wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

5 Pages«<345
What to do with KCSE D-
#41 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 1:36:12 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
radio wrote:
@Um Sayala and @washilu are are kind! God bless your souls.

@ radio,
Thanks. Some of these things are necessary in Africa, the only trouble is when after a lot of sacrifice people never appreciate....and still need support as if its their entitlement.

But I think you are doing it wrong by making their life too easy and thus spoiling them in the process thus the entitlement attitude!

Like @Mc says above, maybe you should have set targets for them (in terms of expected grades) as a guarantee for you to continue paying for them. Also tell them the money you are paying is loan which they have to pay later (like HELB).
Um Sayala
#42 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 1:37:22 PM

Kwani you guys pay fees without monitoring the progress and only wait for the KCSE results???.....be kind responsibly!!!!

Sawa Chief. Congratulations for attaining that feat.
Now I need your advice. Where do I take him with D plain. any college that admits with that grade?.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
rryyzz
#43 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 1:49:36 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
Kwani you guys pay fees without monitoring the progress and only wait for the KCSE results???.....be kind responsibly!!!!

Now I need your advice. Where do I take him with D plain. any college that admits with that grade?.

If he managed a D in secondary school, do you expect the performance to be any different in college??? Discuss with the young man what his interests are then invest in that direction. The boy is bound to perform well in an area of his interest not what you push him to do.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#44 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 2:11:22 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
There are many craft and technician courses available for these young boys and girls only if they have the right attitude. Courses like building technology, plant operations, electrical installation, power mechanics, plumbing technology, capentry and joinery.

Check again the subject here!!!!

Mc, I've tried to generalize for the dilemma is widespread and is not helped by our insistence on varsity degree for all and sundry.
qooler
#45 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 2:51:11 PM

Um Sayala wrote:

With his attitude, it will be a bad idea to take him to college. getting him a shoe shine kiosk or maize roasting-jiko might be what will work for him
#46 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 4:10:04 PM

qooler wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

With his attitude, it will be a bad idea to take him to college. getting him a shoe shine kiosk or maize roasting-jiko might be what will work for him

I have profiled my siblings, nieces and nephews in terms of ability, I would not take you to high school to get a D......hio ni polytechnic, farming ama biachara!!!.....only those with the ability to get C+ and above will get my help, ukiuonza form one halafu uanze mchezo.......we look for an alternative pap!!!!
#47 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 4:12:25 PM

Mc .. even if you monitor, what would you do considering your parents expect that of you - pay school fees for your younger siblings?

Check 46 above, I can't pay for the sake of paying man!!!!
#48 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:20:35 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

If he managed a D in secondary school, do you expect the performance to be any different in college??? Discuss with the young man what his interests are then invest in that direction. The boy is bound to perform well in an area of his interest not what you push him to do.

You are helping the wrong way. Do not think for him. I have learnt from my mistake. Let him think what he wants to do. and do not throw good money after bad. Be categorical and what you expect from him. Get him to have a course which requires him to put his hands into the work - not roam around with brown envelops looking for a job. Eg, mechanic, tailoring, heavy duty machine operations etc... otherwise, if you arent careful, you'll be feeding his family in 10 years.....
5 Pages«<345