wazua Wed, Feb 5, 2025

272 Pages«<151152153154155>»
Investors Lounge
Cde Monomotapa
#3041 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 9:58:13 AM

Gracias @hisah dude there is trouble and oppurtuinty in equal large quantity depending on which side of the table you are on, the outright gold bias notwithstanding [as per the artcles I am still reading through]. Nevertheless, there are plans too for some 30+ type resources in ZW | Zimbabwe moots minerals stock exchange http://www.theafricarepo...als-stock-exchange.html Let's play the Pros baby smile
Cde Monomotapa
#3042 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 1:14:47 PM

Teren...teren..@hisah darn a Cruise Ship, you'll need an Aircraft Carrier for the greatest wealth re-distribution of modern history. The Art of Repulsion -> OECD urges international tax clampdown on multinationals http://www.reuters.com/a...ax-idUSL5N0B8FM520130212
Mainat
#3043 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 2:45:32 PM

S&P 500 now at 1500+ i.e. higher than 2007. Stock markets frontrun fundamentals, but hii ni ingine.
Imho, might be time to short or go sideways.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#3044 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 3:11:39 PM

Erokamano ahinya Hisah

jonna
#3045 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 8:11:09 PM

Anguka chini kabisa ndio tununue dirt cheap.

Stocks are up big to start 2013 but Marc Faber, Editor & Publisher of the Gloom, Boom & Doom Report, says it ends in tears.
"Either the market is going to correct more meaningfully now or we have a shallow correction and a continuously rising market until July or August," Faber told me via phone from Thailand. If stocks don't pullback soon, he says we risk a repeat of 1987 when stocks rallied 40% into summer only to collapse 41% in 2 months.
"In March of 2009 everything looked horrible, now nobody can find a reason why stocks could go down," Faber claims. "We ask that you should buy stocks when everything looks horrible, you shouldn't rush to buy them when everything looks perfect."

http://finance.yahoo.com...arc-faber-131939023.html
Energy.
hisah
#3046 Posted : Tuesday, February 12, 2013 9:14:30 PM

I've been looking at the insider trades - http://insidertrading.org/

Large selling vs large buying...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Cde Monomotapa
#3047 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 7:21:06 AM

Another boost to intra-Africa trade & investment (with a Russian hand too in Katoka) | Angola to partner Zimbabwe in diamond mining http://www.chronicle.co....:business&Itemid=133
hisah
#3048 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 8:11:49 PM

Gas prices rising as Americans spend record amount on fuel in 2012 - http://www.huffingtonpos...berry/p.html?id=2616666

Oil inflation as liquidity tsunami sloshed around globally. Oil inflation always slams the breaks on equities. Global stocks are at 5yr highs with a weak global econ. Well fattened bull...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#3049 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 8:31:53 PM

Food inflation + oil inflation = econ slump and civil unrest & labour wars...

Looks like 2011 will replay...
Cde Monomotapa
#3050 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 10:43:44 PM

Interesting: Zimbabwe constitutional referendum on March 16 http://www.chronicle.co....p-stories&Itemid=130
Cde Monomotapa
#3051 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 10:54:47 PM

RwandAir eyes Harare route http://www.newsday.co.zw...dair-eyes-harare-route/ NB: Over Zim's lost-10 only AirZim, KQ & SAA maintained the route but since '09 most majors are back & new kids like this one but majorly Emirates has taken Zim by storm. When I see KQ clipping some Euro routes now, I empathize. #Dejavu In otherwords, the West is headed where it put Zim. #Karma
Cde Monomotapa
#3052 Posted : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 11:01:51 PM

And a part of the untold story of Zim's successful Land Reforms; Tobacco marketing season officially opens, dominated by new farmers http://www.bulawayo24.co...-economy-byo-26258.html NB: Dollarisation of the economy post-09 has helped galvanize the support of the majority party. Realization of Value.
Cde Monomotapa
#3053 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 1:49:45 AM

hisah wrote:

Food inflation + oil inflation = econ slump and civil unrest & labour wars...

Looks like 2011 will replay...

The Govt.calls it gun control, the public percieves it as disarmament & a violation of its constitutional & civil liberties. Wow..downturns come with social & moral decay... Btw, I was shocked at Coke reporting a 5% drop in Euro volumes. Huh? Na kahawa na chai (yetu) je? SMH
hisah
#3054 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 7:45:34 AM

Today I'm looking at the korean won vs the yen. Jap has decided to smash their yen thus making the won more expensive. The $ printing still continues making the won more expensive than the $. So the won is more expensive than the yen and $. What does that do to the koreans export revenues? Samsung, LG, cars etc - reduced export sales. When S.korea reports Q1 econ stats I think the CB will be given the green light to 'make exports competitive'.

Currency wars will escalate this year as US ensures it exports inflation globally while net exporters fight back by printing their ccys as well. China is the focus here on inflation. Will eurozone agree to have an expensive euro with the recession & limping PIIGS? Nop. Will UK want an expensive pound while facing triple dip recession? Nop. Will swiss want an expensive franc? Nop. Most of the G20 CBs are squaring each other as the currency war escalates.

For fx traders it's a dreamland casino come true smile At some point gold, silver, platinum, palladium, rare earth metals etc will spike in quick succession in a 'shock & awe' event... That catalyst is what's missing in the kitchen at the moment.

As a net exporter in a limping global econ a weak ccy is what you want to safeguard your revenues else you slump your econ.

The casino is about to get very interesting from March starting with that fiscal cliff thing. The eurozone with sovereign debt comes back to focus and the squaring gets squared...
Cde Monomotapa
#3055 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:37:58 AM

When Standard Bank (Stanbic) made a fundie shift from ambitions to be a leading emerging mkts (BRICS) bank to a Africa focused around '10 it was a wake up call for me. Since they've been trimming offshore Ops to drawing capital out of UK. In the spirit of following the money, we're joint at the hip with Stanbic UG as that represents Sino & RSA interests there and anywhere else you come across Stanbic in SSA.
Cde Monomotapa
#3056 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 1:10:02 PM

Emirates introduces online payment solutions to its Zimbabwe clients http://www.bulawayo24.co...companies-byo-26293.html
hisah
#3057 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 8:12:52 PM

Fuel prices in KE up - www.businessdailyafrica....8/-/10awqvd/-/index.html

Fuel prices in UK to go up in coming days - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21208524

Fuel prices to be hiked in India on Feb 16 - http://www.timesofindia....rticleshow/18502177.cms

See the pattern - oil inflation is global...
ChessMaster
#3058 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 9:15:46 PM

hisah wrote:

Fuel prices in UK to go up in coming days - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21208524

Fuel prices to be hiked in India on Feb 16 - http://www.timesofindia....rticleshow/18502177.cms

I haven't been following oil for some time,any thoughts on what is causing it?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
ChessMaster
#3059 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 9:28:38 PM

#3060 Posted : Thursday, February 14, 2013 9:30:21 PM

hisah wrote:

Gas prices in the US http://www.bloomberg.com...ne-prices-increase.html

Ambani Says U.S. Will Be Energy Independent in 5-7 Years
Mukesh Ambani, the billionaire chairman of Reliance Industries Ltd., said that the U.S.’s development of shale oil and gas will make the country energy independent as early as 2018.