wazua Mon, Nov 17, 2025

285 Pages«<139140141142143>»
How to tell NSE has bottomed out
#2801 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 6:16:44 PM

Kanjora1 wrote:
If ICDC aka Centum hits 25/- I'll need to start looking for somewhere to park my yacht! Good times beckoning (whistles to myself)...

Likes this...Hope it does
#2802 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 6:26:19 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
How long does it take NSE to compute the day's index metrics? Or are the staff using abacus to do the math?? Very unprofessional for a bourse that wants to go global...

Why can't it be real time?
An abacus would be an improvement. I think they use pen & paper. Back in the day, there were so many errors. Basic addition & subtraction was a challenge!
hisah
#2803 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 6:29:17 PM

hisah wrote:

As for my trades - CFCI is within striking distance of my target @10.50 while JHL is slowly working towards 250.

Near term risk - locally - election case while globally - Cyprus throwing a nasty spanner into the works.

Today 250/- printed. Are you off the ship or will you sail further?

I'm thinking greedy since the bus has got to the stage too fast... 300 is within striking distance at this rate. I'll review once I see the results.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#2804 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 6:30:45 PM

hisah wrote:

As for my trades - CFCI is within striking distance of my target @10.50 while JHL is slowly working towards 250.

Near term risk - locally - election case while globally - Cyprus throwing a nasty spanner into the works.

I'm thinking greedy since the bus has got to the stage too fast... 300 is within striking distance at this rate. I'll review once I see the results.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Greed is good
hisah
#2805 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 6:30:58 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
How long does it take NSE to compute the day's index metrics? Or are the staff using abacus to do the math?? Very unprofessional for a bourse that wants to go global...

An abacus would be an improvement. I think they use pen & paper. Back in the day, there were so many errors. Basic addition & subtraction was a challenge!

If ATS is a computer based system I don't understand the delay.

Or is it an IEBC tallying moment...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#2806 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 6:56:30 PM

Turnover rose to Kshs. 858 Million from Kshs. 445 Million

The NSE-20 Share Index rose 72.22 points or 1.52% to 4830.44
The Nairobi All Share Index was up 2.13% to 117.23
hisah
#2807 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 7:39:15 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Back to Mar 14 level. Most likely 4900 handle is the target for the window dressing for the quarter.
#2808 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 7:42:29 PM

hisah wrote:

Typical for NSE investors to completely ignore price targets!

@hisah I was especially waiting to see what you would say when JUB hit 250 & frankly I be disappointed...
Aguytrying
#2809 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 8:55:36 PM

guru267 wrote:
hisah wrote:

@hisah I was especially waiting to see what you would say when JUB hit 250 & frankly I be disappointed...

you think he should sell?
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
symbols
#2810 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 9:04:40 PM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:

If ATS is a computer based system I don't understand the delay.

Or is it an IEBC tallying moment...

#2811 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 11:01:00 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
guru267 wrote:
hisah wrote:

you think he should sell?

Two friends having financial intercourse, with a few pinches and challenges here and there. Miss this.

mwekez@ji
#2812 Posted : Wednesday, March 27, 2013 11:30:54 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

smile the bulls are back for sure #How to tell NSE has bottomed out
#2813 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:12:37 AM

GEMS lini? If GEMS will be the Kenyan equivalent of the TSXV then it will surely be exciting...
hisah
#2814 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:21:53 AM

guru267 wrote:
hisah wrote:

This is the 2nd time I'm making an exception. Just like what I saw on mpesa bank after it hit 4/- within a short time frame.

And no, I'm not a typical investor. That you know.
hisah
#2815 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:38:02 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
GEMS lini? If GEMS will be the Kenyan equivalent of the TSXV then it will surely be exciting...

Anxiously waiting for it too. This is a high stakes game, which most likely NSE & CMA will impose an investment threshold to prevent wanjikus from frying. So I expect a minimum investment amount cutoff to be around 500k or 1M. Inventing in new mining startups that are prospecting is very risky. It can be a miss or success. This makes the paka or CMC shares to look safer!
#2816 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 7:54:15 AM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Anxiously waiting for it too. This is a high stakes game, which most likely NSE & CMA will impose an investment threshold to prevent wanjikus from frying. So I expect a minimum investment amount cutoff to be around 500k or 1M. Inventing in new mining startups that are prospecting is very risky. It can be a miss or success. This makes the paka or CMC shares to look safer!

I would be against the minimum threshold. Why assume that those with 5K to invest cannot qualify investments or understand risk/return. No need to lock out small investors from potential gains. What is your understanding of Wanjiku - the uninformed or those with little capital? Those two don't have to go together. You start small as you go up.
hisah
#2817 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 8:03:09 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

I would be against the minimum threshold. Why assume that those with 5K to invest cannot qualify investments or understand risk/return. No need to lock out small investors from potential gains. What is your understanding of Wanjiku - the uninformed or those with little capital? Those two don't have to go together. You start small as you go up.

The keyword here is high stakes. At the high stakes casino table, you don't show up with loose change even if you can take on the house! Smart wanjikus with small capital will be locked out. The lions have to fed first then the rest can join later. The market has owners just like the casino. Never forget that...
#2818 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 8:16:49 AM

hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
hisah wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

The keyword here is high stakes. At the high stakes casino table, you don't show up with loose change even if you can take on the house! Smart wanjikus with small capital will be locked out. The lions have to fed first then the rest can join later. The market has owners just like the casino. Never forget that...

Well, GEMS is not the first high stakes market to come on board. In other jurisdictions, nothing stops you from buying one share of startups (just as risky if not more) worth 0.05 dollars per share and a less than 1 mil market cap . Why should the GEMS be different? Ama kwa sababu ni Kenya? 'Wanjiku' are prevalent in every market.
hisah
#2819 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 8:41:54 AM

@youcant - I'm also using the REITs proposal as an indicator, which has an investment cap. Let's see how it pans out.

Will NSE20 finish March having vaulted the 4900 handle? Waiting for today's close. @NSE it doesn't make sense publishing the index metric 3hrs after market closure. That metric is not a secret code... FTSE NSE indices have a 15min delay and I expect this from a bourse that wants to be regional as well as thinking of putting up a futures market...
#2820 Posted : Thursday, March 28, 2013 8:55:10 AM

hisah wrote:
@youcant - I'm also using the REITs proposal as an indicator, which has an investment cap. Let's see how it pans out.

Will NSE20 finish March having vaulted the 4900 handle? Waiting for today's close. @NSE it doesn't make sense publishing the index metric 3hrs after market closure. That metric is not a secret code... FTSE NSE indices have a 15min delay and I expect this from a bourse that wants to be regional as well as thinking of putting up a futures market...

As per VVS, maybe we should get them an abacus so that they can do it faster.

Seriously lakini, don't they have a program that computes such stuff automatically? This is 2013