Investor
Economy
The International community threat and it's impact on our economy....which way??
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,185 Location: nairobi
This topic must be put to rest because this suspects wont win. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Cde Monomotapa wrote:As broad as day, Uhuruto are complying with the ICC and as long as that persists please let's tone down the noise. You do your part & VOTE PEACEFULLY. I hope they comply after they are elected as they promised.
Lets wait until 04th march 2013.you will be surprised “I don’t regret the things I’ve done, I regret the things I didn’t do when I had the chance.”
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
Am glad all this rhetoric has emerged! UhuRuto win first round because of the "numbers" they keep talking about but fail to gunner 50% Railonzo win second round after the anti suspect candidates (Mdvd, Karua, PK & Kiyapi) flock to CORD! We move on to vision 2030!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:ChessMaster wrote:murchr wrote:Hogwash, nothing will happen Prove it. Lets not bow to their demands then we'll see if they will not buy our flowers coffee and now oil. The more they talk the more people are getting the morale of voting in the Hague brothers. @murchr, look at Iran with the sanctions against them: - In the past year alone their currency 'rial' has depreciated by over 80% (50% within the month of October). Lets pretend that Kenya acquires the capacity to produce oil at Iran's level (which we know is impossible without the west and within a year) the dollar rate will stand at Kes. 158 by the end of next year. - Inflation is at almost 30% and their central bank is predicting a 32% inflation this year, with their staple food doubling in price and people queuing to buy (remember this happened before the full oil embargo) - Due to plausible deniability, Huawei has had to distance itself from Iran after it was discovered to be doing business through a hidden subsidiary (Read China which people are saying will assist). Stanchart has had to do the same. - A simple bank transfer from Iran, or even sending some simple prescription med via a courier (read UPS, DHL, Fedex are out coz they are 'western co.s)is a nightmare. - China is a net exporter with their largest consumer and investor being the people of the US. Who do you think they'll be ready to deal with or listen to Kenya or the US? - The US is the 'owner' of the de facto global currency. The list of the worst that can happen is endless and remember the above has happened to a country whose GDP is at $350B and with a population of 75M in Asia. What do you think will happen to country with a GDP of $33B and a population of only 40M in Africa? 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
erifloss wrote:murchr wrote:ChessMaster wrote:murchr wrote:Hogwash, nothing will happen Prove it. Lets not bow to their demands then we'll see if they will not buy our flowers coffee and now oil. The more they talk the more people are getting the morale of voting in the Hague brothers. @murchr, look at Iran with the sanctions against them: - In the past year alone their currency 'rial' has depreciated by over 80% (50% within the month of October). Lets pretend that Kenya acquires the capacity to produce oil at Iran's level (which we know is impossible without the west and within a year) the dollar rate will stand at Kes. 158 by the end of next year. - Inflation is at almost 30% and their central bank is predicting a 32% inflation this year, with their staple food doubling in price and people queuing to buy (remember this happened before the full oil embargo) - Due to plausible deniability, Huawei has had to distance itself from Iran after it was discovered to be doing business through a hidden subsidiary (Read China which people are saying will assist). Stanchart has had to do the same. - A simple bank transfer from Iran, or even sending some simple prescription med via a courier (read UPS, DHL, Fedex are out coz they are 'western co.s)is a nightmare. - China is a net exporter with their largest consumer and investor being the people of the US. Who do you think they'll be ready to deal with or listen to Kenya or the US? - The US is the 'owner' of the de facto global currency.
The list of the worst that can happen is endless and remember the above has happened to a country whose GDP is at $350B and with a population of 75M in Asia. What do you think will happen to country with a GDP of $33B and a population of only 40M in Africa? @erifloss. Say it again,say it. Those who are shouting liberation! liberation! wanting no business with the mzungu should look closely at the prince. The guy has surrounded himself with non-blacks and people are here supporting his talk of "hatuitaji mzungu?".How can people be this blind? There is nothing like standing up against mzungu there, it's all about standing up to the prince's woes. Being used as a shield, and cheering it. Same as a forest saying the axe handle is one of them. Kenya's GDP is around 33.6Bn $, SMALLER than the market value of Moller-Maersk the shipping line.Yet i'm reading stuff to the effect "they need us,their economies are crumbling.Kenya is rising". Which head are guys using to think?
