Investor
Stocks
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Wow! Supply at 5.65 & 5.70 wiped out in the 1st 2 hours of trading. @Hisah,your 5.80 predictions might come alive as early as today Might as well touch 6 before pull back later on in the week! #Making money 2013! @SufficientlyP
hisah wrote:M-Shwari deposits clock KES 2.8 billion ($32 million) http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/k0331f/-/index.html It's turning out to be more of a savings product since lending ratio is roughly 10%. But that deposit growth is rapid! CBA balance sheet has bulged and H1 2013 will be interesting to spot this fact. But as a bank the need that lending ratio to spike to make money on those deposits. At some point that lending rate will be slashed to entice the saver. Will it work trying to entice a solid saver into a debtor? And if they slash the savings rate to accomodate a lending cut, will the savers stay put? That's one uphill lending task... ^Peculiar Kenyans. Now we can also see why Master Card & Visa's approach in KE is toward Debit cards not Credit cards (utajiongelesha) Kenya is not (majority) SA
Safaricom gets vendor to run higher capacity M-Pesa platform in Kenya - http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/cnls9gz/-/index.html
Quote:The new platform, to be complete in less than two years, will be owned and managed by the company locally and will have a higher capacity than the current system.
Currently M-Pesa is hosted and managed in Germany by Vodafone Group Plc, the biggest shareholder in Safaricom with a 40 per cent stake, which levies between 10 per cent and 25 per cent of M-Pesa revenues in royalties.
In the new arrangement, Safaricom will only pay royalty for using Vodafone’s intellectual property under a yet to be negotiated rate.
Kenyan telecoms have been increasing focus on mobile money and data as the next revenue streams in the wake of falling returns on the voice service segment.
The fight for the fast growing mobile money transfer sector went a notch higher last year with both Safaricom and Airtel launching a credit service though their respective brands; M-Pesa and Airtel Money.
But the players have expressed fears that the government’s move to impose a 10 per cent excise duty on all mobile money transaction fees could curtail the sector’s growth. That statement in bold could see more revenues for mpesa bank if the fee is cut. As for the mobile money tax, still not a fan of this excise by treasury. And I hope it will be reversed by sober policy makers in the next administration. No need to slam the brakes on the mobile money velocity when your plan is to ensure the unbanked money is forced into the economy to spur growth. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Cde Monomotapa wrote:hisah wrote:M-Shwari deposits clock KES 2.8 billion ($32 million) http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/k0331f/-/index.html It's turning out to be more of a savings product since lending ratio is roughly 10%. But that deposit growth is rapid! CBA balance sheet has bulged and H1 2013 will be interesting to spot this fact. But as a bank the need that lending ratio to spike to make money on those deposits. At some point that lending rate will be slashed to entice the saver. Will it work trying to entice a solid saver into a debtor? And if they slash the savings rate to accomodate a lending cut, will the savers stay put? That's one uphill lending task... ^Peculiar Kenyans. Now we can also see why Master Card & Visa's approach in KE is toward Debit cards not Credit cards (utajiongelesha) Kenya is not (majority) SA Selling credit cards or loans to debt averse populace, which is also compounded by cultural loathing of indebtedness is what you call futile business.
So Visa and MasterCard are on the right path by selling debit cards or prepaid debt cards for this populace.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
^Yep. 15th Jan 2013: Equity Bank partners with MasterCard to issue 5 Million PayPass NFC cards in Kenya - CIO East Africa http://www.cio.co.ke/new...ypass-nfc-cards-in-kenya
[quote=Cde Monomotapa]^Yep. 15th Jan 2013: Equity Bank partners with MasterCard to issue 5 Million PayPass NFC cards in Kenya - CIO East Africa http://www.cio.co.ke/new...pass-nfc-cards-in-kenya[/quote] I like NFC.Its a good technology. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
This thing is coiling up for an upthrust soon... 6 weeks and counting. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Quietly the price creeps back to 5.80/- one 1st trading day of March 2013 with 72hrs remaining before the polls. Looming breakout on this compressing triangle with resistance @5.80. Potential direction favours upside than downside from the coiled up pattern. If all goes well with the polls I think we could see 6/- broken all the way to 6.30 - 6.40 levels!? $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah wrote:Quietly the price creeps back to 5.80/- one 1st trading day of March 2013 with 72hrs remaining before the polls. Looming breakout on this compressing triangle with resistance @5.80. Potential direction favours upside than downside from the coiled up pattern. If all goes well with the polls I think we could see 6/- broken all the way to 6.30 - 6.40 levels!? I have a feeling it might reach 7 this year. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Rank: Member Joined: 8/17/2011 Posts: 207 Location: humu humu
ChessMaster wrote:hisah wrote:Quietly the price creeps back to 5.80/- one 1st trading day of March 2013 with 72hrs remaining before the polls. Looming breakout on this compressing triangle with resistance @5.80. Potential direction favours upside than downside from the coiled up pattern. If all goes well with the polls I think we could see 6/- broken all the way to 6.30 - 6.40 levels!? I have a feeling it might reach 7 this year. I still feel safcom is expensive at current price...to justify its price, the giant needs several more seasons of sustained growth.
