wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

Solar laptops estimated cost is Ks200bn
#21 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:04:04 PM

winston wrote:
And for the starving families...the laptop will be sold on the first day it is issued!

SadSadSad
chiaroscuro
#22 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:09:58 PM

I think this project is more important to adult Kenyans that it is to the kids who will get the computers.

Kenyans have very low self-esteem. They don't believe they can do anything by themselves..."hiyo haiwezekani Kenya/Africa"!!

Some never believed that a 12-lane highway can be built in Kenya... and now they are saying it was a waste of money! For example this recent opinion article; http://www.standardmedia...the-footsteps-of-Kibaki

In my view; there should be no looking back, no postponement; come Jan 2013, all kids going to class one should get a comp each - let nobody even suggest sharing between two!

This is the sort of project that a nation needs to jolt its psyche so that they can start having a CAN DO attitude instead of the defeatist "IMPOSSIBLE" thinking that was cultivated by Moi over a 24-year misrule.
tom_boy
#23 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:23:13 PM

Now that I have had a chance to look at the news article, I think it is just rubbish and the writer has ulterior motives.

The computers though expensive initially will save alot in the cost of text books ove r the long term.

We cannot wait for everything to be perfect before implementing a policy. The free primary education system we have now was introduced chaotically. Even though there are many issues with it, I have not heard anyone say " I wish the free primary education was never introduced."

Teacher training is not an issue. A series of seminars is all it will take to introduce them to computers. The content will likely be the same to start with but as time evolves newer content will be developed to keep pace with the times. In due course , there may possibly be an exam in computer programming at std 8 level. Why not?

Teachers will be happier with less work. No more tedious homework and exams to mark. All can be computer based with the kids who get low scores being easily spotted and helped.

Virtual classrooms can spring up. A locality with few math teachers have the teacher teach via video link and all you need is assistants in the class to help the students go through difficult points. The video content can be replayed even while at home until the point gets through.

The possibilities are just endless in my opinion. A situation will even arise where the students will come up with their own solutions to learning challenges.

This, is the future of Learning.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#24 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:27:45 PM

.....do we have free primary educaction in Kenya, the fees I pay down in the village suggests not!!!!
#25 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:33:38 PM

Laptops vs. Computer Labs

Congratulations to our brand new president Kenyatta and deputy president Ruto. This is in response to their call to us to support them in taking Kenya forward. My contribution is in the form of ideas.
I wish to contribute to the debate on the promise made of issuing laptops to all children joining standard one in public schools in 2014. This is a noble idea but I believe that we should look at other alternatives that may more effectively meet the objective of introducing Kenyan children to IT at an early age.
My concern is that a laptop will not last very long in the hands of a six year old child. It is likely to be treated like a toy, exposed to rain and dust not to mention that the whole family will want to use it as well. Expect inter-sibling fights over use of the laptop with the young laptop owner likely coming out the loser.
Then there is the issue of insecurity. I fear that a young child walking around with a laptop is an easy target for thugs who are unfortunately all too common in Kenya nowadays.
We also have to contend with the rest of the children in classes 2 to 8 feeling left out. We must look at this from the eyes of a child. All they will see is that the young ones are being favoured. There will be pressure on struggling parents to buy laptops for all their children yet they can hardly afford to feed them well.
In light of these concerns, I propose that instead of issuing laptops to the class one pupils only, it may be more effective and cheaper in the long run to establish computer labs in each public primary school. The computer labs can be equipped with desktop computers for a standard class of say 40 pupils. A new IT lesson should then be introduced in the school curriculum so that all classes get at least a one hour lesson per week. This can then culminate in an IT competency certification process along the lines of the internationally recognized ICDL. This approach will also lead to job creation for the youth because IT instructors will be required in public schools.
On keeping the costs of this project low and guaranteeing the procurement of high quality equipment, procurement laws should be amended to ensure that the government procures goods directly from manufactures only instead of the current use of agents and middlemen. Computer labs can also have a standard design and size so that the cost of building them is kept under control and made comparable across the country. In fact, I would expect that CDF money can be used to build the computer labs and install solar panels in areas without electricity. In any case, KPLC should at the very least supply electricity to all shopping centres, health centres and schools across the whole country.
Bachuma Gate
#26 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:58:02 PM

McReggae - I think what you are saying is that lets be practicle as we try to achieve this objective.