there's Nothing thats going to happen guy's . why ? the stock market is the best indicator of the FUTURE HEALTH of the economy . and we all know where the market is at now.
why should you pick to chose your wrong 2 cents on this issue when the stock market is collectively saying THERE WILL BE NO SANCTIONS ?
mkeiyd wrote:Kenya's GDP is around 33.6Bn $, SMALLER than the market value of Moller-Maersk the shipping line.Yet i'm reading stuff to the effect "they need us,their economies are crumbling.Kenya is rising". Which head are guys using to think? Preach baby preach!! I also hear abominations like "they have too many interests in Kenya"... Our total GDP competes with Apple Corps yearly net profit and we think we have leverage... BURE KABISA!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
techboy wrote:the stock market is the best indicator of the FUTURE HEALTH of the economy . and we all know where the market is at now. What is this madness now?? Are you trying to say that markets have psychic powers or that markets write the future for us?? Markets reflect past and current information.. Anything talking about the future is SPECULATION!! So the market is SPECULATING that there will be no sanctions but there is definitely no guarantee... Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
guru267 wrote:techboy wrote:the stock market is the best indicator of the FUTURE HEALTH of the economy . and we all know where the market is at now. What is this madness now?? Are you trying to say that markets have psychic powers or that markets write the future for us?? Markets reflect past and current information.. Anything talking about the future is SPECULATION!! So the market is SPECULATING that there will be no sanctions but there is definitely no guarantee... you must be joking ...markets when rallying aren't just rallying because things are good . they can also rally because things are going TO BE GOOD ! what am saying is that market see ahead and so they offer a glimpse into the future . i think you are now even the mader one . you want to tell me that the rally the nse is having from the 3072 lows is due to speculation ? smart money is buying so you better tuck in your 2cents assumptions and move with the market . trying to pick a fight with this market so to speak with this market will get you bruised
mkeiyd wrote:erifloss wrote:murchr wrote:ChessMaster wrote:murchr wrote:Hogwash, nothing will happen Prove it. Lets not bow to their demands then we'll see if they will not buy our flowers coffee and now oil. The more they talk the more people are getting the morale of voting in the Hague brothers. @murchr, look at Iran with the sanctions against them: - In the past year alone their currency 'rial' has depreciated by over 80% (50% within the month of October). Lets pretend that Kenya acquires the capacity to produce oil at Iran's level (which we know is impossible without the west and within a year) the dollar rate will stand at Kes. 158 by the end of next year. - Inflation is at almost 30% and their central bank is predicting a 32% inflation this year, with their staple food doubling in price and people queuing to buy (remember this happened before the full oil embargo) - Due to plausible deniability, Huawei has had to distance itself from Iran after it was discovered to be doing business through a hidden subsidiary (Read China which people are saying will assist). Stanchart has had to do the same. - A simple bank transfer from Iran, or even sending some simple prescription med via a courier (read UPS, DHL, Fedex are out coz they are 'western co.s)is a nightmare. - China is a net exporter with their largest consumer and investor being the people of the US. Who do you think they'll be ready to deal with or listen to Kenya or the US? - The US is the 'owner' of the de facto global currency.
The list of the worst that can happen is endless and remember the above has happened to a country whose GDP is at $350B and with a population of 75M in Asia. What do you think will happen to country with a GDP of $33B and a population of only 40M in Africa? @erifloss. Say it again,say it. Those who are shouting liberation! liberation! wanting no business with the mzungu should look closely at the prince. The guy has surrounded himself with non-blacks and people are here supporting his talk of "hatuitaji mzungu?".How can people be this blind? There is nothing like standing up against mzungu there, it's all about standing up to the prince's woes. Being used as a shield, and cheering it. Same as a forest saying the axe handle is one of them. Kenya's GDP is around 33.6Bn $, SMALLER than the market value of Moller-Maersk the shipping line.Yet i'm reading stuff to the effect "they need us,their economies are crumbling.Kenya is rising". Which head are guys using to think? Wake up from that deep slumber http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz_nZYSX0L8 no intimidation or coersion will work, and they know that. Again, freedom is a choice, the Chinese and North Koreans should have taught us that by now. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
techboy wrote:guru267 wrote:techboy wrote:the stock market is the best indicator of the FUTURE HEALTH of the economy . and we all know where the market is at now. What is this madness now?? Are you trying to say that markets have psychic powers or that markets write the future for us?? Markets reflect past and current information.. Anything talking about the future is SPECULATION!! So the market is SPECULATING that there will be no sanctions but there is definitely no guarantee... you must be joking ...markets when rallying aren't just rallying because things are good . they can also rally because things are going TO BE GOOD ! what am saying is that market see ahead and so they offer a glimpse into the future . i think you are now even the mader one . you want to tell me that the rally the nse is having from the 3072 lows is due to speculation ? smart money is buying so you better tuck in your 2cents assumptions and move with the market . trying to pick a fight with this market so to speak with this market will get you bruised Ok.. ill just sit back and watch you lick your wounds from a distance after a jubilee win! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
I can the presidential debate is live here - http://www.ktnkenya.tv or here - http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/elections
Now this is what we want. Not rhetoric and useless sideshows but sober political debates. Head-head debate, Reminds me of that old program called "Who's smarter now" $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
Political theory: Come march 04, both Raila and Uhuru garner plus 40% votes but less than 50%. We go for round two.
