wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

6 Pages<12345>»
Scenic routes
Wakanyugi
#41 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 9:53:17 AM

The first time I took the twists and turns from masaku to Wote I was mesmerized. Try that route, get to Wote, then via Ukia into murram all the way to Emali... and back via Mombasa road.

This one I agree. But you don't to do murram if you are willing to avoid some sections. For instance, take the tarmac from Machakos all the way through Kathonzweni to emerge near Kibwezi. Then cross over and drive to Loitoktok if you wish or drive back to Nairobi through Mombasa road.

This is a scenic hidden gem.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#42 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:02:11 AM

this thread reminds me of those ugly maps in form 4 Geog exams - torture!
Wakanyugi
#43 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:06:00 AM

For people with the time and patience, may I suggest the 'double mountains route.' Start from Nairobi and drive to Nyahururu, preferably using the new Njabini-Dudori road and turning right at Ol Kalou.

From Nyahururu drive to Nyeri town, passing Baks new keja in Mweiga, and turn off to Kerugoya-Embu at Karatina town. Then all the way past Meru round Mount Kenya and through Nanyuki, Karatina, Sagana and back to Nairobi.

You can do it in a leisurely weekend. The scenery is to die for.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:14:04 AM

this thread reminds me of those ugly maps in form 4 Geog exams - torture!

and you were supposed to read them,analyse bla bla bla I so hated map work..
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:56:18 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
For people with the time and patience, may I suggest the 'double mountains route.' Start from Nairobi and drive to Nyahururu, preferably using the new Njabini-Dudori road and turning right at Ol Kalou.

From Nyahururu drive to Nyeri town, passing Baks new keja in Mweiga, and turn off to Kerugoya-Embu at Karatina town. Then all the way past Meru round Mount Kenya and through Nanyuki, Karatina, Sagana and back to Nairobi.

You can do it in a leisurely weekend. The scenery is to die for.

smile I bet to enjoy this thoroughly you need atleast 3 days... stopovers in-between.

#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:07:17 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Looking for scenic routes within the Nairobi Metropolis for a road trip. Any ideas.

@JB, please report back on which scenic route is eventually taken and how it was

Will most definitely @butterflyke. Na it's good watu to recommend stop overs. Those campsites, the lodges, etc on the same routes. But need more on the Metropolis tafadhali, not strongholds.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:22:49 AM

go to magadi town. on your way stop over at olepolos for choma and your way back stop at tinga town and enquire about plots.
To avoid lions on the road as you exit the rongai republic smile use karen ngong
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:28:56 AM

digitek1 wrote:
go to magadi town. on your way stop over at olepolos for choma and your way back stop at tinga town and enquire about plots.
To avoid lions on the road as you exit the rongai republic smile use karen ngong

hii barabara mbaya sana shamba afadhali...btw y hasnt anyone thot of putting up a bice hotel this sides,magadi should be a large tourist attraction site...so sad.
ngugifred
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:38:29 PM

Most of you get Es for your answers...

At least we get to know what our lovely country has to offer.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 10:52:50 PM

.....just did the NBI, village market, kiambu, dumberi, githunguri....etc today: Can't say which had a bigger influence, the fear or the enjoyment.....lol!!!
ngugifred
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:03:06 PM

.....just did the NBI, village market, kiambu, dumberi, githunguri....etc today: Can't say which had a bigger influence, the fear or the enjoyment.....lol!!!

Sasa unaona. McReggae emerged from Ndumberi route unscathed. Now try the scenic Village market, Tigoni, Limuru route.
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:05:28 PM

Temebea kenya.Nbo is small.
Depart: Nbo
Arr: Khwisero

Stopovers: 6

nkr-eld-kaps-jeptulu-chavachava-bushiangala.

Watch out for heavy trucks,madeemoni and craters along highway.
Enjoy cool luhya tea as you approach maragoli land.
There's this soko for dogs.Tourist site.Pray buy one simba for your house.
You can use burnt forest, tokelezea kericho and enjoy the tea view.Awsome.
That would mean approaching western via kisumu so enjoy the omena being hawked,just assume they are cashewnuts.
When you arrive at Bushiangala,say bye bye to civilization and pray that you arrive in piece not pieces.
Keep the windows open cz a lone cane chewing monkey could provide company.
Last time I was around there,there was only one hotel serving tea and mandazis only.Forget chips and what not.Huko ni sugarcane so enjoy.

The other delicacy was something called 'mfunga tai.It's a long ndao twisted like rope.

And say hi to wamarama.

Safe trip.