What you never addressed is unlike personal laptops, the labs can be available over periods of 3 to 5 years while laptops have to be bought every years. Sustainability and financial prudence. ??.

All of us appreciate the need to entrench IT in our kids. The issue here is the best method/approach.
DOH
Mainat
#27 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:59:32 PM

Who knows where I can buy a solar laptop in Nairobi? Price, specifications? Anybody used one?
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Liv
#28 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 12:59:44 PM

Congratulations to our brand new president Kenyatta and deputy president Ruto. This is in response to their call to us to support them in taking Kenya forward. My contribution is in the form of ideas.
I wish to contribute to the debate on the promise made of issuing laptops to all children joining standard one in public schools in 2014. This is a noble idea but I believe that we should look at other alternatives that may more effectively meet the objective of introducing Kenyan children to IT at an early age.
My concern is that a laptop will not last very long in the hands of a six year old child. It is likely to be treated like a toy, exposed to rain and dust not to mention that the whole family will want to use it as well. Expect inter-sibling fights over use of the laptop with the young laptop owner likely coming out the loser.
Then there is the issue of insecurity. I fear that a young child walking around with a laptop is an easy target for thugs who are unfortunately all too common in Kenya nowadays.
We also have to contend with the rest of the children in classes 2 to 8 feeling left out. We must look at this from the eyes of a child. All they will see is that the young ones are being favoured. There will be pressure on struggling parents to buy laptops for all their children yet they can hardly afford to feed them well.
In light of these concerns, I propose that instead of issuing laptops to the class one pupils only, it may be more effective and cheaper in the long run to establish computer labs in each public primary school. The computer labs can be equipped with desktop computers for a standard class of say 40 pupils. A new IT lesson should then be introduced in the school curriculum so that all classes get at least a one hour lesson per week. This can then culminate in an IT competency certification process along the lines of the internationally recognized ICDL. This approach will also lead to job creation for the youth because IT instructors will be required in public schools.
On keeping the costs of this project low and guaranteeing the procurement of high quality equipment, procurement laws should be amended to ensure that the government procures goods directly from manufactures only instead of the current use of agents and middlemen. Computer labs can also have a standard design and size so that the cost of building them is kept under control and made comparable across the country. In fact, I would expect that CDF money can be used to build the computer labs and install solar panels in areas without electricity. In any case, KPLC should at the very least supply electricity to all shopping centres, health centres and schools across the whole country.

1) These school laptops are not meant for computer lessons. They are like pen and paper. They are to be used to learn maths, english, etc... not computer lessons.

2) there are special laptops for this. They are made form plastic, they do not break when they are dropped down, water does not affect them.

3) Laptops will be left in school. Just like text books. The class teacher distributes them every morning and collects them for safe keeping at end of the day.
iller
#29 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 1:16:08 PM

winston wrote:
Sometimes a good leader must recognise when they have erred and reverse their decisions even if it will cost them an arm and a leg.

Given the state of our educational system, its simply a great idea at the wrong time.

Lets not use the state of urban schools to extrapolate to the village schools...their priorities are a million miles apart.

And for the starving families...the laptop will be sold on the first day it is issued!

Hear, hear!
#30 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 1:30:53 PM

There will be a very big black market for laptops,after we steal them.
#31 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 2:17:56 PM

Let us assume.....really dream big and we get the said laptops.

Who is going to teach the students to use the laptop?

I know I know, teachers...Which ones? The teachers I know can't use email.

What are they going to be teaching with a laptop in standard 1?

