wazua Sat, Jan 24, 2026

ZAIN INTERNET!!
pauloti
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:08:00 PM

for those of using zain internet to send emails beware! i just realised that none of my emails sent last week went thru! i was quite shocked and thought problem was with my domain provider only to realize its zain - their server is not functioning properly and they have the audacity to keep a secret! and when i called the customer service,they said engineers were working on it but no known date when it will work. pathetic! their speeds are also very unreliable! safaricom and orange are the way to go!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 12:41:00 PM

Zain is total garbage!!!!

I have used their internet for 1 year now,and it is now slower than dial-up! I just cancelled the contract and will NEVER GO BACK.

Further,I have my email configured on my Nokia and can never send mail!!! Ever!!!!! So I called customer service and they told me the outgoing mail server should be out.swiftmobile.co.ke and not the usual mail.mydomain.com.

Even then,it doesnt work!!!!

I have given up sending mail using Zain...you're better off using smoke signals!

#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 7:51:00 PM

Tutt! Tutt! Kweli safcom has no compe

Eddy
#4 Posted : Wednesday, August 05, 2009 9:05:00 PM

Zain is really disappointing and especially today where the modem could not connect for more than an hour when the competion is slowly offering broadband.

If i had my way i would really (dis)organise the marketing department there,i'am appaled by their customer service as well. My Samsung Phone which is 3g enabled has never worked! Unfortunately,i have beef with Safcon as well and their huge numbers - take the nightmare of the Mpesa last w'kend and you will realise what crap we have to put up with and i have a feelings all this guys do not care about their customers.

Is there any remote hope that Zain will do a broadband any time this year? very unlikely.....

I will possibly try butterfly at this rate............ any reviews on them?
holycow
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 5:53:00 AM

@Kularaha
Could you kindly share the procedure of cancelling the contract? I've been with them since May last year and well,its time to move on.
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 6:05:00 AM

Easy. Send an email to customercare.ke@zain.com giving them your details and telling them to end the contract.

Further,go to a Zain shop and ask them to re-check.

You'll need to pester them,they are quite inefficient!

Then go buy a pre-paid Safcom sim,as you can carry forward data bundles on pre-paid but not on postpaid.

Use for the next 2 months until a brave ISP comes out and starts the inevitable price and speed war.

Enjoy!!!

Braza
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 6:26:00 AM

This is what I get,from Tuesday,whenever I try connecting to Zain on PC using their Huawei kit.

''You cant connect before register available network''

What does it mean....assist Braza to connect.

Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 6:43:00 AM

Braza,take your Zain sim and flush it down the toilet.

Then buy either Safcon or Orange and connect freely.

You have just been assisted.

kritik
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 6:47:00 AM

Zain internet...well there's nothing to write home about.
Orange internet...is a pretender to safcom's crown.
Safcom on the other hand has definately upped its game!! the speeds have been awesome following the link up with seacom. Not forgetting it is the only provider with 3G services,the rest are on inferior technologies

Now whether the other services let you down,i dont think you can fault safcom when it comes to internet. It has raised the bar. hate it love it..but its the truth,
jaribu ujionee

thats it!
Kwanini
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 9:22:00 AM

wajameni kwanini hawa hawajafunga duka warudi dubai??????. Kumbe i wasnt alone! Zain sucks big time.

went to replace my line zain shop hapo jamia.. the ladies were chewing God knows what and after explainin ma issue with da line,was told server iko chini.. wee enda Koinange. Kufika and their silly questioning took away tha biscuit. Wapi ID,unafanya wapi? unapigianga nani simu sana? uliload how much mwisho??,lini,??? kwanini?????? That was sato. Come wednesday line still invalid. eti waiting for authorisation....Huh! How do these guys expect to make any money???. Sufferingcon inspite of their issues sorted me out in a flash and within 10 min i had a functioning line plus a kaspecial offer ya Nokia!

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
mchuuzi
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 10:09:00 AM

Yes Zain internet might suck but i strongly believe that Safcom employees wamejaa hapa wakipiga debe . I tested their modem when they were screaming they have 3G all over nairobi truth is it was only at westlands only.So at the end of the day what is wtitten here is not the Gospel truth.

jnn
Rungika
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 11:20:00 AM

I have only been on Orange and i returned their damn modem after getting frustrated with it.I now have safcom modem and am very happy...the speed is not spectacular but good enough and surprisingly reliable...with all their congestion issues....As for Zain those guys are sleeping.......I can never bother to indulge in any of their services!!!!

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
R2
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 1:48:00 PM

Head to Head: Safcon vs Orange.

I been using safcon for the past 10 months or so - since when their modems looked more like a key holder - and I until recently was using their flash disk cum modem gadget. Safcon are just that,a bunch of cons.

They steal mbs - their modems consume mbs even one is not browsing - their service quality is nothing to write home about,connecting is an issue let alone speeds and their data bundles are way too expensive.

Thanks to that jaguar,I unlocked their modem and took Orange for a drive test. While I may not be on 3G,I am able to stream videos from youtube and I even watched Audi Cup finals on the net - well part of the match anyway. Data bundles are pocket friendly - Kshs. 1 / mb and the connection is always available.

They do not steal mbs from me and I do not have to keep on disconnecting and connecting the gadget to avoid this.

All this talk of 3G speeds is just a noise. Bottom line is if you open a web page in 1m/s and I open it in 1 sec,we will both have attained our objective within a reasonable time frame. Only that on Orange the cost will be less than 1/3 that of safcon.

Deal or no Deal?
kanda
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2009 2:44:00 PM

correction....orange charges 1ksh/min and not 1ksh/mb. if the latter was the case,then orange would cost 1/8 of safcon...unless i am the one with warped maths!

and speed matters.....a lot!!
because one is usually not downloading 1 kb pages!

PS. why bother with these bundles anyway?? i use a GPRS enabled phone (motorola L6,av. cost 5000k) with a prepaid safcon line and it is as fast as my broadband accesskenya connection at work. I just load credit as necessary and can also use the line to call when not on internet. you can use bluetooth or cable to connect to computer.
Eddy
#15 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 9:36:00 AM

Am i seeing things or has zain done something,today the speeds are super fast and especially on stockkenya...........mmmhhh this can be great.
R2
#16 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 3:48:00 PM

Orange Internet everywhere bundles - 2000 mbs for Kshs. 2000 equivalent to Kshs. 1 / MB.

If you are using a modem or a phone to browse - your case - then what you downloads are small files - < 5 Mbs. If you were into serious downloads - > 700mbs - then modems and phones out. Imagine downloading a 700mb movie using a safcon modem. Kshs. 2000 would not be enough - 300mbs for Kshs. 1000. With Orange you would only use Kshs. 700 but why not get the movie from any rental for Kshs. 200 or less.

Deal or no Deal?
Jaguar
#17 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 5:30:00 PM

orange 2000mb @2k? please check again. This guys have learnt from the 'best' (zain). They secretly increased their internet charges roughly 2weeks ago. 2000mb now costs 3900/. You can check this by dialing #123# from your orange line
R2
#18 Posted : Friday, August 07, 2009 10:30:00 PM

@ Jaguar you are right,the Morons have increased their rates 1 by 100%! That puts them in the same league as the other 2 - Zain and Safcon. I believe that's my cue to migrate to another provider. Any suggestions?

Deal or no Deal?
sheep
#19 Posted : Saturday, August 08, 2009 5:39:00 AM

Anyone with an experience on YU internet?

Mungu alikuzawadia maisha,sasa ushachezea.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 5:42:00 AM

Can anyone help with Zain email settings for Nokia?

Can receive mail but cannot send and it is so frustrating!