wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

I think I am being blackmailed
Tgoldman
#1 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2013 8:30:32 PM

Hi Wazuans. Please advise me accordingly on this intricate and rather bizzare con game for I am being blackmailed. An ex friend of mine whom I did a conduit and connected him with a supplier in Luthuli Avenue to purchase s3 phones wholesale is trying to blackmail me. I did know he has substance abuse problem and often spends large amount of money to sustain his drug shinanigans(charlie/blow). He called me sometime back, 3 weeks to be exact late in the night claiming he needed his money back as I connected him to the supplier and he will be returning some of the stock(worth about 2m). Two weeks passed on before I heard from him again claiming the phones are not working and I apparently have conned him and he will report me to CID which I found quite laughable.

Now yesterday afternoon, a dude calls from from the CID headquarters here in NBI claiming I have a case logged against me and I owe someone 2m and will have to report there. Granted I did receive the money through my account as I was the middle man and do know the supplier as he is a good friend of mine, am I liable and can this guy actually sue me and blackmail me.

What is rather baffling is the dude from CID says the other guy claims to have a document stating he lend the money to me for investments dating back to the day he took the goods, late last year and I owe him the principal plus purported interest....Wtf is happening in this damned world.

Given I have never had a legal problem all my life, what the hell shall I do about it. I have barely slept last night knowing this dude and his old man and how well off they are, can they sue me for something I have never done. I am thinking of lawyering up and going to CID headquarters and sorting this out but unfortunately most of my money is tied in puts and real estate currently.

Is it really practical using his famous name he can take me to court for defamation and demand his money back, heck even get me locked up. Has anyone ever been to cid offices in Nairobi and what is the procedure like? Am I going to go there and get harassed by possibly payed cops who will rough me up and even lock me up or is it merely procedural and I can even sue him for blackmail and see this so called letter I affirmed and what I owe this guy.

Where is the damn justice in this world? Can a rich punk really put an innocent man behind bars?
Are there any probono lawyers who can help.

Please advise fellas. Much appreciated.
iKenya
#2 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 5:06:38 AM

First, get your emotions and fears oiut of this, it is very hard reading (but i understand what you are going through) through your post.

However, my understanding is that you are somehow being asked to give back money which you basically were a middle man for (Why again?? hope it doenst rhyme with washing clothes).

Issues.

1. Was there any signed contract? Does the purported letter exist?
2. This is a civil matter, hakuna mambo ya cell
3. Why defamation - is there something you are not saying? then again, you just called him a pharmacist, or a pharmacists client!
4. CID is all about posturing and threats, however, you sound scared like there is more you are not saying.
5. Sorry but, Money does speak ultimately! unfortunate but, thats what you need to know....forget probono, get yourself a lawyer!
6. Get yourself a lawyer, regardless, it is not easy trying to defend/free yourself when you are already in CID HQ.
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 8:07:12 AM

Pull a Githongo on the fellow. Ask to meet him, walk him through the process of wht transpired, lead him to mentioning all the details and record everything!!! Make sure you test your recording gadget in advance to make sure it gets the best possible audio quality and also meet him in a quiet place.

Get copies of the recording and have them safely stored in different locations. Send him a copy and tell him it's on! This ought to make him change his mind and call off the con game. Just in case he doesn't and you guys end up in court, talk to a lawyer in advance to advice you on the admissibility of the recording in court and/or what you have to do to make sure it holds. You can also start recording his calls and those of the purported CID fellow.
Vallerrie
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 8:10:31 AM

Wow, I feel bad for you. With friends like yours who needs enemies?
chepkel
#5 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 9:20:34 AM

I am sooo sorry for your troubles its quite unfortunate that sometimes human beings can be soo cruel.

Anyway, now that you are broke, there is something Known as the National Legal Aid Council. My brother happens to head the North rift region of this body and were you n Eldoret resident I would have taken you to his office.