A for apple, B for burukenge, J for Jubilee?

Aren't we killing a mosquito with a hammer here?

Is the syllabus changing or are we just adding laptops.

Who is going to get the contract to bring in the laptops?

Who is going to get the contract to fix the laptop in Mogotio?

I think big dreams are good when they are spiced with realism.

Jubilee guys were happy talking laptops but even today, right now. Many Kenyans, a majority don't have an email address. A smart phone is only used to send sms and mpesa. That button for internet is never touched.

I know because I'm in this business. Just because you go to wazua don't think a standard 3 teacher in Thika has an idea what a laptop is.

Lakini.....Shauri yenu...You voted for them. Go get your laptop.
Mainat
#32 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 2:58:19 PM

Look-the free laptop is a good idea. But so is requiring all new houses to have solar energy; reducing the president's motorcade to max 6 cars; doing away with the Senate; rotational presidency.
If we want to support the growth ICT in Kenya, lets start by digitising GoK processes. Lets start with land (personal bias) and ensure all land records are computerised and easily accessible from a land office in the 47 counties. From there, we can move to taxation; education; health. Imagine how much this would transform Kenyan lives?
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Museveni
#33 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 3:04:13 PM

Let us assume.....really dream big and we get the said laptops.

Who is going to teach the students to use the laptop?

I know I know, teachers...Which ones? The teachers I know can't use don't have an email.

What are they going to be teaching with a laptop in standard 1?

A for apple, B for burukenge, J for Jubilee?

Aren't we killing a mosquito with a hammer here?

Is the syllabus changing or are we just adding laptops.

Who is going to get the contract to bring in the laptops?

Who is going to get the contract to fix the laptop in Mogotio?

I think big dreams are good when they are spiced with realism.

Jubilee guys were happy talking laptops but even today, right now. Many Kenyans, a majority don't have an email address. A smart phone is only used to send sms and mpesa. That button for internet is never touched.

I know because I'm in this business. Just because you go to wazua don't think a standard 3 teacher in Thika has an idea what a laptop is.

Lakini.....Shauri yenu...You voted for them. Go get your laptop.

Look at the scenario after the elections.

All those accounts on facebook and twitter by the elected officials are back in ICEAGE.

It is either the officials haven't paid the people running the A/Cs on their behalf or they sacked them because many of these politicians are illiterate when it comes to technology.

An ambitious project.

Some will get rich. Very very rich.

The kids will enjoy the 'toys' while they last.

And we all shall walk around with a big hole in our wallets and purses.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
gregory
#34 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 3:25:23 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
gregory wrote:
Bachuma Gate wrote:
We do not need to give every std one pupil a Laptop. Better we have all primary schools and secondary schools with proper computer labs so that ALL pupils/students can access technology. It is easier to administer and provide the skills required.

have you seen the kind of equipment in our engineering classes at public universities? isn't it a joke that a young child will have been exposed to a laptop at an early age only to end up mastering his trade at university with obsolete technology. d'oh!

Gregory -- What would you advocate for ?. Above in my opinion is what would be best as opposed to giving EVERY standard 1 pupil in the country a laptop.

let's start with the basics. the 700,000 pupils are not on equal footing. somelearn under properly constructed classrooms, some under structures that could collapse any minute ans some under trees. are these pupils the same when it comes time for kcpe? they do exactly the same exam. i would start with equalizing the current infrastructure. give them proper classrooms, enough teachers, textbooks etc. then we can get them the laptop after that
gregory
#35 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 3:27:41 PM

Liv wrote:

1) These school laptops are not meant for computer lessons. They are like pen and paper. They are to be used to learn maths, english, etc... not computer lessons.

2) there are special laptops for this. They are made form plastic, they do not break when they are dropped down, water does not affect them.

