wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Help a wazuan budget his salary
Ngong
#21 Posted : Sunday, March 24, 2013 8:12:25 PM

Gathige wrote:
dealmaker wrote:
@essyk,if I double the amounts,I won't take the job as it will be beyond my salary.As for food,I did my survey and found the amount adequate.The 3k rent is inclusive of water and elec for a single room at Cabanas area.
@radio,the girlfriend expenditure is fine with me as if all goes well i tie the knot next year.The 2k is for a gift,the occasional airtime,the 1 litre soda and popcorns when she comes visiting,hand outs,etc.

@dealmaker: Be real. work your budget from upside down. Set aside what you want to save, pay the basic needs and from the rest you can enjoy life!

Woi! hope its not my daughter!
smile smile
dealmaker
#22 Posted : Sunday, March 24, 2013 9:15:09 PM

@obiero,i agree with you that there will come a time when I won't need 3k to buy house items but it is far away,may be 1 year ahead as all I have is a 3inch mattress and 1 blanket.I need a meko,cooking utensils,buckets,a bed,chairs,iron,table,curtains,plates,cups,etc.The expenditure I can cut on later is clothes as I intend to buy 5 pairs of trousers at 600 bob each,8 shirts at 300 bob each,2 pairs of shoes at 1500 bob each,2 sweaters at 300 bob each,a suit at 3000 bob.This totals to 12k thus in 6 months I should be done with clothes and save the 2k in the initial budget meant for clothes.
iKenya
#23 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 2:05:04 AM

dealmaker wrote:
@obiero,i agree with you that there will come a time when I won't need 3k to buy house items but it is far away,may be 1 year ahead as all I have is a 3inch mattress and 1 blanket.I need a meko,cooking utensils,buckets,a bed,chairs,iron,table,curtains,plates,cups,etc.The expenditure I can cut on later is clothes as I intend to buy 5 pairs of trousers at 600 bob each,8 shirts at 300 bob each,2 pairs of shoes at 1500 bob each,2 sweaters at 300 bob each,a suit at 3000 bob.This totals to 12k thus in 6 months I should be done with clothes and save the 2k in the initial budget meant for clothes.

Dealmaker, your planning is impressive, however, as some of us impeccable planners have discovered, life is not a budget and plan....it has a way of throwing you unexpected unknowns, the best you can take from your budget/planning is...what direction you are headed and where you hope to be in 'future'.....

strong daddy!
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
Querry
#24 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 10:06:11 AM

Congratulations on your new job.

First you are starting off at a very good salary of 30k; i agree with you on most issues pointed out. My suggestions:
1. Read the book "The richest man in Babylon" it has valuable advice on how to budget and to save.
2. Save the 4k consistently every month-i would recommend buying shares religiously on 3-4 counters.
3. Give an allowance for your entertainment. ata kama ni kasoda on a Sunday shared with your girlfriend.
4. Two months down the line; you will get lots of pressure to change your lifestyle;-move to a SQ costing 7k, taking expensive lunches and snacks at work, instead of taking sodas with your girlfried, youll upgrade to eating Pizza and Nyamachoma.

Please don't lose focus! Have a goal you want to achieve which will help you maintain the focus.
#25 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 12:37:54 PM

you are still young, you can save more than that and live a happier life with that cash. Apart from rent all the others can be cut down;
Fare - you can walk from cabanas
Food - Eat mostly at friends places
airtime - call at night ama tafuta yu line its mostly free
household Items - buy once you marry
clothes - unless the job demands certain clothes, continue with what you have.
girlfriend - if she is in nairobi already she can take care of her self, if she is in upcountry she will be proud to have a nairobi boyfriend no money needed.

very soon you will be at the level of some elders here whose fuel expenditure is more than 30k.

happy job life
#26 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 12:50:57 PM

dealmaker wrote:
@essyk,if I double the amounts,I won't take the job as it will be beyond my salary.As for food,I did my survey and found the amount adequate.The 3k rent is inclusive of water and elec for a single room at Cabanas area.
@radio,the girlfriend expenditure is fine with me as if all goes well i tie the knot next year.The 2k is for a gift,the occasional airtime,the 1 litre soda and popcorns when she comes visiting,hand outs,etc.

Tie the knot next year!!?? hope she doesn't want a wedding.. otherwise....

Right now all I would say is
1. Track the small amounts.. maize on the road as you go home.. smokie here, a beer there!

2. Avoid the joneses..

3. SAVE! SAVE! SAVE! don't budget with 30K.
Toa ya Mungu (if you tithe),
Toa Savings(another 10%) and now plan again with what remains..
Develop a culture of saving now now;
Then get some entrepreneurial instincts as Njung'e advices.

