wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Epidural in Kenyan Hospitals
Vallerrie
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 9:05:48 AM

I'm planning to have a baby and since pain and me have never been good friends, I'm thinking I'll either get elective CS or an epidural. Question is, do our hospitals administer epidurals? Never had anyone talk about it. Any one with any experience on this?
Please, no judgmental 'Too posh to push' comments. My body,my baby,my choice.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 9:58:48 AM

Vallerrie wrote:
I'm planning to have a baby and since pain and me have never been good friends, I'm thinking I'll either get elective CS or an epidural. Question is, do our hospitals administer epidurals? Never had anyone talk about it. Any one with any experience on this?
Please, no judgmental 'Too posh to push' comments. My body,my baby,my choice.

The only painless way, so I hear, is to adopt.
Vallerrie
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 10:25:32 AM

Elder wrote:

Touche. But I'm not looking for a painless way, just the least painful.smile
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 10:43:55 AM

Vallerrie wrote:
Elder wrote:

Touche. But I'm not looking for a painless way, just the least painful.smile

Putting the cart before the horse!
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 10:45:28 AM

Yes they are too common.
I know you can get one done at Agakhan, but those nurses will first warn you of it's dangers and even discourage you from doing it in their lamaze classes.
I will not discourage you.You want it,go for it because you fear pain.

Epidurals have been shown to have the following effects on labor and laboring mothers:

They lengthen labor.
They triple the risk of severe perineal tear.
They may increase the risk of cesarean section by 2.5 times.
They triple the occurrence of induction with synthetic oxytocin (Pitocin).
They quadruple the chances a baby will be persistently posterior (POP, face up) in the final stages of labor, which in turn decreases the chances of spontaneous vaginal birth (see below).
They decrease the chances of spontaneous vaginal delivery. In 6 of 9 studies reviewed in one analysis, less than half of women who received an epidural had a spontaneous vaginal delivery.
They increase the chances of complications from instrumental delivery. When women with an epidural had a forceps delivery, the amount of force used by the clinician was almost double that used when an epidural was not in place. This is significant because instrumental deliveries can increase the short-term risks of bruising, facial injuries, displacement of skull bones and blood clots in the scalp for babies, and of episiotomy and tears to the vagina and perineum in mothers.
They increase the risk of pelvic floor problems (urinary, anal and sexual disorders) in mothers after birth, which rarely resolve spontaneously.

Epidural also have side effects for babies

It’s important to understand that drugs administered by epidural enter the baby’s bloodstream at equal and sometimes even higher levels than those present in the mother’s bloodstream.

However, because babies’ immune systems are immature, it takes longer for them to eliminate epidural drugs. For example, the half-life of bupivacaine, a commonly used epidural analgesic, is 2.7 hours in an adult but close to 8 hours in a newborn. 2

Studies have found detectable amounts of bupivacain metabolites in the urine of exposed newborns for 36 hours following spinal anesthesia for cesarians.

Some studies have found deficits in newborn abilities that are consistent with the known toxicity of drugs used in epidurals.

Other studies have found that local anesthetics used in epidurals may adversely effect the newborn immune system, possibly by activating the stress response.

There is evidence that epidurals can compromise fetal blood and oxygen supply, probably via the decrease in maternal blood pressure that epidurals are known to cause.

Epidurals have been shown to cause fetal bradycardia, a decrease in the fetal heart rate (FHR). This is probably secondary to the decrease in maternal CA caused by epidurals which in turn leads to low blood pressure and uterine hyper-stimulation.

Epidurals can cause maternal fever, which in turn may affect the baby. In a large study of first-time moms, babies born to mothers with fever (97% of whom had epidurals) were more likely to be in poor condition (low APGAR scores) at birth, to have poor tone, to require resuscitation and to have seizures in the newborn period, compared to babies born to mothers without fever.

Older studies using the more exacting Brazelton Neonatal Behavioral Assessment Scale (NBAS, devised by pediatricians) rather than the newer, highly criticized Neurologic and Adaptive Capacity Score (NACS, devised by anesthesiologists – can you say “conflict of interest”?) found significant neurobehavioral effects in babies exposed to epidurals.

In one such study, researchers found less alertness and ability to orient, and less mature motor abilities, for the first month of life. These findings were in proportion to the dose of bupivacaine administered, suggesting a dose-related response.

I can't even explain the above because it's from a Doctor's website.

Wish you luck.Many go through it succesfully.
mkeiyd
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 11:02:01 AM

Yes they are too common.
I know you can get one done at Agakhan, but those nurses will first warn you of it's dangers and even discourage you from doing it in their lamaze classes.
I will not discourage you.You want it,go for it because you fear pain.

However, because babies’ immune systems are immature, it takes longer for them to eliminate epidural drugs. For example, the half-life of bupivacaine, a commonly used epidural analgesic, is 2.7 hours in an adult but close to 8 hours in a newborn. 2

Studies have found detectable amounts of bupivacain metabolites in the urine of exposed newborns for 36 hours following spinal anesthesia for cesarians.

Some studies have found deficits in newborn abilities that are consistent with the known toxicity of drugs used in epidurals.