Round two will depend on the actions of Mudavadi (Who's currently holding approximately 5% as per opinion polls)...and he has already stated that Kenya cannot do without the international community. I also doubt that he has forgotten the the recent reneging by Uhuru on a validly signed agreement.
Methinks Mudavadi will play it safe and support RAO.
In which case, NSE might touch/cross that 5000 point mark
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,185 Location: nairobi
@winston believe me in a runoff mudavadi has no control on the luyha vote the voters were humiliated by what jubilee did to them so east or west luyhas will prefer their cousin Rao..this nse index is set to explode like mongolia once our oil is confirmed. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
winston wrote:Political theory: Come march 04, both Raila and Uhuru garner plus 40% votes but less than 50%. We go for round two.
Round two will depend on the actions of Mudavadi (Who's currently holding approximately 5% as per opinion polls)...and he has already stated that Kenya cannot do without the international community. I also doubt that he has forgotten the the recent reneging by Uhuru on a validly signed agreement.
Methinks Mudavadi will play it safe and support RAO.
In which case, NSE might touch/cross that 5000 point mark
There is a high chance PK will beat Mudavadi March 4th and i have a feeling after what i saw yesterday that he will join Jubilee in a second round... Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:mkeiyd wrote:erifloss wrote:murchr wrote:ChessMaster wrote:murchr wrote:Hogwash, nothing will happen Prove it. Lets not bow to their demands then we'll see if they will not buy our flowers coffee and now oil. The more they talk the more people are getting the morale of voting in the Hague brothers. @murchr, look at Iran with the sanctions against them: - In the past year alone their currency 'rial' has depreciated by over 80% (50% within the month of October). Lets pretend that Kenya acquires the capacity to produce oil at Iran's level (which we know is impossible without the west and within a year) the dollar rate will stand at Kes. 158 by the end of next year. - Inflation is at almost 30% and their central bank is predicting a 32% inflation this year, with their staple food doubling in price and people queuing to buy (remember this happened before the full oil embargo) - Due to plausible deniability, Huawei has had to distance itself from Iran after it was discovered to be doing business through a hidden subsidiary (Read China which people are saying will assist). Stanchart has had to do the same. - A simple bank transfer from Iran, or even sending some simple prescription med via a courier (read UPS, DHL, Fedex are out coz they are 'western co.s)is a nightmare. - China is a net exporter with their largest consumer and investor being the people of the US. Who do you think they'll be ready to deal with or listen to Kenya or the US? - The US is the 'owner' of the de facto global currency.
