua is also a great resource. If you find yourself being frequently indecisive I would advice you dont put too much of your savings in stocks till you are comfortable.
There is nothing as dangerous as an Idea, when there is only one Idea
jacmuchiri
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 2:25:49 PM

@Sparkly how do i join wazua group gmail list...i would be interested.
...When they count the men who built Kenya, will you be in the list? I choose to go long term....
Pesa Nane
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 2:51:13 PM

jacmuchiri wrote:

@Jacmuchiri, Karibu.
1. On your browser, go to 'groups.google.com'
2. On the homepage, enter 'wazua' on the groups search.
3. Click on wazua group and subscribe - a mail will be sent to the administrator who will accept you.

Its all very very free. Your contribution is welcome
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
the deal
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 4:06:13 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
jacmuchiri wrote:

@Jacmuchiri, Karibu.
3. Click on wazua group and subscribe - a mail will be sent to the administrator who will accept you.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kenyans love free things...

On EB good stock, ignore the noise.

Aguytrying
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 7:40:54 PM

I've noted for the first time in over a year it closed at 25.00
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Pesa Nane
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 9:15:37 PM

the deal wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
jacmuchiri wrote:

@Jacmuchiri, Karibu.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kenyans love free things...

On EB good stock, ignore the noise.

@the deal, ever heard of "the best things in life are FREE??smile
Pesa Nane
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 9:31:15 PM

young farmer wrote:

Minus distortion, similar article on BD. RINK
young farmer
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2012 11:24:57 PM

Advice to myself; don't get greedy, i really enjoyed reading your advice from Wazua family.What a great compilation of advisors. i thoroughly enjoyed each advice. Sparkly And Moneymonger that was moving advice.

jacmuchiri
#12 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 4:57:11 AM

@Sparkly thanks a lot...am in!
...When they count the men who built Kenya, will you be in the list? I choose to go long term....
#13 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 6:18:09 AM

jacmuchiri wrote:
@Sparkly thanks a lot...am in!

I hope you will also be contributing here and there. Welcome to Wazua
BGL
#14 Posted : Sunday, March 24, 2013 11:46:31 AM

Equity is the home of innovation

Hashi Energy and Equity Bank unveil LPG cylinder credit facility

http://www.equitybank.co...cylinder-credit-facility
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Museveni
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 12:48:22 PM

C&P
Tuesday, April 30, 2013 | 10:36 AM

The bus is a great way to get around, but it can be frustrating if you don’t have enough money for the journey, or the conductor forgets to give you change from your fare.
So Google has teamed up with Equity Bank, the largest bank in East Africa, to launch BebaPay, a payment card that makes it easier and more convenient to pay for bus travel in Kenya.

Link

What are the figures contributed in the short period the collaboration has been in effect ?

Too risky or another milestone bagged ?
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
symbols
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 12:55:13 PM

Museveni wrote:
C&P

The bus is a great way to get around, but it can be frustrating if you don’t have enough money for the journey, or the conductor forgets to give you change from your fare.
So Google has teamed up with Equity Bank, the largest bank in East Africa, to launch BebaPay, a payment card that makes it easier and more convenient to pay for bus travel in Kenya.

Link

What are the figures contributed in the short period the collaboration has been in effect ?

Risky.It might take some time but when safaricom starts introducing NFC smartphones,they will still take this market.NFC belongs to telcos.
Museveni
#17 Posted: : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 1:13:33 PM

symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
C&P

Link

Risky.It might take some time but when safaricom starts introducing NFC smartphones,they will still take this market.NFC belongs to telcos.

It would certainly get interesting should Safaricom step up their NFC phones sales pitch & link up M-Shwari A/Cs with the Beba service

But the Brown Cookie looks almost ready.

Early lead. But its the numbers that matter most.
symbols
#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 1:31:08 PM

Museveni wrote:
symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
C&P

Link

It would certainly get interesting should Safaricom step up their NFC phones sales pitch & link up M-Shwari A/Cs with the Beba service

Personally I think they made a terrible move.When the time is right Scom will embarrass them.They have the lead but not the advantage.For one thing NFC is the next battle ground for telcos especially for cashless transactions and I suspect that is why google targeted equity.

Although other financial institutions are trying to tap NFC,the convenience offered by smartphones is greater than cards.Its all in one.I am also considering that consumer education can be done easily by telcos than equity or google because when it comes to technology in Kenya they are the influential players.

Another aspect you've brought up is M-shwari and M-pesa.NFC might be used to create transactions easier especially for M-pesa and I suspect we will also see a Scom app that might rely on it.But I have to check the security of NFC first.All in all,NFC will be everywhere so for developers,don't ignore NFC or APIs from Kenya!
Museveni
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 1:52:43 PM

symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
C&P

Link

Personally I think they made a terrible move.When the time is ready Scom will embarrass them.They have the lead but not the advantage.For one thing NFC is the next battle ground for telcos especially for cashless transactions and I suspect that is why google targeted equity.

Although other financial institutions are trying to tap NFC,the convenience offered by smartphones is greater than cards.Its all in one.I am also considering that consumer education can be done easily by telcos than equity or google because when it comes to technology in Kenya they are the influential players.

Another aspect you've brought up is M-shwari and M-pesa.NFC might be used to create transactions easier especially for M-pesa and I suspect we will also see a Scom app that might rely on it.But I have to check the security of NFC first.All in all,NFC will be everywhere!

If SCOM can have the transactions occur-in-app, then the early lead can be erased and forgotten since:
1. SCOM is well trusted in marketing tech products [phones] by the masses

2. SCOM better placed to effectively & quickly manage the software component of the undertaking

3. Even though EQTY has a wide client-base, these phones need only be deployed to few [ Matatu operators esp & other traders in future ]

Presenting a very huge opportunity for SCOM or any other telco willing to fuel this to the next level, mass adoption.
symbols
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2013 2:04:03 PM

Museveni wrote:
symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
symbols wrote:
Museveni wrote:
C&P

Link

Personally I think they made a terrible move.When the time is ready Scom will embarrass them.They have the lead but not the advantage.For one thing NFC is the next battle ground for telcos especially for cashless transactions and I suspect that is why google targeted equity.

Another aspect you've brought up is M-shwari and M-pesa.NFC might be used to create transactions easier especially for M-pesa and I suspect we will also see a Scom app that might rely on it.But I have to check the security of NFC first.All in all,NFC will be everywhere!

If SCOM can have the transactions occur-in-app, then the early lead can be erased and forgotten since:
1. SCOM is well trusted in marketing tech products [phones] by the masses

2. SCOM better placed to effectively & quickly manage the software component of the undertaking

3. Even though EQTY has a wide client-base, these phones need only be deployed to few [ Matatu operators esp & other traders in future ]

Presenting a very huge opportunity for SCOM or any other telco willing to fuel this to the next level, mass adoption.

I agree.I think thats why I'm attracted to Scom as a share,it has great potential especially to convert technology into profit.It would have been great if equity and scom partnered up on this and other projects.IMO these two are well suited but alas with two giants egos will be the issue.