Other studies have found that local anesthetics used in epidurals may adversely effect the newborn immune system, possibly by activating the stress response.

Older studies using the more exacting Brazelton Neonatal Behavioral Assessment Scale found significant neurobehavioral effects in babies exposed to epidurals.

In one such study, researchers found less alertness and ability to orient, and less mature motor abilities, for the first month of life. These findings were in proportion to the dose of bupivacaine administered, suggesting a dose-related response.[

@Vallerie, Do you still wanna go ahead with it? If things go wrong, will you be able to look your child in the face and tell them you messed them up coz you and pain are not friends?

Take one bullet for your child. Have CS or normal delivery.
But as you said, its your body,your pregnancy,your way.

Who am i to say?
mizizi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 11:20:13 AM

Just had to post...
Who said C sections are not painful!? I had one and from experinece if ever given the chance i would give birth the normal way and just forget it.
With C section you nurse a wound for close to 2 months!Walking around like an invalid yet the person who gave birth normally is up and walking immediately...
Nothing to do with a baby has no pain, but trust me normal is the way to go!
Vallerrie
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 12:38:03 PM

Thanks guys.
@Mkeiyd-Yes I still wanna go through with it. The way I see it, no method is completely risk free except adoption like @Elder pointed out.
I'm not a brave person, admitting is the first step.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2013 6:16:44 PM

Ask your doctor whether he or she has alternative pain medication that is safer than an epidural. They do exist. in any case labour pains start as mild cramps then slowly become more intense. its the body's way of enabling you cope with the pain. Its not as bad as depicted in the movies
Dash
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2013 9:33:52 PM

Shak wrote:
Ask your doctor whether he or she has alternative pain medication that is safer than an epidural. They do exist. in any case labour pains start as mild cramps then slowly become more intense. its the body's way of enabling you cope with the pain. Its not as bad as depicted in the movies

You have clearly never seen a woman in labour!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2013 11:08:05 PM

Dash wrote:
Shak wrote:

Well I have and many.
Not all women go through what movies try to depict.
I have seen women deliver without intense labour pains, many didn't even know they were in labour cz the pain wasn't as anticipated.To some labour felt like the usual menstrual cramps and in a few minutes the baby was out!!
The secret,be in great shape,eat well and exercise a lot till the D-day unless the Doc advices otherwise.
Trust me labour can be a very very easy and short process depending on a few factors.
Sometimes the cervix expands slowly without the woman knowing! just cramps, until its 'show time'.Mad dash to the hospital and baby is out.
Forget the many exaggerated and nasty stories you hear from angry women.
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 12:50:46 AM

@mizizi is socket.
ok.

#13 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 12:24:56 PM

Dash wrote:
Shak wrote:

Well I have and many.
Not all women go through what movies try to depict.
I have seen women deliver without intense labour pains, many didn't even know they were in labour cz the pain wasn't as anticipated.To some labour felt like the usual menstrual cramps and in a few minutes the baby was out!!
The secret,be in great shape,eat well and exercise a lot till the D-day unless the Doc advices otherwise.
Trust me labour can be a very very easy and short process depending on a few factors.
Sometimes the cervix expands slowly without the woman knowing! just cramps, until its 'show time'.Mad dash to the hospital and baby is out.
Forget the many exaggerated and nasty stories you hear from angry women.

Word.
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 7:11:32 PM

Dash wrote:
Shak wrote:

Ahem! Excuse me! I have 2 children both delivered normally. Anyway the experience is different for every woman.
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 8:04:33 PM

Hii epidural ni panadol ama sanjari?
Sijui ni findio ama ni ndrama!!!

#16 Posted : Thursday, February 07, 2013 9:27:58 PM

Ni kama ndrama, ni kama findio!
kangi
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 3:34:06 PM

Ni kama ndrama, ni kama findio!

Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
Dash
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:20:00 PM

Shak wrote:
Dash wrote:
Shak wrote:

Ahem! Excuse me! I have 2 children both delivered normally. Anyway the experience is different for every woman.

Exactly!! Every womans experience is different. I have seen nduramaa worse than that you are talking about in the movies. The hospital curtains were almost swallowed whole
Kausha
#19 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:27:51 PM

Not one to delve into matters I haven't capacity to experience, but I have been drawn from my thicket by some of the comments here which are misleading and scaring the mother to be. YES Vallerie, there is epidural in Kenya. My wife went through it and I was there all through. It's safe but KEY is to get the right Anaesthetic/ specialist in that. There is a lady in Aga Khan who was recommended to my wife by her daktari and she turned out to be very professional and experienced, she will take you through the entire process and I actually watched it and it didn't look that complex. I will look for her name and drop it to you but get your recommendation from your Ob/gyna as well.

Bottom line it is done, but must warn you it's not fully painless because I understand she must leave some pain with you for you to to track the natural steps in the process and safeguard the baby during birth. Must warn you it will set you back 40 - 50 elephants! but I understand it's worth it and has no side effects really. So if you really think its the thing for you...feelanga free
#20 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:46:18 PM

From a lay male perspective, it appears choice of gynecologist and pediatrician and their performance will be much more critical as relates to this method of pain relief.

Once you have expressed your preference, do not get in their way!