wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

Multi-million dollar Thika Road Mall sneak peek
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:17:44 AM

If the target market was anything better than Lower Middle Class, there would have been a Java, deacons, brew bistro et. al. there

Am wrote:
@Dunkang
For your Infomation only, Java, Deacons,KFC has all booked and Confirmed space on this mall. So Wacha kupuuza hii mall.

Who's fooling who?? smile
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:18:47 AM

wanyuru wrote:
This is a joke, right? Looks like a go-down.

Kweli kabisa. The developer should be dumped in a sea, osama style, for calling this a mall!!

And they wont have to go far, there is seemingly a sea on Thika road - to the right of that go-down.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 9:27:16 AM

guru267 wrote:
If the target market was anything better than Lower Middle Class, there would have been a Java, deacons, brew bistro et. al. there

Am wrote:
@Dunkang
For your Infomation only, Java, Deacons,KFC has all booked and Confirmed space on this mall. So Wacha kupuuza hii mall.

So Java is the new barometer for class in Kenya? Woe unto you if you own a 5bdr house in Syokimau since you are still a low class foko jembe since Java has not opened in your hood.
sitaki.kujulikana
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:10:27 AM

guru267 wrote:

Am wrote:
@Dunkang

So Java is the new barometer for class in Kenya? Woe unto you if you own a 5bdr house in Syokimau since you are still a low class foko jembe since Java has not opened in your hood.

yaps, the syokimau guys are low class since they are homeless
Dash
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 9:19:03 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Am wrote:
@Dunkang

Aki I dont want to but LOL!!!!
mmunguti
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 1:21:04 PM

Hio (lake/ocean) ni perimeter wall. i think the developer want to build something like the ridgeways mall....not too big.

GGK wrote:
There is an ocean on the left hand side.....
Its also going to be constructed?

#27 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 2:17:43 PM

The Mall opens doors to public tmr .....with brand new Nakumatt Thika Rd branch. Rink - Daily nation.
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 6:46:23 PM

Dash wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Am wrote:
@Dunkang

Aki I dont want to but LOL!!!!

How did I miss this? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:34:40 PM

Hi mambo ya kirathi imekuwa too ''mush'

All the same, that design leaves a lot to be desired
accelriskconsult
#30 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 9:00:33 AM

I am shocked by the responses. A quick interpretation of the proposed building tells me that there is more inside than you see on the outside. Again the designer may not have listed all the big brands that have booked space on the outside. I understand that there are many big chains coming there.

Finally, the design concept is what you find in most American shopping malls and no it is not a waste of space. Shopping malls are better off not going too high up the skys. The design should blend with the environment.
#31 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 10:09:58 AM

accelriskconsult wrote:
I am shocked by the responses. A quick interpretation of the proposed building tells me that there is more inside than you see on the outside. Again the designer may not have listed all the big brands that have booked space on the outside. I understand that there are many big chains coming there.

Finally, the design concept is what you find in most American shopping malls and no it is not a waste of space. Shopping malls are better off not going too high up the skys. The design should blend with the environment.

So?
#32 Posted : Friday, February 15, 2013 3:31:09 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:

@accelriskconsult. And are you the architech, or the owner of the building? That is too much defence brother.
#33 Posted : Friday, March 15, 2013 11:33:44 AM

Passed at the new Thika road mall yesterday and was quite impressed. It must be the most modern mall in Nairobi. The Nakumatt Store at the Mall is bigger and more modern than the one at Westgate. The mall developer did some very quality work from the finishing, tiling, lighting, escalators, lifts, automatic 'Grohe' taps in the bathroom, automatic flushing toilets etc (reminded me of the bathrooms at Dubai Airport).

The mall may look 'small' when viewed from Thika road, but that's coz what one sees is the 'width' of the mall and not the 'length' of the mall, otherwise its bigger than westgate.

The parking lot at the rooftop is massive at about 4 acres and there's more parking behind and in front of the mall.

The Nakumatt store appeared to be doing some brisk business since there were very long queues at the counters (the cashiers are using touch screen machines). Java, Galitos, woolworths, Textbook centre, furniture palace etc are doing final touches on their stores and should be opening soon.

I believe this development has significantly changed the face and status of Thika road.
Kriscalf
#34 Posted : Friday, March 15, 2013 12:35:22 PM

Judging a book by its cover...
I say Nanyuki mall is nothing as compared to this one but the one & only in Nanyuki and many are just giving opinions from what they see on the outside in both cases.
Stay Calm & see what will come from it.
The stars will never align, & the traffic lights of life will Never go green at the same time.
Iganamagana
#35 Posted : Friday, March 15, 2013 4:07:50 PM

rock wrote:
What an eyesore! It will stain our beloved kenyan wonderSad

An eyesore? What Kenyan wonder? I do not know where you live but most estates and roads in this City are an eyesore. What with all the dust and plastic waste? This Mall is definitely not an eyesore. Please drive down the road to Zimmerman or Githurai and then we compare notes. The interior design is superb. The exterior looks like if not better than so many other Malls in this world.
streetwise
#36 Posted : Friday, March 15, 2013 4:59:46 PM

I concer when you walk inside you realize the designer was serious. When you view from thika rd it looks like a shop. I think if you turn it 90% horizonally you realize how large it is. On the other hadn when you see the que sizes and teh full trollys you know the placement of the mall in that location was correct.
#37 Posted : Monday, March 18, 2013 2:08:03 PM

Passed at the new Thika road mall yesterday and was quite impressed. It must be the most modern mall in Nairobi. The Nakumatt Store at the Mall is bigger and more modern than the one at Westgate. The mall developer did some very quality work from the finishing, tiling, lighting, escalators, lifts, automatic 'Grohe' taps in the bathroom, automatic flushing toilets etc (reminded me of the bathrooms at Dubai Airport).

The mall may look 'small' when viewed from Thika road, but that's coz what one sees is the 'width' of the mall and not the 'length' of the mall, otherwise its bigger than westgate.

The parking lot at the rooftop is massive at about 4 acres and there's more parking behind and in front of the mall.

The Nakumatt store appeared to be doing some brisk business since there were very long queues at the counters (the cashiers are using touch screen machines). Java, Galitos, woolworths, Textbook centre, furniture palace etc are doing final touches on their stores and should be opening soon.

I believe this development has significantly changed the face and status of Thika road.

Beware of the escalators though. They failed the day nakumatt opened and A friend got trapped inside for 2 hours. It was not a very good experience..
#38 Posted : Monday, March 18, 2013 2:18:48 PM

Am wrote:
Beware of the escalators though. They failed the day nakumatt opened and A friend got trapped inside for 2 hours. It was not a very good experience..

A friend?
#39 Posted : Monday, March 18, 2013 2:46:36 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Am wrote:

A friend?

Getting stuck inside an escalator? How?d'oh!
kryptonite
#40 Posted : Monday, March 18, 2013 2:47:09 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Am wrote:

A friend?

You mean elevator, right?
The harder you work, the luckier you get