wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Teacher Strike - 29th Feb
#21 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 10:01:53 AM

Most kenyans if not all do the same. Hustling and making more cash by the side to survive.

Teachers are human too.Let them hustle but during class time.

My problem is that most of them openly do it dring work!!!
#22 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 10:36:41 AM

xyzee wrote:
That sossion character. ....a militant by all means.

I thought it's the secretary general who should be making such pronouncements.

That body???
No more energy is left to shout that pronouncements!

Buster
#23 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 11:11:25 AM

If we look at it from their side. They signed a return to work formula. The Government has not honoured it and we know our Gava won't unless pushed. Me thinks this is a true case of "HAKI YETU".
#24 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 12:22:24 PM

xyzee wrote:
That sossion character. ....a militant by all means.

I thought it's the secretary general who should be making such pronouncements.

That body???
No more energy is left to shout that pronouncements!

Sossion does all the work. What do you expect 200Kg to do?
banyamulenge
#25 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 12:23:17 PM

Tebes wrote:
Hahaa.

Mwezi huisha 28th.

What of leap year?smile

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
nyangao
#26 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 12:25:46 PM

mpobiz wrote:

I think it's okay to strike if this is what.
life is expensive and teachers are valuable assets to our country.

This shows teachers are involved in other businesses opart from concentrating on teaching
In some areas teachers are bodaboda drivers ond hawkers.or how does he get the extra 25k ?is he a gondi at night?
Teachers should learn and teach the children to live within their income

They even refused to sign perfomance contracts.Shame on you Shame on you

They own and run most of the bussinesses kule machinani, some even have their own academies!!!!

I believe the teacher holding the placcard is not a maths teacher. the arithmetics are wrong
rryyzz
#27 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 12:50:01 PM

BGL wrote:
Hii KNUT imekuwa too much and is getting into my nerves.
They can strike for a year! Parents of the poor children will one day rise up and tell KNUT off.

Trying to justify their stay in office, kuitisha strike kila saa,looks like their way of proving their relevance to KNUT members.Do these people even care about pupils/students???
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
For Sport
#28 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 1:45:06 PM

nyangao wrote:
mpobiz wrote:

I think it's okay to strike if this is what.
life is expensive and teachers are valuable assets to our country.

This shows teachers are involved in other businesses opart from concentrating on teaching
In some areas teachers are bodaboda drivers ond hawkers.or how does he get the extra 25k ?is he a gondi at night?
Teachers should learn and teach the children to live within their income

They even refused to sign perfomance contracts.Shame on you Shame on you

They own and run most of the bussinesses kule machinani, some even have their own academies!!!!

I believe the teacher holding the placcard is not a maths teacher. the arithmetics are wrong

He is also not an English teacher. The spelling is interesting.
#29 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 1:49:27 PM

Buster wrote:
If we look at it from their side. They signed a return to work formula. The Government has not honoured it and we know our Gava won't unless pushed. Me thinks this is a true case of "HAKI YETU".

exactly! Govt loves shortchanging teachers!
For Sport
#30 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 1:50:10 PM

Buster wrote:

True. People's anger should be directed at the government, not at the teachers. It must honour it's obligation. How many presidential candidates admitted to having / taking their children through the public school system? People must have faith in the institutions they manage
Annti_Christy
#31 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 2:34:22 PM

For Sport wrote:
Buster wrote:

True. People's anger should be directed at the government, not at the teachers. It must honour it's obligation. How many presidential candidates admitted to having / taking their children through the public school system? People must have faith in the institutions they manage

Haki ya watoto iko wapi in all this charade?
Light Bearer
theman192000
#32 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 2:37:19 PM

Whenever the matter of public education is discussed, the issue of teacher/pupil ratio is always raised. This was even discussed during the presidential debate where Ole Kiyapi was quick to offer the solution of hiring 100K more teachers.

Notwithstanding the wrong calculations by the placard wielding teacher, if each teacher was paid a minimum gross figure of 50,000 per month, the newly hired walimus would add a cool KES 60B per year to the taxpayer's burden.

Another way of achieving the teacher/pupil ratio on the long term is to reduce the number of pupils.

Why not address the elephant in the room?

Watu wapange uzazi.
Jump-steady
#33 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:22:43 PM

Most kenyans if not all do the same. Hustling and making more cash by the side to survive.

Leo ni siku ya phombe kweli Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#34 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:33:54 PM

Jump-steady wrote:

Leo ni siku ya phombe kweli Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Its clear @McReggae was typing "drinking" and not "during" in that typo "dring".

Applause Applause

#35 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 12:06:59 PM

Schools opening??? Exams approaching???.....strike!!!