The list of the worst that can happen is endless and remember the above has happened to a country whose GDP is at $350B and with a population of 75M in Asia. What do you think will happen to country with a GDP of $33B and a population of only 40M in Africa? @erifloss. Say it again,say it. Those who are shouting liberation! liberation! wanting no business with the mzungu should look closely at the prince. The guy has surrounded himself with non-blacks and people are here supporting his talk of "hatuitaji mzungu?".How can people be this blind? There is nothing like standing up against mzungu there, it's all about standing up to the prince's woes. Being used as a shield, and cheering it. Same as a forest saying the axe handle is one of them. Kenya's GDP is around 33.6Bn $, SMALLER than the market value of Moller-Maersk the shipping line.Yet i'm reading stuff to the effect "they need us,their economies are crumbling.Kenya is rising". Which head are guys using to think? Wake up from that deep slumber http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz_nZYSX0L8 no intimidation or coersion will work, and they know that. Again, freedom is a choice, the Chinese and North Koreans should have taught us that by now. @murchr, just reading what you've written leaves me with a question of whether truly you know what you are talking/writing about? Do you really know how North Koreans live? A country where one has a cell phone that can't make or receive any international call, has no internet, cellphone infrastructure coverage in terms of geography at 14%, where citizens are still watching tv on black & white sets in the 21st century and has only 3 TV stations owned and run by govt! On China, it exports about $2trillion every year, about 70% of this is to the US, EU & other countries considered western by many it terms of thinking(Japan, some asian tigers and Latin Powers - on many UN resolutions they vote the US way), do you know where China is rated on the basis of per capita income? 121 in the world! And as a by the way on their top imports, Tea, coffee, fish, flowers etc lies nowhere in there top 10 list of imports. I'm waiting to see where Kenya will get Electrical machinery and equipment (Germany), iron ore (EU), Oil extraction (vision 2050)to export to China coz this is part of their top 10 imports. The reality is the elite and partly people with papers will hedge their investments in foreign currency denominated assets and leave Kenya within the year for better pastures since it will be easy for them to resettle and get jobs as opposed to the common man who as it stands today lacks even savings. We live in a global economy and Kenyan's should always remember that we will not sell tea, coffee, and tour the coast and sleep in expensive hotels ourselves, we'll print and USD without the US, buy our own flowers, buy our own fuel etc. 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
@guru267 - Maybe PK might beat MM. But PK will not want to be seen as tribal by backing UK in round two. At the same time he will not want to be a spoiler for his brother. If he supports, UK then UK's influence in the region will totally annihilate any possibility of him gaining traction in mount kenya for 2017 & 2012. He is better off with RAO as a RAO presidency will dent UK's public exposure/presence.
Its a do you are damned , dont and you are damned also. He'll probabaly not come out in support of either.
murchr wrote:mkeiyd wrote:erifloss wrote:murchr wrote:ChessMaster wrote:murchr wrote:Hogwash, nothing will happen Prove it. Lets not bow to their demands then we'll see if they will not buy our flowers coffee and now oil. The more they talk the more people are getting the morale of voting in the Hague brothers. @murchr, look at Iran with the sanctions against them: - In the past year alone their currency 'rial' has depreciated by over 80% (50% within the month of October). Lets pretend that Kenya acquires the capacity to produce oil at Iran's level (which we know is impossible without the west and within a year) the dollar rate will stand at Kes. 158 by the end of next year. - Inflation is at almost 30% and their central bank is predicting a 32% inflation this year, with their staple food doubling in price and people queuing to buy (remember this happened before the full oil embargo) - Due to plausible deniability, Huawei has had to distance itself from Iran after it was discovered to be doing business through a hidden subsidiary (Read China which people are saying will assist). Stanchart has had to do the same. - A simple bank transfer from Iran, or even sending some simple prescription med via a courier (read UPS, DHL, Fedex are out coz they are 'western co.s)is a nightmare. - China is a net exporter with their largest consumer and investor being the people of the US. Who do you think they'll be ready to deal with or listen to Kenya or the US? - The US is the 'owner' of the de facto global currency.
The list of the worst that can happen is endless and remember the above has happened to a country whose GDP is at $350B and with a population of 75M in Asia. What do you think will happen to country with a GDP of $33B and a population of only 40M in Africa? @erifloss. Say it again,say it. Those who are shouting liberation! liberation! wanting no business with the mzungu should look closely at the prince. The guy has surrounded himself with non-blacks and people are here supporting his talk of "hatuitaji mzungu?".How can people be this blind? There is nothing like standing up against mzungu there, it's all about standing up to the prince's woes. Being used as a shield, and cheering it. Same as a forest saying the axe handle is one of them. Kenya's GDP is around 33.6Bn $, SMALLER than the market value of Moller-Maersk the shipping line.Yet i'm reading stuff to the effect "they need us,their economies are crumbling.Kenya is rising". Which head are guys using to think? Wake up from that deep slumber http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz_nZYSX0L8 no intimidation or coersion will work, and they know that. Again, freedom is a choice, the Chinese and North Koreans should have taught us that by now. So you want us to be like NORTH Korea? Do you watch news? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Investor
Economy
The International community threat and it's impact on our economy....which way??