This body is paid by the Government to offer free legal aid counsel to the Kenyan people so you can head there and get some advice. I have forgotten the name of the building that they are in but its the one next to Barclays Bank Queensway branch. The same building that houses Porters restaurant (I hope thats the correct name).

Plus my sister is a lawyer, if you want to get some one on one advice I can hook you up. My email is chepkel25@gmail.com
#6 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 9:49:57 AM

For a fee which depends on the security your friend has,he can disappear never to be seen again and your problem is sorted in at most 3 days.Weka email hapa I link you to the right people instead of wasting time with the lawyers,police and courts.
Tgoldman
#7 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 11:09:42 AM

Thanks for the advise fellas. It is true, I was being extremely emotional about this whole thing and now am calm. To clarify few issues:

1- No legal letter exists which now I am seeing as my biggest and almost surety to win this blackmail game. Hell there is no way in hell he even knows my signature and plan on getting a copy of my official signature from my bank before Wednesday. I think he only may know my ID number only.
2- I know my old friend is a junkie because I have seen him spend loads of his father's wealth on booze and other illicit endeavors.
3 Did contact the seller of the samsung phones and will be getting a receipt to back me up.
4- Plan on lawyering up with a cheap lawyer friend who will charge me 10k to go to cid offices with me and see the whole thing through.

Will be heading there this coming Wednesday to sort this issue and update accordingly. I also downloaded decent recording software onto my cell in case I get other calls. Shall be putting on my best suit come d day and will face this head on. Considering contacting his father also and explain to him his son's situation as he is well aware of his drug problem.

Mawinder, thanks but no thanks for I have never conned anyone in my entire life, let alone ordered a hit on them.

Cheers all and pleasant weekend.
iMANI
#8 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 11:23:46 AM

For a fee which depends on the security your friend has,he can disappear never to be seen again and your problem is sorted in at most 3 days.Weka email hapa I link you to the right people instead of wasting time with the lawyers,police and courts.

@mawinder

it seems you can make very many people to disappear..were you (are you) a magician..would like to know the tricks you use...smile smile
Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

#9 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 11:32:36 AM

iMANI wrote:

@mawinder

it seems you can make very many people to disappear..were you (are you) a magician..would like to know the tricks you use...smile smile

Ati magician?There are boys in Gachie who are well trained for such jobs.Their list of previous clients is amazing and they do the job with precision.
Vallerrie
#10 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 12:41:28 PM

Asi! Mawinder! What is it you do for a living again? You got some funny funny connections! From Escort services and now this? I'm giving you the side eye bro.
XSK
#11 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 8:31:22 PM

iMANI wrote:

@mawinder

Ati magician?There are boys in Gachie who are well trained for such jobs.Their list of previous clients is amazing and they do the job with precision.

@mawinder

are you from Gachie? That proposal is just not for wazua!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#12 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 10:32:37 PM

XSK wrote:
iMANI wrote:

@mawinder

@mawinder

@Tgoldman, I hope all goes well. If there is a lesson to be learned, never ever do business with a 'bad' person. No matter the amount of money you are bound to make.

Please while you are at the CID, could you let them know that we have a 'magician'/'matchmaker' whom, with the help of lady Admin, they can make his/her acquaintance?

#13 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 10:44:14 PM

I have my personal feelings about CID fellows which I can't mention in a public forum.

This is my advice and I know it works.

KAA NGUMU

And I mean that literally. If you did nothing wrong, tell them to take you to court and have your bail money ready. Don't play their games.

That is if you did nothing wrong. Kama ulikosa on the other hand, get a good lawyer. Na Ukae NGUMU pia.
#14 Posted : Saturday, April 06, 2013 10:54:44 PM

Does your friend know someone at NASWA, PASUA, PATIKANA, BUSTED, .. ETC.

