5 Pages<1234>»
What to do with KCSE D-
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 4:42:08 PM

chemos wrote:
qooler wrote:
A support staff in my former workplace did KCSE last year and got D-

This is obviously a very poor performance, but considering she had dropped out in form 2 about 10 years ago due to financial problems. She registered to do KCSE last year, and was very determined despite the challenges of demanding work, low pay, single motherhood, ailing mum...

As colleagues we tried to help with revision and timeout (when the boss is away) and kidogo cash contributions

She wants advice what to do next.

But with D- , d'oh! Sad

Wazuans, any suggestions? will appreciate.

Pole @qooler..

you can retake the exam next year
.. at least you have gotten an idea of what kind of questions asked...

Usife moyo lakini D- is not the end of the world..

Also look for a few shillings as capital for a small business you have passion for. Learn about the basics of profit and loss accounts and as @Guka puts it, you can earn more than 30k a month, then stop being a support staff and be a Director of your own business.
chepkel
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 5:16:58 PM

I think it also depends on what she wants. Maybe she wants to be a doctor, lawyer, teacher or even an engineer!!!!!What was her aim in taking the K.C.S.E???

In this regard, whatever happened to polytechnics????? Angepenyea hapo bila wasi wasi.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 5:20:53 PM

Retaking the exam is not a good idea. Assuming she does better and get a C or C-? Then what?
I'm guessing she's about 30yrs, I think she needs to identify what she's good at and pursue then she can do her schooling/college in her own free time while earning an income. Right now all I see her getting in sec sch is papers that might not give her an advantage. At least for now she can now proudly say she cleared school.

I agree with you here.

She could also look for a course that requires mikono yake.Eg Kusuka nywele weave, manicure/pedicure , Kupika , housecleaning for the bachelours (lakini si wale wa kuombaomba nini ovyoovyo).

This services are in demand and she can curve out her market for her self.They require very little capital.

Goodluck to her.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 5:22:12 PM

chemos wrote:
qooler wrote:

This is obviously a very poor performance, but considering she had dropped out in form 2 about 10 years ago due to financial problems. She registered to do KCSE last year, and was very determined despite the challenges of demanding work, low pay, single motherhood, ailing mum...

As colleagues we tried to help with revision and timeout (when the boss is away) and kidogo cash contributions

But with D- , d'oh! Sad

Pole @qooler..

you can retake the exam next year.. at least you have gotten an idea of what kind of questions asked...

Usife moyo lakini D- is not the end of the world..

Pole sana @qooler btw how old are you? my advice is, don't rewind again just venture in business with the little you have. Or we can even organize a ka fundraising to help one of our own.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 5:28:08 PM

qooler wrote:
mukiha wrote:
Best option is to retake the exam with better preparation. There are revision and exam preparation centres in Nairobi. I know one called Visionary something with branches in South B and South C. Check Yellow pages

Thanks @mukiha. will check that out

Education never 'decays'. Let her rewind till she can get a B+ then she will be eligible for regular program. In the process she can hook up with the myriad of women NGOS that will support her and even get her a job- they like such stories
if maruge made it so can she
seppuku
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 7:35:39 PM

Back when I was in college, 2 watchmen enlisted the help of a friend of mine and I to coach them for KCSE. I like to think we gave them my best. I already had 2 years of teaching experience as a UT at the time. But I often felt they ought to let go. They both looked like they were in their mid thirties and both had a story like yours. Dropped off school long ago for lack of fees, had to live on a meager salary and to contend with long working hours. I would meet them in the evenings at their little both by the gate of a big hotel and they would often interrupt me to open for guests. Needless to say, they were a most frustrating lot to teach. While their determination encouraged me, their propensity to forget or simply not grasp a concept at all was astounding. In the end, they let go of us because they couldn't pay us any longer. I later heard they both scored D's, plus or minus I don't know. Given their circumstances, I think they did well. I think you did well too. Hapana rudi shule. Invest in a skill that will start making you money straight away. Hata kama ni apprenticeship ya kuuza chapati kando ya barabara. It can be mastered... then scaled.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 7:50:04 PM

Yaani this thread is slowly evolving to sound like it's qooler himself or herself who needs help? Smh
Rollout
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 9:28:58 PM

qooler wrote:

But with D- , d'oh! Sad

@Qooler,
How did you end up getting a D- come on, seriously? You are letting down our country, for that reason alone, I am asking Admin to terminate your membership here in Wazua. come on.
githundi
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 10:25:24 PM

qooler wrote:

But with D- , d'oh! Sad

Advise him/her to take technical course e.g tailoring which can come in handy incase of a job loss.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
qooler
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2013 4:46:50 PM

Ok, i agree to repeat the exams. In fact i will start right from KCPE!

Anyway, Thanks everyone for your advise (and lot of entertainment too)Applause Applause

I will give the ideas you gave, but whatever she decides, i have done my part.

5 Pages<1234>»