wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Scam alert - fake motor vehicle sellers
blueman
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 7:58:47 PM

This is the latest innovation of scammers. They advertise cars on nation classifieds and also online with very cheap prices. Their choice car is Toyota corolla 110 and sometimes Toyota corolla 100. When you call them they ask you where you are, if you say Nairobi, they'l say the car is somewhere in Naivasha or Thika and they ask you to go and have a look. Most times you will ask them if they can bring the car to you, to which after some hesitation they'l agree. Here is where they ask you to add a little fuel to the car of say 1000bob. You'l send them the money and when u try to call them back, they'l give u stories and more stories till u give up.

We make or break our own tomorrows today!
josiah33
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 8:50:37 PM

Didn't realise it was so easy to make some extra cash......
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 9:02:45 PM

tell him to add the fuel cost onto the sales price. Furthermore that's a cost that the seller should meet. Sounds like those niaja scams of sijui pay processing fee to receive some millions of $$ left by an old lady!
josiah33
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 9:05:10 PM

tell him to add the fuel cost onto the sales price. Furthermore that's a cost that the seller should meet. Sounds like those niaja scams of sijui pay processing fee to receive some millions of $$ left by an old lady!

And there are always some gullible guys out there just waiting to be conned.
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 9:06:03 PM

why would I pay you for extras and you are the one selling your car...thats where alarm bells start ringing
wanyee
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 9:48:08 PM

Its about time NMG is hit with a serious class action suit for aiding and abetting felony bla blaa blaa any lawyers for clarification ..If people sue cigarette companies!! damn it they should sue nation classified .. ironically standard classified hainanga wakora
blueman
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 9:49:21 PM

josiah33 wrote:

And there are always some gullible guys out there just waiting to be conned.

It costs 400bob to post a single line ad on Daily Nation classifieds and these people put at least one ad everyday. So they must be conning quite a high number of Kenyans on a daily basis to be able to put up such ads.
Buster
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 11:11:21 PM

Thats why we say only the willing get scammed.
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 11:22:09 PM

Thought it was fake cars like you are duped into buying a shiny mercedes lakini ukifungua boot, you see a peougot engine, brakes za piki piki kwa driver saddle, and realise its a subaru that was panel beaten near kibera, using mabati and filler, to look like a merc 180c.
A New Kenya
blueman
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 11:28:46 PM

Thought it was fake cars like you are duped into buying a shiny mercedes lakini ukifungua boot, you see a peougot engine, brakes za piki piki kwa driver saddle, and realise its a subaru that was panel beaten near kibera, using mabati and filler, to look like a merc 180c.

Well, i am not referring to sellers of fake vehicles, rather sellers of non-existing motor vehicles who target very busy people who would rather have the cars they want to buy brought to them
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 11:29:46 PM

What Dida say: If you see a society being conned by such scams then know that there is a problem!!!
#12 Posted : Friday, March 01, 2013 5:56:09 AM

What Dida say: If you see a society being conned by such scams then know that there is a problem!!!

Original quote is credited to Prof. Makau Mutua.

#13 Posted : Friday, March 01, 2013 6:02:08 AM

Buster wrote:

Why do u even send a cent to a stranger?
If he cant fuel the car and take it the buyer then let him sell it hapo machinani.

#14 Posted : Friday, March 01, 2013 8:30:45 AM

are these also the people who stole from KRA

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#15 Posted : Friday, March 01, 2013 12:23:37 PM

Buster wrote:

not always.
"a friend" was bitten once by those criminals while changing houses. they will advertise something like 2br in a nice area at "good prices". you take all caution and clealry describe what you are looking for. they say its available, then you pay 2500 and are shown very bad houses.

be careful with agents.
Ngong
#16 Posted : Friday, March 01, 2013 12:42:21 PM

Kaka M
#17 Posted : Friday, March 01, 2013 12:52:33 PM

Ngong wrote:

Drool Drool @ Muchknow now that your bring this up maybe it should be the next frontier.
I wouldn't wait to hear a guy talking of how he bought a Merc only to find it has the engine of a beetle. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly It would be a practical case of Ni kama Drama, ni kama vindeo!!
subaru
#18 Posted : Sunday, March 10, 2013 8:23:45 AM

its like some car hire agents they ask u where u r then say they r a little bit far and r sending a driver after a while they ask u to mpesa then voila ua cash is gone
CLK
#19 Posted : Sunday, March 10, 2013 11:16:05 AM

kenmac wrote:
Buster wrote:

not always.
"a friend" was bitten once by those criminals while changing houses. they will advertise something like 2br in a nice area at "good prices". you take all caution and clealry describe what you are looking for. they say its available, then you pay 2500 and are shown very bad houses.

be careful with agents.

Unless the current house you are leaving in has been invaded by mademonis and jinis, never be in a hurry to move houses, anyone looking for a tenant will never want you to pay even a single cent just to view the house, even the landlords/ladies are tired of the agents, they will want the hse vacant as long as possible so they can make more money and the owner loses in such cases
CLK
#20 Posted : Sunday, March 10, 2013 11:21:07 AM

kenmac wrote:
Buster wrote:

not always.

be careful with agents.

when the deal is too good? cheap is expensive there is no reason why anyone should charge lower rates in an upmarket estate, the cons know there are pple falling for it..