#15 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2013 7:13:26 AM

XSK wrote:
iMANI wrote:

@mawinder

@mawinder

@Tgoldman, I hope all goes well. If there is a lesson to be learned, never ever do business with a 'bad' person. No matter the amount of money you are bound to make.

Please while you are at the CID, could you let them know that we have a 'magician'/'matchmaker' whom, with the help of lady Admin, they can make his/her acquaintance?

Yes let him them know and I assure you he will assist them with investigations.
#16 Posted : Sunday, April 07, 2013 7:31:27 AM

Tgoldman wrote:
Thanks for the advise fellas. It is true, I was being extremely emotional about this whole thing and now am calm. To clarify few issues:

1- No legal letter exists which now I am seeing as my biggest and almost surety to win this blackmail game. Hell there is no way in hell he even knows my signature and plan on getting a copy of my official signature from my bank before Wednesday. I think he only may know my ID number only.
2- I know my old friend is a junkie because I have seen him spend loads of his father's wealth on booze and other illicit endeavors.
3 Did contact the seller of the samsung phones and will be getting a receipt to back me up.
4- Plan on lawyering up with a cheap lawyer friend who will charge me 10k to go to cid offices with me and see the whole thing through.

Will be heading there this coming Wednesday to sort this issue and update accordingly. I also downloaded decent recording software onto my cell in case I get other calls. Shall be putting on my best suit come d day and will face this head on. Considering contacting his father also and explain to him his son's situation as he is well aware of his drug problem.

Mawinder, thanks but no thanks for I have never conned anyone in my entire life, let alone ordered a hit on them.

Cheers all and pleasant weekend.

If all you have said is true,play along but then don't bother to go to collect your specimen signature.Just let your advocate tell the CID that this is purely a civil matter and if they interfere they will face the consequences.It is like a bank taking you to CID for inability to pay a loan.Let your advocate do a letter to the Commissioner of Police copied to the AG,the Independent Police Oversight Authority,the Director of CID.I assure you this will scare the cops and they will tell the guy to go sort out his problems with you in a civil matter with his forged agreement which will be so easy for you to win.Be strong.
#17 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2013 12:38:27 PM

@mawinder – you never cease to amaze me.
addidaskawembe
#18 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2013 1:22:12 PM

Tgoldman wrote:

Hi Wazuans. Please advise me accordingly on this intricate and rather bizzare con game for I am being blackmailed.

@Tgoldman, those are threats but keep your guards up because some people take their threats far and I mean far.

1. Get a lawyer, get him write a letter to all parties including the CID, they should not harass you and if they have any issues let them state them - NB: 'The CID call could have been a hoax' or may be it wasn't officially logged in their records.

2. Don't enter into any communication with this chap or any of his emissaries because they will use your word against you.

3. Stay put and nothing will happen otherwise FEAR is a very powerful weapon and these guys are using it to their advantage.

NB: I dealt with a powerful cop who was my landlord and he thought that I would be a walkover, he regretted, infact the court said that I stay in his house for 6 months without paying rent which I did, we eventually settled out of court and I slowly moved out.
Ngong
#19 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2013 9:40:52 PM

Wewe uko kwa chinda,kwanza wewe sio mwenye duka kwa hivyo hauna simu ya kuuza, kweri rongo?
How did the money land into your account and not the shopkeepers?
You are more near somebody referred to as conman politely.since your commission should have come from the mobile seller,that is what being a middleman is.
Another thing the holy than thou attitude you want to display makes the matter worse,sasa umeingia kwa system and you wil be meat to many..the lawyers,the police,the advisers etc its all money money money..
If you get a serious cop @ CID, he wont waste too much time with you wewe mara moja kotini,bond ya kuiba 2 million ni 400k cash ama surety ya 4 million.kusema mtu ni drug addict hio sio kazi yao kazi ni 2 million ziko wapi?
ChumsQuest
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 1:11:51 AM

@mawinder – you never cease to amaze me.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Mawinder, careful baba. Admin wataanza kukuwatch...