#53 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:06:32 PM

ngugifred wrote:

Sasa unaona. McReggae emerged from Ndumberi route unscathed. Now try the scenic Village market, Tigoni, Limuru route.

This is a great route, especially towards Limuru and the tea plantations.
#54 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:07:04 PM

ngugifred wrote:

The marks giver needs Jesus more than a marking scheme. Kazi ni lusting after airports tuSad Mbloo it might be why you are depressed and have health issues.

Take a tour outdoors, helps clear ones thinking thus you get a good perspective of life and get to know the important things. Also there's no better way of talking and getting to know a female than on a long road trip... much better than a noisy pub or blankets/wine, Safari 7's or Conquer et al. Better still you get to clear your lungs off Nairobi pollution and get unadulterated food into your system. A few of this and passengers won't disembark early.

Wakanyugi
#55 Posted : Tuesday, April 23, 2013 11:42:26 PM

Here is another scenic route that I have not done in a long time.

Start from Nairobi to Thika - turn right on Garissa road and keep going. Past Matuu, Yatta, Ukasi - it used to be a legal requirement to wait for a convoy here. Then on to Garissa. Spend the night, pray you survive the terrorists. Those days the only place you could get a guaranteed cold beer was at Oasis or the the PC's compound.

Next morning head back towards Nairobi, cross the Tana rive bridge and turn left towards, Hola, Garsen, Malindi, Kilifi, Mombasa.

Arrive Mombasa very late, dusty and dog tired (don't worry, it is all tarmac these days). Lodge at the Castle Hotel (does it still exist?), careful of the Fatima's attention.

Early next morning head north towards Mazeras, Voi, Archers Post et al. Arrive Nairobi late evening, again dog tired but happy. Stop at Deep West for a cold beer and the best of Wenge Musica. Another weekend done, plus a day if you gave in to Fatima's temptation.

The scenery is mostly desert. Not much by day, but see it under the moonlight and you'll never forget.

Who says our country is boring?
#56 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2013 11:22:14 AM

Who has been to Ol Donyo Sabuk National Park just near the fourteen falls? Gari ndogo inawezana na huko ndani?
#57 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2013 1:03:50 PM

ngugifred wrote:

The marks giver needs Jesus more than a marking scheme. Kazi ni lusting after airports tuSad Mbloo it might be why you are depressed and have health issues.

Take a tour outdoors, helps clear ones thinking thus you get a good perspective of life and get to know the important things. Also there's no better way of talking and getting to know a female than on a long road trip... much better than a noisy pub or blankets/wine, Safari 7's or Conquer et al. Better still you get to clear your lungs off Nairobi pollution and get unadulterated food into your system. A few of this and passengers won't disembark early.

Exactment!!!!!
I have wondered how people katia and wins gals in those noisy pubs while holding beers, in those noisy pubs its only possible to win a a harlot!!!!!!!
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Theu
#58 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2013 1:49:47 PM

ngugifred wrote:

Exactment!!!!!
I have wondered how people katia and wins gals in those noisy pubs while holding beers, in those noisy pubs its only possible to win a a harlot!!!!!!!

#59 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2013 3:22:52 PM

Temebea kenya.Nbo is small.
Depart: Nbo
Arr: Khwisero

Stopovers: 6

nkr-eld-kaps-jeptulu-chavachava-bushiangala.

Watch out for heavy trucks,madeemoni and craters along highway.
Enjoy cool luhya tea as you approach maragoli land.
There's this soko for dogs.Tourist site.Pray buy one simba for your house.
You can use burnt forest, tokelezea kericho and enjoy the tea view.Awsome.
That would mean approaching western via kisumu so enjoy the omena being hawked,just assume they are cashewnuts.
When you arrive at Bushiangala,say bye bye to civilization and pray that you arrive in piece not pieces.
Keep the windows open cz a lone cane chewing monkey could provide company.
Last time I was around there,there was only one hotel serving tea and mandazis only.Forget chips and what not.Huko ni sugarcane so enjoy

The other delicacy was something called 'mfunga tai.It's a long ndao twisted like rope.

And say hi to wamarama.

Safe trip.

sounds interesting. should do this route sometime.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2013 3:31:32 PM

Theu wrote:
ngugifred wrote:

Exactment!!!!!

Its only in Kenya where you kati a girl by taking out to a food joint and the said girls eats like she is heading to the South Sudan the following day. I think Kenyan galz are food-maniacs!!!

TAKE A GIRL OUT,AS IN REAL OUTING...HUKO KITENGELA PLAINS AND WALK IN THE PRAIRIES WHILE MUNCHING MOKIMO, SHE WILL NEVER SAY NO.