kaifastus wrote:ChessMaster wrote:hisah wrote:Quietly the price creeps back to 5.80/- one 1st trading day of March 2013 with 72hrs remaining before the polls. Looming breakout on this compressing triangle with resistance @5.80. Potential direction favours upside than downside from the coiled up pattern. If all goes well with the polls I think we could see 6/- broken all the way to 6.30 - 6.40 levels!? I have a feeling it might reach 7 this year. I still feel safcom is expensive at current price...to justify its price, the giant needs several more seasons of sustained growth. Just like EABL & ARM. But foreigners keep buying... $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah wrote:kaifastus wrote:ChessMaster wrote:hisah wrote:Quietly the price creeps back to 5.80/- one 1st trading day of March 2013 with 72hrs remaining before the polls. Looming breakout on this compressing triangle with resistance @5.80. Potential direction favours upside than downside from the coiled up pattern. If all goes well with the polls I think we could see 6/- broken all the way to 6.30 - 6.40 levels!? I have a feeling it might reach 7 this year. I still feel safcom is expensive at current price...to justify its price, the giant needs several more seasons of sustained growth. Just like EABL & ARM. But foreigners keep buying... I'd say foreigners see safaricom's potential to tap into financial transactions and data,both good areas for growth and profits. For those in Kenya and on safaricom,I'm sure you've received smses about watching videos of various sorts.This is something people are interested in because Kenyans are very social.Our relationship with the internet is just beginning and its effects are yet to spread.They should also focus on promoting mms. What I think they are trying to do as a major player in telecommunications is to establish a base for internet growth and e/m-commerce which will serve them well in terms of again data and m-pesa transactions. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
hisah wrote:This thing is coiling up for an upthrust soon... 6 weeks and counting. This elephant has broken out of the rising wedge resistance @5.80. VWAP closes @5.95 with an intraday high of 6/-
Getting ready to bolt!$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Go baby go makingmoney2013 @SufficientlyP
A close above 6 and this elephant flies! I have no idea why the price is this lofty considering its fundies, but mr market wants it there. Unless the PBT comes in at 20B plus with a div hike, at this level it is quite pricey. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
I still believe Scom has a bright future. Mobile telecon is the in-thing here & data is the next voice!!! @SufficientlyP
hisah wrote:A close above 6 and this elephant flies! I have no idea why the price is this lofty considering its fundies, but mr market wants it there. Unless the PBT comes in at 20B plus with a div hike, at this level it is quite pricey. I can see wanjikus have been selling their powder - http://www.businessdaily.../-/kk3m9kz/-/index.html
StratLink has a TP of 6.95 while MS has 6.45. All project to div hikes all through 2015. 2013 PAT est comes in at 17B - 18B. If achieved EPS will be above 40cts! That's 25% plus EPS growth. I'm eager to see the fiscal report for a better picture.
Tech readings suggest having broken 5.80 and vaulting past 6 solid resistane layers, this elephant is saying 6 plus is the new range!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Politics aside,I believe Scom is the key to seducing the masses and fueling the rally.If I was a foreigner,my target would be setting up this share while accumulating the others for a dump. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Yesterday Vodafone stock was on fire in London session and rallied 6% as rumours of a merger did rounds. Those rumours have now been quashed - http://www.bloomberg.com...-mulling-joint-bid.html One hard landing for that Voda stock today in London session. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Are we possibly going to see 7/= soon?
Investor
Stocks