3) Laptops will be left in school. Just like text books. The class teacher distributes them every morning and collects them for safe keeping at end of the day.

on your point no. 3, is there adequate security? remember even government offices guarded by APs have been broken into and stuff stolen
tom_boy
#36 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 7:28:38 PM

tom_boy wrote:
Guys, cut this gava some slack. I think their proposals are achievable and very good for Kenya. I did not vote for Uhuruto but I decided to do some research on their most hair brained (in my opinion) proposal so far..... that of a laptop for every child, and these are the points I came up with.

1. The current education system is obsolete. If at all a good education is meant to prepare one for a future that is 20 yrs away, we cannot continue learning like we used to 50 yrs ago.

2. Computers are here to stay and will permeate every level of society.

3. You do not need a teacher to teach children how to use a computer. All I know about computers is self taught and I am sure it is so for very many people.

4. 1 teacher can reach many more pupils if each pupil has a computer. Computer based exams will not require a teacher to mark every single paper thus more time can be used to interact with the pupils.

There are so many other reasons which i will not post. I have posted links to some Ted talks on this issue. Please listen with an objective mind.

I feel the need should be to focus on the possibilities openned up by having each cjhild have a computer as opposed to not having one.

Trying to distribute a computer to every pupil is of course a lucrative money eating avenue, but then again, so is trying to distribute text books and other learning materials. If money will be eaten.... which is obvious it will, let it be eaten while doing worthwhile things.

http://www.ted.com/talks...chool_in_the_cloud.html

http://www.ted.com/talks...e_laptop_per_child.html

http://www.ted.com/talks...child_two_years_on.html

http://www.ted.com/talks...reinvent_education.html

These are just examples of some very informative talks on the future of learning. Many others abound and they all point to one thing ...... education as we know it and the learning process as currently practiced is not just broken but is totally obsolete. We have no reason to continue this way.

I am so disheartened that guys just don't get it. Please watch the videos then comment. Some of the issues raised like durability of the laptop used for such projects have already been addressed.

Each locality would probably have to come up with their own solutions on security of the laptops. By the way, these are special laptops, designed to be used by children. There may actually be no market for these gadgets outside the school system. In any case, they can be made traceable via GPRS.

My bottom line remains ..... The current Education system is obsolete..... pouring more money into it is a waste.

As so ably stated by @ Liv , laptops in school is not about teaching IT to kids. It is about replacing pen and paper.

If at all we are training children to take over this world in the next 20 yrs, how will pen and paper stuff help them.

When was the last time you wrote down anything official on pen and paper.... something intended for someone elses consumption, not your own.

One laptop per child is about changing how the child approaches problem solving in the dynamic world that we live in.

I don't care what the challenges are, they can be overcome.

Corruption will always be with us, whether the laptops come or don't come so that is not a reason to oppose such a move.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#37 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 7:43:32 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
We do not need to give every std one pupil a Laptop. Better we have all primary schools and secondary schools with proper computer labs so that ALL pupils/students can access technology. It is easier to administer and provide the skills required.

and 99.9% primary school teachers are computer illiterate. start with the teachers first.
#38 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 8:32:04 PM

And someone here is shamelessly saying that teachers can teach through video link when the place i am right now you cannot even upload a doc file. My friend kenya is not only in nairobi;-> tebea ujioneesmile
#39 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 8:35:51 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:

and 99.9% primary school teachers are computer illiterate. start with the teachers first.

Hehe. They will learn together with the kidssmile
#40 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:04:33 PM

Every pupil in kenya should have a laptop and must have a laptop. A laptop saves on books average 5 years, connects the kid to the world, fasttracks the kid to the information age.

Cost is not an issue for the GOK. GOK can identify a low cost, special basic laptop manufacturer. A primary school kid doesnt need the kid of computing power you need in the office.

GOK can establish a fund and invite donors to chip in. I am sure Microsoft could provide free windows installation, Intel free chips and the chinese govt could sponsor free casings.

The project can be spread out over a number of years. It can be a revolving fund where students who benefit can pay back after high school, to help others to purchase.