Wish somebody had given me the same advice when I started working.
I'd have lived hata kama ni nyumba ya mabati..
#27 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 1:02:15 PM

Link
iller
#28 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 2:34:27 PM

dealmaker wrote:
I did my survey and found the amount adequate.The 3k rent is inclusive of water and elec for a single room at Cabanas area.

3k? I highly doubt u will get a single room for that amount around cabanas area. rent for a single room is between 4.5k to 5.5k. Also in that area hakuna maji, so you have to budget for water. Fare uko sawa, i dont see you using more that 2400 on the higher side. Food, 100 daily, how will you manage that, assuming unakula 3 meals a day?
#29 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 2:43:07 PM

deal maker that is the right way to go!!! the Time to save is now. all the best
#30 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 2:51:56 PM

I started with 15k, but that was nearly a decade ago. You are on the right track bro.
Vallerrie
#31 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 3:35:48 PM

30K gross?.....To be honest,there are soooo many start-up biz which require next to nothing capital and they will be giving you way above that in very little time.....I hope i don't sound snobbish.

Yes you do.
#32 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 4:38:02 PM

Poor gal 2k per month. Sad Sad Sad
iller
#33 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 5:12:37 PM

Laughing out loudly Hate speech
#34 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 8:52:43 PM

dealmaker wrote:
First let me congratulate wazuans for being a great people.I graduated last year August and I have secured a job with a gross salary of 30k,which I think will come to 24500 after HELB,NSSF,NHIF and tax.The work place is along Mombasa road.I currently reside upcountry.My budget is as follows:rent 3000,fare 3000,food 3000,airtime 1000,household items 3000,clothes 2000,girlfriend 2000,parents 2000.pocket money 1500,savings 4000.Is it a good budget and where can I improve on?Where can I invest the savings?

These are provincial figures.
Not realistic I have to tell you.
Earn and evaluate how you it's spent first, only then can you come up with tentative figures.

You haven't factored in electricity and water cost,fare,emergencies,michango hapa na pale,garbage collection,repairs.
Your food budget is sh 3000 but food prices keep fluctuating.What are u using to cook the food? gas,charcoal or stove,Ni ngumu to be exact.
Lol @ gf sh 2,000.If she's the type that relies on you for everything from hair,clothes,fare to airtime then triple that.

My small advice is,double the figure for each expense to be safe.

Anaanika kwa jua kisha antafuna tafu-tafu!

#35 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 9:06:27 PM

in a country where 46% of the population lives on less than 3000/- a month 90/- a day.
30k is alot for a starting salo. maze huko mbele.
I didn't know that wazuans are this out of touch to assume 30k is peanuts.

dealmaker keep up the saving culture.
#36 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 9:54:41 PM

poor dude, only one girl
#37 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 10:09:07 PM

poor dude, only one girl

#38 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 11:52:57 PM

radio wrote:

poor dude, only one girl

Not talking Not talking Not talking

Zenge
#39 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2013 1:10:54 AM

24k Salo Net is alot of money for a fresh graduate (comparatively) Note the dude is from upcountry. Lots of people are doing just fine with much less. Its just about planning, planning, planning and live your life no matter what. I started with 7500 (around 10yrs ago) worked hard doubled the salo in 9 months, doubled again in 1 yr.... and its been like that. Work hard for your new employer. you will go far brother.
Kaka M
#40 Posted : Tuesday, March 26, 2013 1:02:16 PM

Abit late though I guess still relevant, As soon as possible join a Sacco and have the 4k paid religiously every month. Make a mental note that your salo is 20.5k after sacco deduction and budget with that,to prevent the temptation of reducing the savings.
I like your idea of buying clothing and households soon, I wish I had done the same.(I avoided this to save everything to start a biz so I could make enough money to buy all that and remain rich but it's easier said than done but once you buy households they give u time to concretrate on bigger things.)
Most businesses(whatever size) require lots of time and other resources to get off the ground and alot of skill to sustain. Ain't discouraging you though, arm yourself with as much info as you need to start, sustain and benefit from a business if you will choose to go that way in future.
Meanwhile keep it as simple as possible(like u have narrated) until such a time that you have a strong foundation, for the journey ahead is a long one.
There is a theory that expenses increase to meet increased income so if you can avoid some of this temptation the better.
N just one more paraphrased statement from a man who was due to retire very rich,(for whomever it may be relevant,) we don't buy food, rent, fare etc when we get better salaries, saving should also be treated the same as one of those basic needs.)